ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-02 ... 4:05 p.m.

previous - next

Running errands

All of us in poolagirl's house were sad to see Monday morning come. It meant back to work for Poolie and Roomie, who came home late last night; late enough that I only heard the garage door open, but not anything else. Tired? Quite.

And we all had to be up early this morning. I needed to be at the DMV by 7:30 this morning, or take the chance of waiting for hours. I got there about 7:20 (it opened at 8) and I was the 21st person in line! But they came out with the forms everyone needed and we all had a chance to fill them out before going in the building. I was out of there by 8:30... and I had to take (and pass) a written driver's test and get my picture taken (and pay the fee). Yes, I passed. In Wisconsin, you get your license right away.. mine will be delivered in the mail in a couple of days.

From there, I found a bank. Now THAT was a hassle. I had a cashier's check, which I assumed would be no problem to cash. Ha! First, I have no valid California driver's license. I have the paperwork, but they wanted a picture ID. My Wisconsin license wasn't good enough. Thank god I took my passport with me. The bank accepted that, my cashier's check, and a personal check, but there is a NINE DAY hold on the funds.. meaning for nine days, I can't withdraw any money. It's just a good thing I don't absolutely NEED it, or I would be up the creek! I did write my rent check out on that account, but luckily my landlord understands how things go... and he isn't desperate for the money either.

I stopped at one place to look at mattresses, but I like to check things out at other places, too. One of the other places I went was closed, so I'll stop there tomorrow.

Then it was on to my apartment. One of the bedrooms has had the floor stripped, and everything is in the kitchen, so some progress is being made. I will be surprised if it's ready to go in two days, and I expressed my concern to the landlord, but he doesn't seem worried, so I'm not going to worry either. But believe me, I am very grateful that Poolie and Roomie are allowing me to stay in their house!

I found a post office to pick up change of address forms, and then realized I could have done it online, and it takes effect faster, so I went back to Poolie's and did that, and took care of a bill that needed to be paid. I grabbed my laptop and left.

I went to Balboa Park. I kind of took the long way around getting there. I am either watching the traffic, or the stores, looking for furniture stores and groceries, and not always watching the street signs.. so sometimes I end up way off course. It's actually kind of funny. I have a GPS thingie, so I never really get that lost, but I've decided that it doesn't matter if you know which way is north or east if you really don't know which way you have to go. What I need is a map. I found a small one of North and South Park, and University Heights in the Whole Foods store in a free publication.. that will help. I don't think it will take me long to figure out this little area.. then I can venture out into the rest of San Diego.

Right now, I'm in a coffee shop (San Diego Coffee, Tea and Spice) watching the traffic go by. I had an apricot that was really sweet. I stopped at the Whole Foods to see if they still had those huge artichokes from yesterday, but they were all gone. Bummer. I wanted to try making one... Oh well...

I think it will be an early night for us all tonight. I have plans for tomorrow, so I will be busy again. I'm kind of glad I don't have a job yet, it's giving me the chance to get all those little details worked out while I have the day free.

For any of you who read me, and don't know about it, check out javelinahunt and sign up to come! Poolagirl, casa-rosie and I are planning lots of fun things to do in October. Be there, or be square!! Woot!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

16 comments so far

bluesleepy - 2008-06-02 19:36:05
21st in line and you arrived half an hour BEFORE it opened? Wow. I like how it's done in WA -- you have to go to Dept of Licensing to get your actual license, but for plates and renewals and all that jazz, they have contracting offices set up all over everywhere. Getting new tabs for the cars took me no more than 5 minutes, and I don't remember there being a wait when I got my license since they've split the functions into two different offices.
-------------------------------
wordwhore - 2008-06-02 19:48:26
TN gives same day licenses, too, but TX doesn't. In both cases, you would *think* the second state would be more technologically advanced and therefore MORE likely to give them the same day. oh, well, at least its done! thanks for the advice, i will see what i can do about selling some things.
-------------------------------
Rebekah - 2008-06-02 19:50:09
OOOO i'm a MAYBE for the javelina - i told you i have delta miles to use!
-------------------------------
Sis - 2008-06-02 20:01:22
Glad you passed your test! I would get so lost in a new area on my own. Good luck!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-06-02 20:33:03
OK, gonna see if it lets me post today! Artichokes are SOOOOO good! Some people like them with butter, but my family has always dipped them in mayo. The most amusing thing is when someone doesn't know how to eat them, and actually tries to eat a whole leaf! You know what, the local Safeway has them on sale too, and I think I'm going to go get us a couple! Oh, and while you are out and about one day on EL Cajon Blvd (ECB), turn North on Oregon Street, and follow it to the end. There will be some large white buildings, and that is my Alma Mater, The Academy Of Our Lady of Piece...Erm, I mean Peace! From there, turn around and go back past Adams to ECB, turn right to Texas Street, and go North again, down the hill. At the first light at the bottom of the hill, turn right, and go right into Bully's East's parking lot. Eat and enjoy and think of me. The Prime Rib is awesome, and so is the Chocolate 911.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-02 21:53:15
Ummm..Cashiers Checks are 'guaranteed funds'. They do not have to be put on hold. They should have offered the courtesy of calling your bank to verify so that the funds would be available right away. tsk, tsk. Just sayin'.... I'm glad you're getting some time to explore the area. How fun!
-------------------------------
DSis - 2008-06-02 22:25:09
Alright, inquiring minds have to know . . . is the javelina hunt thing for real? I mean really? I know what a javelina is (thanks to wikipedia) but are you really going to hunt them? What do you do if you get one? Glad you're having time to explore! I still like paper maps, too!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-03 00:40:31
Maybe I should explain the javelina hunt to DSis, lol. Yes, the javelina hunt is real, though nobody wants to actually encounter one of the critters up close and personal. They're MEAN! Then again, I think the proposed "bait" is toasted marshmallows. And while I'm sure most javelina would like toasted marshmallows, they tend to avoid them when they come attached to a herd of people ;)
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2008-06-03 01:04:08
If you have AAA towing, or someone you has it, you or they can walk right into their offices and get maps free. For future, if not in a big hurry, you can make an appt. on line with the DMV. Soooo much easier.
-------------------------------
shippie - 2008-06-03 02:14:31
So glad you got so much done today and toodled around yourself! WEeeee!!
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-06-03 07:25:44
You are amazing! I can't believe how much you're accomplishing in such a short time. You sound relaxed and excited, instead of stressed out and frustrated. Yay for you!
-------------------------------
cardiogirl - 2008-06-03 10:32:13
That totally sucks it about having to wait NINE days for the cash. Good thing you don't actually need it. Oh, right. That's probably nine business days, not including the weekends. Yikes.
-------------------------------
art - 2008-06-03 11:10:57
yowsers!!! you are taking care of business really quickly!! the cashiers check is indeed 'guaranteed funds', like a money order, all they had to do is contact the issuing bank to verify it!!! good luck, and please dont get losted!!
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2008-06-03 11:47:44
I'm so jealous. I want to be in a new town starting over with a week's vacation. Guess you'll just have to live it up for me!
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-06-03 12:04:42
I was a bit surprised about the cashier's check being held for 9 days but these days, you don't get the service we used to. So...are you looking at the want ads to see what kind of job is avaiable yet? I sure hope you get into your place this week. It does sound like the landlord is moving slowly but at least you can put some of your things away and they are making progress.
-------------------------------
Rose - 2008-06-03 13:20:56
i so want to start over in San Diego. Is it expensive?
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group