ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-21 ... 7:28 p.m.

previous - next

Posting from Rebecca's!!

I guess today is my day to deal with people who are being jerks. Most of my customers were great, although there's always one in a crowd. The one I didn't want to be around today at work was my co-worker and partner in garden, Blue.

She opened garden today, and I went in at 9:30, so she already had half her day in by the time I got there. She is not by any means a calm and relaxed person. I really had to wonder today just how much coffee she had this morning! Wow.

There were two other people out there, Barb, who started at 8 and Rose, who started at 7. It was pretty busy when I got out there, and Blue went on her lunch break shortly after I got there. We just kept working along, because it was pretty busy. Blue works out in garden a lot, giving her the idea that she is in charge out there. I defer to whoever started the day out there, at least for breaktimes and things like that.

Lately Blue is all about getting "credits" by having customers sign up to get a Depot of Home credit card. She is hoping that by getting the most people to sign up, she will get to be full time. I agree that might make some difference in their decision, but there are other things they factor in too. But when there are four open registers out in garden, and at least five people in each line, it's not a good time to make customers wait two minutes for the person in front of them to fill out a credit form. Just my opinion.

So Blue is VERY outgoing with the customers, but sometimes I think she overdoes it. She is loud and quite animated, and sometimes the customers just laugh at her. I tell them she is our "entertainment" for the day and it seems to fit. We all get along and have a good time, and usually Blue doesn't bother me.

But today, while Blue was on her last break, Barb was cold, so I turned on the heater and one of the garden people rolled it over to the register she was working at.
Photobucket

The heater is over six feet tall, so it's not all that easy to move, and it holds a propane tank in the bottom, so it's kind of heavy, too.

When Blue came back from her break, she had a total fit, asking "What is MY heater doing over there??!?!" I told her that Barb was cold, and we moved it over for her to warm up. She made a big deal that it's NOT supposed to be there, and it was SUPPOSED to be by HER spot and not anywhere else. The garden guy who moved it just looked at her, and said that "You weren't using it, what's the big deal?" which I agreed with. Barb looked like she was about to start crying.

So Blue starts saying that she was kidding, but it was apparent to everyone that she wasn't. It pretty much put a damper on any fun that anyone was having out there, and I was glad to go on my lunch break soon after that.

One of the other cashiers, Bob, made the comment that he thought she was getting "too big for her britches" and I had to laugh at that. It describes her to a T. She had her one year review, and apparently Norma mentioned to her that she could at some point, be a head cashier, just like she said to me at my six month review.

We were all glad when she left for the day. And she even called at 5:30 to make sure we put HER heater back where it belonged. I said that I might move it somewhere else just to irritate her. But I didn't.

And of course, by the time I left, it was still busy out in garden, and there was no head cashier to pick up my money, or give any of us any help. That's pretty interesting, considering we were told there was going to be a head cashier out in garden ALL THE TIME. HA!! That will be the day!

So after I left, I came to Rebecca's, where I still am, because Tom Baird is playing tonight, and "Folding Mr. Lincoln". Right now there is an awesome guitarist playing the blues, better than I've heard live before.

The second irritating person was here. I set my computer bag on a table, where there was a man sitting with his foot up on a chair. It's a big table, so I didn't think it was a problem. I got my drink, and ordered my food, and came back and asked to use the chair he had his foot on, and he said he needed it. OK, fine. I'll get a different chair. When I put my new chair down, I asked if he could slide the chair he had his foot on over a bit, and he said, in a very loud voice, "If you didn't notice, I was here first!"

So, OK. I sat in my chair, and just ignored him. He continued to talk quite loudly, and obnoxiously about the FBI and who knows what else, until I was convinced that he certainly was a bit emotionally disturbed. It was only about five minutes before he got up and left, and left all his empty food and drink containers sitting on the table.

THANK GOD!!! I got my food, and the music started, and all was well with the world. Rebecca's is crowded, too, with people of all ages. It's great!

Time to listen now....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

3 comments so far

bluesleepy - 2009-03-22 14:19:48
Maybe it was Rude Person Day yesterday and no one sent you the memo. Hopefully today will be Polite Person Day! ;o)
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-03-22 15:33:22
He sounds like he was a bit off. Most people are very nice about things like that.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-03-22 17:26:42
Husband and I also say those types have a "I'm a jerk" card and just didn't tell the rest of us. Hope their cards got punched and they settle down. I expect if Blue continues her drama that it is going to be noticed by management before long.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group