ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-08-14 ... 4:04 p.m.

previous - next

A productive day off

Much warmer day here in sunny San Diego than yesterday. The operative word in that sentence is "sunny". Quite warm, but I'm thinking it will start cooling off soon, and we won't be in the 80s any more. It surely had to be that today.

I enjoyed my breakfast this morning, knowing that I didn't have to be anywhere at a certain time. I just kind of lounged around until my coffee was gone, and then went to the laundromat to get the weekly laundry finished.

It wasn't the usual quiet atmosphere there today, there was a young boy there who certainly had some developmental issues. By his size, he looked like he was about 8 or 9, but I only heard him say a few words, the rest of his vocalizations were either grunts or screeches. He kept holding his bits, and loved to open the washers in the middle of the cycle. His mother kept a close eye on him though, so he didn't really bother me.

The other thing going on there was a HUGE dragonfly that had flown in the open door, and then couldn't find it's way out. It kept flying at the glass windows, and since all the benches are against the windows, I really didn't want to sit there, so I just leaned on my washers (to keep the lids closed, see above paragraph) and then on the folding counter while my clothes were in the dryer. But at least I could read while I was there, so it wasn't a total loss!

While I was there, I also gave some thought to the portable washer and dryer I am lusting after. It only costs me about $5 a week to do laundry, and at that rate, it would take me about 2 years to pay for the machines, although it sure would be nice to be able to just wash a load at a time while I am sitting here... I might just ask at the Depot of Home how much they would charge me to special order a set. They might be able to get them cheaper than I can.....

Anyway, once I got my bed remade, and the rest of the laundry put away, I went grocery shopping, and then came home. I kept delaying getting the things done I really wanted to, but forced myself to NOT sit in front of the computer, and I actually got everything done. I put putty on all my little statues and some other things that have sentimental value, and tried to fix my stereo, which just wasn't happening. I think I'll just wait and see if I can find another turntable on freecycle. I can live with one speaker, but it's nice to have some music playing now and then.

And there's a first time for everything, and one of those first times happened to me today.. Poolagirl paid me a visit! Woot! She has only been here once since she helped me move everything in, and the only room that was finished at that point was my bedroom. Now it's all done, and I sure was glad that I spent so much time this morning putting things in order. It was nice to have a visitor!!

Now, supper is in the oven, and I will be playing some Pogo tonight, I'm sure. I have tomorrow off, and only have plans for lunch, so I will see what happens. One never knows what fun things will turn up!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

fightn4life - 2008-08-15 02:29:48
You sound so happy...I am thrilled your new life is going so well. Have a great day off tomorrow, Sandyz
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-08-15 02:48:32
what is pogo? I have a couple of turntables
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-08-15 03:42:31
Your place looks great! Thansk for the visit!
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-08-15 04:04:31
If you end up with the portable unit, can I send you my portable laundry to wash for me too?
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-08-15 06:53:00
I have been debating the rental of a washer/dryer unit here. I can rent the set for around $35 a month, which I DO spend on laundry, by myself. I figure it will run me a little more for utilities, but as soon as I officially get the new job I'll probably just go for it. :)
-------------------------------
margie - 2008-08-15 13:09:37
I agree with fightn4life, you sound so happy. And I'm so glad for you. I've said before, I was afraid you would regret your decision about leaving your kids. But it seems as if everything is just falling into place for you. Now, you've got to show us some more pictures of your new home.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-08-15 18:27:45
It continues to sound like you made a good choice in where you relocated. Hope you do enjoy your days off. I also think it would be nice if you can get a washer/dryer through Home Depot....Good luck.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group