ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-08 ... 10:56 a.m.

previous - next

A visit from the cable guy

I just had an interesting morning with the cable guy.. I have to write this down while it's still fresh.

I got to my place at 9, and he got there a couple minutes later. I showed him my computer, and he said we had "juice" so he didn't understand why I couldn't get online.

I knew we would have trouble when he said to me,

"Ma'am, can I use your bathroom?"

I told him no, that the toilet is in the living room, and that's why the house still was not put together. He said he would work fast.

Well, things didn't go as he planned. He decided he had to string some new cable along the side of the house, but first, he REALLY had to use a bathroom somewhere. I said,

"I do too, I'll meet you back here in 15 minutes."

So off we both flew. I stopped at the local gas station, which didn't have a bathroom. The laundromat next door had one, but since I didn't have any change to open the door, that one was unusable too. The grocery store? Wouldn't let me go down the basement steps to use their bathroom, so I went to Rebecca's coffee shop. I KNOW they have a bathroom there.

I pull up to the front, and who's truck do I see parked in front of me? You guessed it, the cable guy.

I waited and waited and waited. Obviously he wasn't kidding when he said he needed a bathroom. Finally he came out, and kind of laughed when he saw me waiting.

I also laughed when I tried to flush, and the toilet overflowed. Apparently he needed that restroom awfully bad! Thankfully there was a plunger in the room, and I managed to get things flowing again without too much water on the floor. I mopped up with paper towel as best I could before I left. I sure hope no one there recognizes me the next time I go in for coffee!

I got back to my house, opened the door, but he was already working outside. It didn't take him much longer to finish stringing the cable, and getting my computer online. He even hooked up my router, so I can use my laptop in another room if I want.

I had to laugh when he left. I don't think I've ever had a more enjoyable visit from a "cable guy" as he called himself. And the best thing? Six months ago, I would not have laughed at all over this. I guess the California attitude has taken over. Thank god!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

17 comments so far

fightn4life - 2008-06-08 18:36:18
I caught up on your diary and boy did I hate those on-line applications. I grumbled about it all the time, such an impersonal way to try and get yourself hired. I was always thinking they got to the age part and tossed it aside, when I left out age I realized it was in my past employment. I found my job during a job fair, I didn't have much luck with on-line applications. Not a great job but still no luck with on-line hiring. :( Your cable story was too funny. I needed something to laugh about. Sandyz
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-06-08 18:45:43
It can only get better!
-------------------------------
Blaze - 2008-06-08 18:59:04
That's hilarious! I'm glad you're able to laugh over it. It's great that you're enjoying yourself out there.
-------------------------------
Rebekah - 2008-06-08 20:02:49
Earlier today, I was thinking how I almost dreaded your post alerts, because I had fear in my stomach about what I thought Man might do to you.

THIS is much better! (Though I'd hoped you and he would hit it off friendwise - you're in a new town and he'd know everyone...)
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-06-08 23:37:20
Thank heavens YOUR toilet wasn't hooked up! He'd have probably stopped it up for weeks! *LOL* Now he'll always be known as the Cable Guy who had to Poo!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-06-08 23:40:06
everyone needs Poo, the cable guy to come for a visit!! heheh!!
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-06-08 23:43:38
SO great that you can laugh about these things now! And dammit anyway, Poolie is wearing off on you! That is SUCH an experience like she would have. Lawdy!! I don't know I would have wanted to go in to that bathroom after the Cable Guy! Too funny!
-------------------------------
DSis - 2008-06-09 00:18:15
That's like a scene from a movie, only you were supposed to stay for coffee together and hit it off. Oh, well, it makes a good story. Hope you get to stay in your new place soon!
-------------------------------
Miss Hiss - 2008-06-09 00:44:20
Yes! It's like the scene from "Along Came Polly"! You're very, very lucky your toilet wasn't actually installed, by the sound of it -- and that you didn't have a washcloth your grandmother hand-embroidered hanging nearby... Love, R xxx
-------------------------------
requiel - 2008-06-09 01:09:03
Ha! That is so funny! I would have died. I think I would have had to tie something around my face to follow the cable guy in after he took a dump. I hate using a toilet right after someone else. ick.
-------------------------------
sduckie - 2008-06-09 02:29:32
Can't believe it... everywhere you go, you end up doing the dirty work!
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2008-06-09 13:03:28
And I'm about to make you life a whole lot brighter. Look what you can buy! http://www.tvdvdworld.tv/movie/comedy/newhart.html
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-09 14:12:07
HAHAHA that's hilarious!! That poor Cable Guy. I wonder if he realizes this made it onto the internet!!!
-------------------------------
cardiogirl - 2008-06-09 14:36:52
Oh. My. Word. That's crazy. And embarrassing for him. But fun for us!
-------------------------------
Bunny828 - 2008-06-09 18:45:42
That is funny! Good for you for laughing.
-------------------------------
Starkitten01 - 2008-06-09 19:15:13
LOL! That's the funniest thing I've heard in quite some time--And I needed a good laugh :-)
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-06-09 20:42:38
That's quite a story to tell. I bet he did a fantastic job on your cable because of the embarrassment. Good luck with the job Hunt. I sure hope you get into your apt soon.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group