ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-12-19 ... 8:10 p.m.

previous - next

A cold day at work

I plugged my phone in this morning to charge it, and then forgot to take it to work with me. I hate when I do that! I was too far away when I first remembered it, and even though I hate not having my phone, I hate being late for work more!

I dressed pretty warm today, because I was thinking there might be a chance I would be out in the tree lot. I took my warm pullover with me, and my Santa hat, just in case, but instead of being outside, I was inside. In front of the doors that weren't closing, because two people were standing in front of them talking!

My partner politely asked them twice to move, but it still took them a while to get the hint. One of them was an employee who was just shooting the breeze for about 20 minutes, while the two of us were freezing! I was so glad I dressed warm, or I would have had to go out and get my coat.

I was shuffled around a few times to do breaks for other people, and I don't mind that at all. I did get "audited" though, because my till was $20 OVER one day. Oops. Not sure how that happened, but someone must have been short changed. Oh well.

I was working along this afternoon when I rang up a Milwaukee drill. They are expensive items ($169) but this one rang up at $1.30! I looked at the box, and someone had stuck a bar code on top of the drill bar code that was totally the wrong one. I just happened to show it to May, the head cashier at the time. She had to come and void the customer's transaction when his credit card was declined. "But I paid my bill!" So she called LP and was having them watch the video to see if it was that guy who changed the bar code. Heh.

The powers that be in the store are cutting hours, and letting people go home early because of slow sales. It was 15 minutes before my time to go home tonight when I looked around and realized I was the ONLY cashier! Hmmm. I mentioned that to the head cashier, who checked with the ASM and got me approved to work an hour of OT! Yay!! They kept thanking me for working it, and I was thanking them for letting me do it! Woot!

Tomorrow I am scheduled in the tree lot, so I definitely will be wearing my wool pullover, my Santa hat and my insulated socks inside my boots. I would take gloves along, but I think they would just get in the way. My pockets will keep my fingers warm.

I came home and had fun stuff in the mail too! Thanks, HH, for the card, and Sis? Thanks for the Advil samples, but I'm allergic to it. I will pass them on though to someone who needs it. I also love the kitty recipe holder, and the recipe in Mom's handwriting for apple cake. I'll have to make it sometime for my friends here. I'm sure Mom would like them.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

im2qt2kr - 2008-12-20 05:59:11
If they'll let you, why do you try wearing rubber gloves? They will keep your hands a little warmer, and you can still work easily with them on. Just a thought.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-12-20 06:16:57
Brrrr! Tree lot!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-12-20 06:41:12
I've discovered that when I'm absolutely freezing, I can put on gloves and be warm. Strange but true. I now keep a pair of stretchy gloves in my coat pocket and USE them when waiting for the bus.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-12-20 20:19:26
there you are, ever alert, catching those sneaky little thieves who think they can put one past you. No wonder you were allowed to work an hour of overtime..... I'm surprised the powers that be didn't come along and tell that employee who was off duty standing in front of the doors to move it.....!!!!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group