ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-12-06 ... 6:23 p.m.

previous - next

Adventures with Kid

I'm sitting in Rebecca's coffee shop with Kid. We just toured the businesses of South Park, and we are eagerly waiting for the live band to set up. It's ZOO-2 ! Kid thinks it will be a good band, since it's San Diego's top U2 tribute band, according to their poster. I'll let you know how it is!

Here is the band so far..

Photobucket

But I should start with this morning. I had to work this morning, from 8-12. It was really busy! I was the floater, giving people breaks and filling in, so I was moving my till about every half hour or so. I even was out in the tree lot, and it was really hopping out there.

One of the young kids took his break while I was out there. We are in kind of a trailer, with large overhead doors that we open when we are there... my side was open. When he came back from his break, he opened the door. Let's just say it needs a lot of WD-40 cause it screeched and squeaked when he opened it. Freaked me right out! I thought the trailer was exploding or something.

I was laughing, and I punched him in the arm and told him "I'm old, I could have had a heart attack! Warn me next time!!" He just laughed and laughed. I don't know why he thought me dying was so funny... maybe it was cause I told him HE would have to explain to the head cashier why I was dead!

I ended up in garden, and it was really busy out there. I only was out there for 2 hours, and I was glad to leave at noon.

I came home and just chilled for a while, and since it was such a beautiful, sunny day we decided to go here:

Photobucket

Kid laid out on the sand for a half hour or so, and then we strolled through all the shops and generally enjoyed ourselves. We even found a great candy store! Woot!!

Then we came back home to change clothes and dump all the sand out of our shoes, and find something to eat. We went to Crazy Burgers, the "Best burger place in San Diego". And the burgers were awesome! The fries had parmesan cheese sprinkled on them, and mmmmmm yummy.

Then it was back to South Park to walk about. Lots of shops and stores were open, and I went in a lot of places I haven't been before. We even found the Pink Panther!

Photobucket

Lots of places are lit up well. There's one place on my street that is almost like daylight.. we wouldn't need street lights for a block in either direction! This was a place on Fern Street...

Photobucket

Kid has been having trouble with her camera. She finally decided it was because her battery needs charging, or the sand in the bottom of her purse. Oops. Either way, it seems to be working now.

The band is about to start, so I'll post this and try to get a picture while they are playing. Kid and I are going to try to stay up past 9PM tonight! Yeah, are we party animals or what!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

Mary - 2008-12-07 03:06:54
I cannot even imagine how wonderful it would be to take a walk on the beach in sunny weather in December. I walked along the waterfront with my friend today, it was completely dark by 5 and never got above 50. Sigh. You made a good decision, to move there.
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2008-12-07 03:23:28
It is 10:22 in Westerly, RI and 32 degrees! BRATS!!!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-12-07 03:46:50
While Kid is still here, take her out to El Cajon (Pronounced El ka hone for those of you who aren't familiar with Spanish names!) for the Christmas Lights at Jingle Bell Hill (aka Pepper Drive Lights) You can get off the 67 Highway at Bradley, and follow Bradley east until you hit the long line of cars, then turn left and follow them around the neighborhood.

It's all right under the Christmas Star on top of Rattlesnake Mountain. Well worth checking out!
-------------------------------
Diane - 2008-12-07 16:31:45
Hi, what a great time you guys are having. I love tribute bands and I'm sure you guys are having a great time right now. The thing with the wine $ cheese shop is that without a full liquour license then I don't think I'll make enough money. I could replace their package store visit instead of being an extra stop. But you're right. I think I could make it too. It's people that actually have businesses that are telling me that I won't make it.
-------------------------------
Terri T - 2008-12-07 19:23:48
That picture of Fern St. was gorgeous! Wow! Sounds like you both are having a very good time together. I am sure you are savoring every minute too.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-12-07 23:23:38
Hehehe I had to giggle at Cosmic's post! It's 31� right now in Newport. A walk on the beach sounds heavenly!! Also I love that photo you posted of the place on Fern Street.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group