ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-06 ... 4:35 p.m.

previous - next

Playing the waiting game

Well I had fun today, even if the world isn't cooperating with me the way I would like.

I'm not liking the whole applying for jobs online thing. It's way too impersonal. I never get to see the person I need to talk to, and who has time when they are busy to sit down and look at job applications online? Next week I will take matters into my own hands. Look out San Diego, here I come!

I am also really trying hard to get into my apartment but others are not trying as hard as I. I was assured yesterday that the toilet, kitchen sink, stove and shower doors would be completed yesterday. They weren't. I can't live somewhere without the basics, so I guess next month's rent will be lowered for the past two days.... or maybe more, depending on when they get it done. I am patient enough to wait, but I really don't want to impose on Poolie and Roomie more than I need to. They are cool with it, but still.

I went over there this morning to see if I could officially move in, and when I saw what had not been done, I decided that I could still do something. I got most of the boxes out of the kitchen, and put in the appropriate rooms. I *tried* to hook my computer up and get it online, but there was a cable outage in my area, and there was no going online. Well, at least I know my computer works, so hopefully tomorrow I can get it functioning.

I grabbed some things from the kitchen to make a bread that I've been dying to try. I stopped at the store to get the other things I needed, and I thought I had everything, but no... I had to go back to the store again. I spent the afternoon here (at Poolie's) making Mango Macadamia nut bread. It turned out great!

I set it on the countertop to cool, then left to go back to my apartment. I got a couple blocks away, and then realized that Tucker (the dog) LOVES to stick his nose over the top of the counter and pull down anything he can find to eat. He did that to a bag of rolls that Roomie bought yesterday. It was my fault he got them, and I felt bad about it. So I turned around and got back here to move the bread before he chowed down on it. Phew! I would have been upset if he'd eaten it all... and I'm sure Tucker's tummy would have been upset too.

But it was good to be able to bake something again. I really miss the recreational baking I used to do. I can do it again, if I can ever get into my apartment!

I did have a good day; don't let my complaining fool you. I got a lot organized in my new place, and I had some time to plot my moves for next week. PLUS I talked to both my kids today! I called Dude, just because I haven't heard from him, and I wanted to see how he was doing. (He's fine.) Kid called me, and told me she was coming to see me on July 21st! Woot!! She will only be here for a week, but I know she will enjoy California.

Roomie is part of the costume staff for a play, and Poolie and I are going to see it tonight. It sounds like a lot of fun, and Roomie assures me that the play is entertaining. Sounds like fun to me!

I am really enjoying Rebecca's near my house. Yesterday Poolie met me there after my bed was delivered and and there were two guys playing guitar. They are part of a trio, but their bass player wasn't there. The trio plays on Wednesdays on a regular basis. They were really good, so I plan on spending Wednesday nights just sitting there, drinking coffee and listening to them play.

I could be spending my time in worse ways! And there's free wireless internet there, too! Can't beat that!! Actually, there's free wireless internet almost everywhere now. It's the wave of the future, I think. I'm so glad I have a laptop!

Time to get changed. Poolie will be picking me up soon...

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

bluesleepy - 2008-06-07 01:13:26
Mango macadamia bread??? That sounds DELICIOUS! I'm so glad you saved it from Tucker's belly. I'm sure Poolie and Roomie will appreciate more than Tucker would. Heh.
-------------------------------
art - 2008-06-07 01:14:21
wow! them guys sure are taking thier sweet time with the fixing up at your place!!! im sure you will find some thing soon!
-------------------------------
Sis - 2008-06-07 03:21:43
Hang in there Nancy. I'm sure your new place will be well worth the wait. "All good things come to those who wait" (I don't know who said that, but it was someone important). And I'm sure after you get all those resumes on line, you'll get lots of responses! I don't think it hurts to follow up with a phone call or visit though!
-------------------------------
requiel - 2008-06-07 04:51:23
Yum! I totally want some. How about the recipe?
-------------------------------
purple chai - 2008-06-07 06:05:54
If you come across a musician who calls himself Jefferson Jay, you've just met JJ, my eldest nephew. I get the impression that he's a minor celebrity in some sections of San Diego, but I don't know which sections they are.
-------------------------------
kim - 2008-06-07 09:12:55
It still blows me away to think you are now in my home state!! The waiting game is never fun or easy, but I'm sure you'll get everything settled and hear from one of those jobs verrrry soon! *fingers crossed*
-------------------------------
catsoul - 2008-06-07 11:19:34
Hi, did you apply for a job at that coffeehouse? She bakes her scones there. It was just a thought. =^..^=
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-06-07 16:25:25
While I was reading along about the bread and you putting it on the counter and then leaving the house I was so like, "oh oh! Tucker ate her bread I bet!!" So glad you were able to go and save it!! So glad to hear you are going to have a visitor soon!
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-06-07 17:21:34
I was thinking you might be able to drum up some business with the coffee shops by doing baking for them. Make some of your specialities and take them to the shops and offer them free for their customers and then if the shop likes the response; you might get some business. or maybe it would be too much work....just an idea....
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-06-07 19:38:55
Roomie and Poolie will miss fresh baked treats like your delicious sounding bread when you move into your own place....oh, I know you will bake for them but when you bake in THEIR place, their place smells good. Hey...maybe you could get a job at Rebecca's baking things....sounds like a great place to hang out. You are assimilating nicely into the San Diego culture and you sound relaxed and happy.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group