ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-07-14 ... 11:57 p.m.

previous - next

Shopping at Old Town, fireworks at work

Another late work day today. I am kind of liking the closing shift. I get up early enough to get things done before work, when I have the energy and the will to do them. When I come home from work, I'm tired, and it doesn't take long before I go to bed. When I work the earlier shifts, I don't want to go anywhere or do anything after work, and working late, I get a lot more accomplished!

Today I made another trip to Old Town. I liked my little bowl of plants so much that I decided to go back and get the bigger bowl, and put some of my bigger plants in it. But I can say one thing... when I get it filled with soil and plants, there will be no moving it, so I have to be sure to put it in the right spot before I plant everything in it! Wanna see?

The two pots are standing right next to each other, and you can see the big difference in size! The problem I have is that I'm not sure there will be enough sunlight there for both bowls. I am thinking of moving the small one to put it right outside my door. It will get at least as much sun there as it would get where it is now with the big bowl there, plus it would give the big bowl a lot more sunlight.

Photobucket

Of course, I could always trim one or both of the bushes that are in the way, but I'm not sure the property owner would appreciate my efforts. *Ahem*

I'm sure I need another bag of soil, and I also need a saucer to put underneath so that all the water doesn't just drain out of the pot. This turned out to be a fairly expensive little project, but it will be pretty when it's done!

There is a lot more to this little pottery shop than meets the eye. Much more than pots! But man, are there pots!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Definitely one of my favorite places in San Diego! Can you tell? Inside the shop is just a ton of stuff, incense, beads, wind chimes, lots of fun gift type things. It's truly an amazing place. Honestly, you could easily spend a couple of hours just looking at everything.

So much for playing. I had to stop and get ready for work. Bummer. I had to go a bit early to get the soil and plate for my big pot. I really don't want to go to shop there on my day off, or even shop at one closer to my house. So now at least that's done.

And off to work I went. Busy, busy, busy. One of the people who was in returns today spent about 10 minutes on returning plants for a lady. Not that it was that hard, or involved, but she just didn't want to do too much work, you know. She left about an hour after I got there. It just made me a bit irritated, although some of the things people brought back were just stupid.

A guy brought a 75-foot hose, and he returned it because he wanted it to be longer. Why not just get another, smaller hose, instead of dragging that one down to the store. Jeebus.

The other thing that was somewhat irritating was that the phone at my register wasn't working. As often as I need the phone there, it sure is a pain in the you-know-where to have to leave your register to answer the phone... or make a call. Sheesh! I am really hoping that phone will be working by the time I get back after my two days off.

I also forgot my water bottle so I got a bit dehydrated, which I'm sure didn't help my mood at all. I think I drank about a quart of water when I was having lunch. I wasn't as much hungry as I was thirsty. It was a warm day today, and I was working hard so my shirt was pretty wet by the time I came home. Must be why I've drank 2 big glasses of water since I've been home.

The last two nights at work I've gotten to see the fireworks from SeaWorld. It's nice they are so close! I just step out the door and I can watch my desk and see the fireworks at the same time! Woot! Just a small added benefit there!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

LA - 2009-07-15 11:49:06
Wowzers, that's my new favorite shop too! What wonderful things! Trying to figure out how to get from NY to San Diego and back and still be in time for Wolf's bus. Think I need a transporter from Star Trek. Must investigate. ~LA
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-07-15 13:48:51
Best pottery shop in town!
-------------------------------
PrincessCee - 2009-07-15 15:04:56
What beautiful pots! How in the world did you manage to decide on just one (or two)???
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-07-15 17:53:44
Love the pots, especially the painted ones. I think the biggest cacti pot would look really good in the corner of your space with the smaller one next to it. The roosters in my "hen and chicks" have bloomed and now one of the hens looks like it is going to bloom as well.
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2009-07-15 22:00:48
OMG! What a gorgeous store!! I WOULD spend hours there and lots of money too, I'm afraid!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group