ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-11-25 ... 2:48 p.m.

previous - next

Chocolate loving in San Diego

It was a lovely sunny day here in San Diego, about 70 today. And it was my day off, which of course, makes everything so much better. It was great to be able to take my time and veg this morning with my coffee and play Monopoly on Pogo. I won the game I played this morning with over 200 million dollars. Woot! Wish it was real money!

Then I went over to have lunch with Poolagirl. Poolie likes to make fun of my accent, and tell me how different I sound from the typical Californian. She must be right, because I told her about a customer who asked me if I was from Canada, because of my "accent".

That reminded me of one of the conversations we had when Kid and Winnie were here this summer, about the inflections (neener) of voice and choice of words that the young people use here in our fair city. We had Poolie's Roomie's niece along who was willing to demonstrate how young girls talked.

I told Poolie this story about buying M&Ms, and she suggested I preserve it for posterity (neener) in this diary. You betcha! Heh.

After Halloween, I went into Walgreen's for something, I am not even sure what I was looking for. But I always check to see what kind of things they have on sale. Walgreen's always has something marked down that they are trying to sell out. This day, they had a whole table full of 14 ounce bags of M&Ms. I still have one left. Most of one, anyway.

Photobucket

So I bought two bags of regular M&Ms and two bags of Peanut. When the young girl rang up my purchases, the Peanut M&Ms were 82 cents (!!!) and the regulars were $1.64. I would have paid $1.64 for the bags, because that was likely the half price mark. But why were the peanut ones 82 cents??

I asked the cashier that question. She took the bag of Peanut M&Ms and held it up and said,

"Well, see? The M&Ms in THIS bag are BIGGER, so there are less in the bag than the other ones!"

I said, "But the bags are the same size, 14 ounces."

And she said, "But the M&Ms in those OTHER bags are SMALLER, so you get more candy!"

I guess there's just no arguing with that logic. I didn't want to fight it, in case someone realized that 82 cents for a 14 ounce bag of M&Ms was wayyy too cheap, and raise the price before I got them out of the store. I left, a very happy, but confused chocolate lover.

And they make fun of the way I talk! At least I make sense. Well, most of the time, anyway!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

13 comments so far

art - 2008-11-25 23:48:50
well, i would say that the peanut M&M's wernt selling, so to get rid of them, they marked them down; OR they just forgot to mark down the plain ones!
-------------------------------
Rebekah - 2008-11-26 00:29:13
you know, people who don't have your address can't send you chocolate.

even though you're geographically closer to see's and ghiradelli than some people
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-11-26 00:30:53
Peanut M&M's can get worms. I think she was trying to spare you that horror. Like....maybe...like....for sure....like....she goes?
-------------------------------
Sis - 2008-11-26 00:38:24
You know what they say.."money talks, but chocolate sings"! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving,enjoy the turkey and the chocolate. Hopefully Kid and Dude will come to eat some of our turkey!
-------------------------------
purple chai - 2008-11-26 00:50:36
Personally, I just think she was an idiot.
-------------------------------
Shear - 2008-11-26 01:54:33
Those peanut m&m's are like bigger and like peanut-y and stuff. Those other plain ones are like plain and smaller for sure. ROFL
-------------------------------
DSis - 2008-11-26 02:02:39
Happy Thanksgiving! Glad life is going well for you -- give thanks for that beautiful weather you have out there.
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-11-26 05:29:06
I love me some Peanute M&M's! Way better than the plain! And truthfully....I think it makes PERFECT sense. Not that companies would do it, but you SHOULD pay for what you get! I mean hey, you do get less candies in the peanut bags! And really...peanuts weigh less than chocolate, so if it was a weight issue I'm starting to think I'm really getting screwed here. Hmph. I want that gal to price my peanut M&M's.
-------------------------------
Sherry - 2008-11-26 15:02:19
ROFL at ditzy cashiers....
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-11-26 17:11:31
I don't know where you are from, but I live in Canada only a short distance from North Dakota, and they sound the same as we do. Once you go a little farther south, it gets twangier...heh is that word?
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-11-26 18:28:09
it makes sense. I mean when sugar-free food costs more than regular food why wouldn't candy without peanuts cost more than candy with peanuts! In any case, you got a bargain and maybe if their logic continues...you can get more of that good candy.
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-11-27 00:41:48
Happy Thanksgiving, dear heart! ~LA
-------------------------------
cosmic - 2008-11-27 04:12:31
All that Valley Girl talk, like fer sure. Just gag me with a spewn, like kay?
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group