ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-06-28 ... 7:44 p.m.

previous - next

Early morning meetings suck

Wow! Interesting day at work today!!

It started with the 5AM meeting. *Yawn* I didn't even take a shower, just put on my clothes from yesterday and went to work. At least they had muffins, bagels and OJ, but no coffee. I had a chocolate muffin. Heh.

Anyway, it was kind of an inservice thing, all about how to SELL. If someone buys a toilet, we are all supposed to know what else they need to buy, and suggest it to them as they check out, or while they are still in the aisles. It wasn't that part that was so interesting.

I got this:

Photobucket

Yes, another Homer award for customer service. There were lots of awards handed out, and there was also a "Sales Associate of the Month" and "Cashier of the Month" awards. No, I didn't get that one. It just so happened that Blue had just gone up to get her Homer when the ASM was awarding it. You could see it in her face that she thought she was getting it.... but it went to Bob!

Bob started the same time Blue did, and is second in line for full time. The look on Blue's face when Bob's name was called was absolutely PRICELESS. It was so obvious she thought it was hers, I kind of felt sorry for her, but I was also chuckling inside. I know that sounds mean, but you would have to work with Blue to understand. She was pretty quiet the rest of the day.

In fact, Blue's best cashier buddy who didn't come said that Blue told her last week she was getting the award! No ego problem there..

I actually went home after the meeting (at 7) after stopping at the store for bagels so I have something for breakfast tomorrow. I took my shower and made some coffee and had a bagel, since that muffin just didn't cut it. I just relaxed here until it was time to go back to work.

It was a beautiful day outside, and there was a nice breeze blowing through garden. I wasn't working next to Blue, so I didn't talk to her much... I'm kind of glad, because apparently she was really bossing everyone around before I got there.

And I wasn't there long before Norma pulled me inside for my 1-year review, which of course, was TOTALLY positive. I asked about the head cashier position open, and she said there might actually be TWO positions open, but she has to wait until enough people have applied to interview. She said my last interview was probably still good for this opening, but I could re interview if I wanted. I do! She said that would be fine... although there is some question of whether or not it would be full time.

That kind of cut my enthusiasm for the job. I wouldn't mind the increase in pay, but if I am going to have that stressful of a job, I think I should at least be full time. One of the current HCs is moving onto the sales floor, and another will be gone for 8 months because he is joining the military. I guess it will have to be a wait and see thing. I seem to be doing A LOT of that at the Depot.

So.... I went back to work, and when I was in the break room for lunch, one of the cashiers and a HC came in. the HC just assumed that Blue got the Cashier of the Month award, and was surprised that Bob got it. She said she was glad, because "there would be a lot of pissed-off people if Blue got it!" Someone (ahem) made the comment that Blue's head would be too big to fit in the garden door if she had gotten it. But the other cashier also noticed the look on Blue's face when it was announced.

I was talking later to the girl I was working with out in garden, who is moving to the east coast soon, and dislikes Blue intensely. She said that she can't honestly think of any cashiers who actually LIKE Blue. It seems that everyone is kind of sick of her bragging about having the most credits and the most responses from the receipts.

I said that it seems that everything is a contest for Blue, and she has to win them all. No one else cares that much. Heh. I mean, I do what's good for the company, but I don't make a pain in the butt of myself to the other cashiers... even the one cashier who I thought really liked Blue was the one who was kind of chuckling about the look on Blue's face.

Bob and I are the two who work with her the most. I can't honestly say I dislike her, but I more put up with her. She has shown me who and what she is, and I accept that. She is a good person at heart, and does what she does to try to get full time. I can't fault her for that, but it would help her a lot if she would just learn to chill out a bit. Bob and I both have kids, and know how to ignore things. Heh.

Besides, Blue will have her hands full when Buster works outside with her next week. He's not likely to do what she tells him to, and he tends to disappear from his register. It should be an interesting week next week! I think having Buster out there is a matter of Karma....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

Moosehunter - 2009-06-29 10:04:57
Excellence, eh? Excellent, your excellency. I imagine you excel at excellence. Excuse me now, I must go back to using excel!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-06-29 12:59:44
That company sure treats employees strangely.
-------------------------------
Paula - 2009-06-29 17:25:46
Have you been there a year already??? Wow. Hope you get the head cashier job and the full time.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-06-29 19:03:56
I imagine Blue's stress level and blood pressure will be way up next week when she has to work with that guy. And it doesn't sound like she is a sure thing for the next full-time or head cashier job after all. good luck with your next interview and congrats on another Homer award.
-------------------------------
Char - 2009-06-29 19:36:14
Congrats on your job well done. Seems like you are hanging in there as best you can. I can't believe it's been a year. Time flies when you are having "fun".
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-06-29 21:34:05
Congrats on another Homer award--at least it shows they are aware of your excellent performance!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group