ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-08-11 ... 7:49 p.m.

previous - next

What a Monday!

Long day today. I got up early, because I had a few errands to run before I went to work at 11. I needed to get to the bank, fill my car up with gas, and find a Radio Shack to get the plugs I needed for my stereo. I REALLY needed to put gas in my car! It was so empty that I wouldn't have even tried getting to work without filling it up. And $40 did it, mostly because my local station was selling gas for $3.93 a gallon! That's the lowest I've seen it since I moved here.

And I found what I needed at Radio Shack, after looking around for a while. I also looked at the new phones that Sprint has. My phone contract is due for renewal at the end of October, and I am looking forward to getting a new phone. And having a smaller bill, although one of their plans is unlimited everything, but since I really don't think I will use my phone for web access, I think I can find a different plan that will be a lot less. I can't wait for that! Plus at the end of August I will be cashing in on the 25% discount I get from Sprint for being a Depot of Home employee. Woot!

So after the errands, I came back home and made my lunch, and then toodled off to work. And it was work. The first register I was at wasn't working, so they moved me to another one. Then I went on a break, and when I came back, they moved me again. And then they finally just moved me a third time, and I spent the rest of the day there.

It was busy, and hectic once I got on that last register. I am amazed at the people who come shopping after 6PM. I just don't understand! The last hour or so was crazy. Once Norma, who was in charge, went on her break, I seemed to be the only cashier, even though there were two people working in the "self serve" section, which normally only needs one person. That area was busy too, but it wouldn't have been half as busy if that second person would have been cashiering at a register. Plus I had six people in line most of the time.

Finally, after asking for someone to pick up my strip the second time, Millie finally came to get it so at least that was out of the way. I mentioned that I was off in 25 minutes, and there was a huge line, and my next customer had an overflowing cartload of stuff. THEN they finally decided to open another register so I would have time to count out my till. SHEESH!!!

I would have loved to see Norma's face once she got back out there and saw what the front end looked like. There had to be 20 customers or more in the store, not even at the front end, but since we are open until 10 on weekdays, I suppose it stays busy that long. I have one of those shifts next week. I hope it's my only one.

So I'm pooped, but at least things didn't go wrong, and I'm getting a bit more confident about things every day. That's a good thing! And I either leave my irritation at work, or dump it out here, and then it doesn't really bother me anymore. I figure, with all the cameras they have there, if a customer complains, they can look at the video and see just who is working, and who is slacking off. It won't be ME slacking off!

Time to relax with a little reading and some Pogo!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

8 comments so far

Poolie - 2008-08-12 03:50:23
You never slack off - not even when chasing aliens with tin foil on your head.
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-08-12 04:30:57
we will never all you a slacker!!! Ummm, unless of course you WANT us to some time just for fun so you could see what it feels like to be baaaaaad!!
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-08-12 10:40:26
That scenario would make me crazy with frustration! I would have to summon up all my powers and focus on going Zen. Hee hee!
-------------------------------
For-Tart - 2008-08-12 14:15:34
If you ever desire lessons in Slacking, I can show you how the pro's do it.
-------------------------------
sduckie - 2008-08-12 16:19:41
I think we all know you are not a slacker!!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-08-12 16:23:26
wow! that's a great discount. the fed gov't gets 15% for Sprint accounts. i'm not much further behind... lowest I've seen is $3.85 here.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-08-12 18:16:49
Yeah... you are totally NOT a slacker. Even on your days off, you're busting your buns!! Slow down a little, lady. ;o)
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-08-12 23:43:25
You know, I was REALLY pissed off when they stopped keeping the Depot of Home open until midnight! Of course people come in after 6! You know why? 'Cause you spend all day at work, then come home to find that something in your house has bitten the big one, and so it's off to HD to take care of the problem! Or else you are like me, and you don't get out of bed until 1pm, and of course, 6pm is right smack dab in the middle of your day. See! I have the answers!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group