ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-01 ... 6:00 p.m.

previous - next

Shopping in San Diego

I had a great time yesterday running errands with Big Sister. We went a few places and ended up at a coffee shop, chatting and drinking coffee. We went back to her place, and from there I went over to my place.

I emptied the rest of my kitchen boxes after I cleaned the cupboards and by the time I finished with that I was pretty warm. The windows are all taped shut for the painting, so it gets a bit hot and stuffy inside.

On the way, I stopped at my neighborhood coffee shop, Rebecca's, to sit and just relax for a while before I attempted to find my way back to Poolie's. I ordered a coffee, but all I had was a $50 bill, and they didn't have change. A lady who was standing behind me offered to pay for my coffee! I thanked her, but when she paid for her own coffee with a $20 bill, I realized that the coffee shop would have change. I thanked the lady again, but then I was able to pay for myself. What a sweetie she was, I hope to see her in there again.

After that, I got severely turned around, and it took me a half hour to get back to Poolies, which should have been about 10 minutes from the coffee shop. Oh well. I know my way to Poolies now!!

Poolie and Roomie went to a play in Los Angeles, so I was "home" by myself for the rest of the day. It gave me some time to get some necessary things finished, like laundry and Pogo (ok, I know that's not necessary, but..) and I played with the dogs for a bit. I had a few online chats, and just as I was about to go to bed, they (Poolie and Roomie) came home. They were both tired, so we all called it a day.

This morning I went to the store to get a newspaper, and looked to see if any furniture stores were having sales. My landlord says my place will be finished by (hopefully) Wednesday afternoon, so I will plan on having a bed delivered on Thursday. Woot! Then I can truly move in. I enjoy staying with Poolie and Roomie and the dogs, but it will be nice to have my own place.

Once everyone was up and at 'em, Poolie and I went off to do a little touring. We stopped by my place to see if the walls had been primed (they weren't) and then we took off. Poolie wanted to show me a few grocery stores. I usually go along with Poolie's plans, because they always turn out to be pretty fun. This was no exception.

The first store we stopped at was a 'market' more than a grocery store. There were grocery things there, but the prices of fruits and veggies were great! I saw veggies that I had never seen before, and artichokes that were huge and only $1.50 each. I am really going to have to learn to cook them!

We went to more markets, each with their own little specialties. We made our way to La Jolla, where Poolie told me existed the BEST deli ever. OMG she was so right! They had salads I'd never seen before, a salad bar, and so many different varieties of food that were ready to eat that I was totally amazed! We bought a few of them and sat there and had lunch. Awesome. I will definitely shop there again, although when I do, it will be a treat.

The last store we stopped at had several samples of cheese sitting out, just waiting for us to eat them. We made our way around the cheese department, and then walked over to produce. They had square tomatoes persimmons, and square white peaches. By this time we were pretty giggly, so I picked up a peach to buy. Poolie was giving me a hard time because that was ALL I was buying. It was small, but unarguably the best peach I had ever eaten. It was amazing! We had a few laughs over it, anyway... that and the moldy feta cheese Poolie found. I know it doesn't SOUND funny, but you had to have been there I guess.

Now I'm just waiting (in a waiting room) for Poolie to get some filing done, and then we will be off to parts unknown, likely a coffee shop. I am enjoying the coffee shops here immensely, since Cowtown had NONE of them.

This is pretty much the last day of my vacation for a while. I need to get several things done tomorrow, like go to the DMV and set up a bank account, and buy a bed. I am holding off a bit on the job front until I am actually IN my apartment. That shouldn't be that long. I've really only been off a little more than a week so I'm not overly stressed about it. First things first, and first is having my own place to live.

All in due time...

previous - next

Kiss Me!

15 comments so far

Poolie - 2008-06-01 21:10:03
Those weren't square tomatoes? Damn!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-01 21:36:24
Good for you both - sounds like the perfect way to wind down from your road trip. I hope things work out for you in the job department too - and you know what? We'll probably end up moving into our respective apartments on the same day, LOL!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-01 22:18:03
Isn't it amazing what all is available in San Diego?? Any time I go to a big city, my chin just drops open.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-01 22:52:55
You are having too much fun!! I knew I should have stowed away. Here I sit in BF Arkansas eating Poolie's Coco Puffs! LOL I couldn't be happier for you! **hugs**
-------------------------------
art - 2008-06-01 23:11:29
SQUARE peaces and tomatoes? wow!! what will they think of next!! i love the coffee shops the best, especially the ones with free wifi!!! so fun!
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-06-01 23:59:52
ummm, sweetie?? You've been hanging around Poolie too long hon. You can't open a bank account OR buy a bed at the DMV!! DMV is only for stuff involving your vehicle and driving needs! Ok then, just thought I'd help! Mwah!
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-06-02 02:14:38
You are getting settled in already. Bet you can't wait until Wednesday when you can really MOVE into your apt. Good luck with the job hunt.
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-06-02 07:47:45
Too. Much. Fun. I'm teary eyed for you, sweetie. ~LA
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-06-02 08:30:26
I always loved buying product in California; it makes you see how the rest of the country pays for markups. Keep on having a good time. You make the rest of us happy.
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-06-02 08:31:30
Shhot! I meant PRODUCE!
-------------------------------
G - 2008-06-02 11:16:31
There's such a thing as a square tomato? How funky...
-------------------------------
Jen - 2008-06-02 11:25:28
Ohh, do you remember the names of the deli and the produce market?? I love fruits and veggies and when we are there next year would love to stop and browse. You can email them to me if you remember (or a note works too :) ) Glad you are having a good time. Can't wait to see more pictures of your new place. I love the view from your backyard! *hugs*
-------------------------------
rebekah - 2008-06-02 11:53:38
have you ever lived alone? either way, it will be a good story.

I have miles i need to use by the end of the year. if i go to LA, maybe i'll rent a car. mmm peaches.
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2008-06-02 14:38:55
It sounds like the best kind of vacation ever - the kind that doesn't end!
-------------------------------
requiel - 2008-06-02 18:46:44
It sounds like you are having the best time! Have fun!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group