ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-02-08 ... 4:40 p.m.

previous - next

Most of the boxes are gone!

What a day. I got up about 7 and took my shower. I figured I would get that in before the rest of the tenants got up.. since there is only one HUGE water heater for everyone.

I got my laundry started while I had my coffee and bagel, and by the time my laundry was done, so was my breakfast. Yeah, I like to savor it, and I didn't really want to rush too much!

Then I started on the boxes. I really wasn't looking forward to it, since there were so many.. but someone had to do it, and I didn't have any volunteers.... haha. When it looks as bad as it did in here, it just made me want to not have to do it, you know? But one step at a time...

I cut some shelf liner, and lined the kitchen cupboard shelves. First things first. Once that was done, I could put things in the cupboards where they belonged! Here is a before and after picture...

Granted, this before picture doesn't look that bad, but consider that the entire counter top that you can't see was also full of boxes!

Photobucket

In this after picture, the only things on the other countertop are my mixer and blender! OK, so there's a sink full of dirty dishes, and the counter top still has stuff on it, but it's stuff that is SUPPOSED to be there! AND no boxes at all!

Photobucket

Once that was done, and all the food put away, that meant I had two big stacks of boxes in the living room. I really needed to get rid of them, so I listed them on Freecycle, and within an hour someone had come and picked them all up! Woot!

That gave me the room to organize my furniture. I wasn't real happy with having my dresser in the closet, since that meant I had no room for the laundry basket, and I wanted to get it out. I managed to do that because I put my big shelf in the living room. Once I get all the pictures hung, and everything on the shelves where it belongs, I will take a walking video and post it. Until then, you are stuck with these before and after pics.

This one is taken standing by the door..

Photobucket

This one from my computer chair..

Photobucket

Now there is actually room to walk without trying to avoid boxes!

I tried to get the same perspective..

Photobucket

and

Photobucket

I did change it a little after that last picture. I wasn't happy with the couch flat against the wall like that, so I angled it a little which will allow me to move a few other things around. You will see when I'm done!

Amazing what I can get done with a whole day off!

Then I went grocery shopping. I didn't have much food here because I didn't want to move it. So I went to Henry's and Von's and bought a whole bunch of stuff. I was going to make stir-fry and rice tonight, but when I got home, I dropped one of the bags and my sweet-sour stirfry sauce broke, and I thought I had soy sauce, but I didn't. I was too DONE by that time to go back to the store, and there are other things here I can eat, so I'll save that for tomorrow night. I can stop at Ralph's after work and pick up what I need.

The on-site manager's name here is Roberto. He's probably about 35 or 40, with 2 kids and one on the way. He's pretty funny, and willing to help when he can. He runs an auto glass service, and is letting me use his storage area for my cooler, since he is using two of them. Yeah, one should be mine, but I'm willing to share, since I hardly ever use the cooler, and I have room inside for the other things I have.

Now... I have to find something to eat.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

13 comments so far

DSis - 2009-02-09 01:41:07
Sounds like great progress! Have you considered putting your dresser in the living room with something on top that is attractive? That way you would free up your closet. Keep up the good work!
-------------------------------
Sis - 2009-02-09 01:54:02
Looks like the worst is over, now just a matter of getting things moved around so you have everything where you like it. Good luck in your new pad!!
-------------------------------
Bornearly - 2009-02-09 01:54:20
Congratulations! That's such a good feeling, to get everything in place. Good work!
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2009-02-09 01:58:58
I know moving is a lot of work, but aren't the results a lot of fun?
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2009-02-09 02:00:32
Oh, Man!! Those boxes did indeed look intimidating!! Yuck! But you made fantastic progress and got right through it all. The rest will be easy. Can't wait to see your walk through!
-------------------------------
mpeacock - 2009-02-09 02:01:54
Oh my I am so far behind. Why the move? Moving is good, makes you organize, love and luck to your new home!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-02-09 04:11:28
You always impress me. I'd probably still be living out of boxes for weeks! Glad you were able to get so much done today, I can't wait to see what it all looks like when you are done.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-02-09 05:15:03
Congrats on a job well done!
-------------------------------
russface - 2009-02-09 06:11:03
I wish that I could buy you more counterspace. Thanks for reading mine.
-------------------------------
Joan - 2009-02-09 06:17:21
You are amazing...you get it all done and some.
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-02-09 08:38:52
Wow. You WERE busy! But doesn't it feel good to get all that done?
-------------------------------
Blondeness - 2009-02-09 18:43:31
Nice place! Great job!:)
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-02-09 20:06:53
You really got a lot accomplished. Glad you made friends with the manager too. That can be handle if a problem arises. Hope you continue to enjoy your new space....
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group