ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-03 ... 4:49 p.m.

previous - next

Getting hooked up

Got a lot done today. I will have electricity, gas and cable TV and internet on Thursday. I will also have a bed! Woot! Much as I enjoy spending my time here with Poolie and Roomie, it does need to end. I need my own place, where I can just be. And I do believe it will happen soon.

I stopped over at my place this morning, and all but one of the bedrooms has been primed, and the carpeting is out of one of the bedrooms, and half the living room, so it is possible that it will be finished by Thursday morning. Well, finished except for putting the rest of my stuff away. I haven't even really considered where I will put things, but there is time for that.

I got a couple keys made, since my landlord charges $35 if I lock my keys inside and he has to come rescue me. I can't say I blame him. So I can give Poolie a key, and keep one in my wallet just in case.

I called a friend of Poolie's to ask about a job, and wrote up a resume. Honestly, the last resume I wrote was in 1988 or thereabouts, and I had no clue where to start. I guess keeping jobs for 6 years or more isn't a bad thing, but I'm kind of out of practise when it comes to looking for one. The resume alone took quite some time!

One thing I can tell you is that it's boring just sitting here with only the internet to keep me company. I will get a job just for entertainment! It seems that most jobs, even in grocery stores, encourage one to apply online. I know where I would LIKE to work, the question is, do they want ME to work there?

I decided to go find a mall and do a little walking. I knew there was one near Big Sister's house, so I went there. I needed sheets for my new bed anyway, so that was my main focus. I love Bed Bath and Beyond, but I didn't realize that a lot of their sheet sets are over $150! I did find some bargain ones, and then went to Tar-jhay and found some others.

I also had to get a get-well card for Bink, who worked at the store in Cowtown. It seems she is in intensive care, having had major surgery and some organ failures... she will be out of work for at least 6 weeks, and poor Kid has been putting in mega hours since Bink has been gone. She is not a happy camper. (err... Bink AND Kid!)

It's been a pretty quiet day, and I still have some online applications to fill out. Any job is better than none, and it seems that they are easier to find once you're employed. So I plan on filling a few out, and seeing what comes up. It can't hurt! I do have experience at SOME things, so I guess we'll just have to see.... I would like to get a job before I get desperate!

Not much else going on. I've been watching the hummingbirds all day. There are quite a few of them flitting around the trees behind Poolie's house. And then there are the crows. There are several of them, too, and they are HUGE. They land on the roof, and make so much noise I would swear there is someone else in the house with me. But since the noise doesn't bother the dogs, I decided not to let it bother me. Honestly though, it's like the movie, The Birds! Freaky!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

9 comments so far

art - 2008-06-03 20:30:33
happy job hunting!!! i had someone call me today and i had to tell em sorry, im employed!!! hope you find something soon!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-03 21:01:08
I have no idea how to write a resume either!! There are loads of websites that can help you, though. I hope everything is ready as soon as possible in your new house; I know you are looking forward to having your OWN place. Good luck with the job hunting!
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-03 21:10:11
I'm so glad things are falling into place! It'll be so nice to get settled in. Good luck on the job hunt!
-------------------------------
Sis - 2008-06-03 21:13:23
I don't think I have ever done a resume, does that age me or what! I saw Dude at work today, he's excited about the end of the school year coming. Haven't seen him smile that much in a while! Bob talked to Kid at work, she told him about Bink, or I wouldn't have known who that was.
-------------------------------
princesscee - 2008-06-03 21:22:35
I can't imagine anyone as hard working as you are, having a rough time finding a job. They should be thanking their lucky stars that you came to town looking to work. Nevertheless, good luck!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2008-06-03 21:34:25
Try annaslinens.com (they also have local stores) as they are very reasonable on linens and such. Jobs...check out monster.com I think they may also have something to assist with resumes, but mainly list a lot of jobs. With your personality and work ethic you should have no problem finding a job. You'll probably be turning jobs down.
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2008-06-03 23:00:44
Good luck with the job search! As with the other pieces, I'm sure that this particular piece will also fall in place with one of those nice, satisying thunks. :)
-------------------------------
shippie - 2008-06-03 23:30:10
So do tell us Beanie! What is the job you are hoping to get?? And yes...the length of time at your jobs speaks VOLUMES!!!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-06-04 01:32:11
You will be in your place soon - doing your own thing. Huzzah!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group