ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-11-05 ... 7:21 p.m.

previous - next

A busy day at work, and some bargains

I am so glad that all this election stuff is done with now. The only thing I am not happy about is that California passed Proposition 8, banning gay marriages. Now I'm not unhappy because I'm gay (I'm not), or because I live in California. I thought the US was the land of the free, equal rights for all. So why can't two people who love each other get married, and enjoy all the benefits of it. (If they can find any, that is! Heh!)

Today was supposed to have been my third day in returns for the week, however, I ended up being a cashier in the front. I didn't mind today, because dang, I was busy! There weren't a whole lot of cashiers, so that meant more customers for me! Woot!!

I had the only non-working pin pad, too. That kind of sucked, but I quickly got my routine down and made the best of it. What else could I do? The pin pad is the thing customers slide their credit cards through, and put in their PIN number for debit... we've all used those. But it wouldn't let people sign, and no one could use the buttons for debit, either. So I had to print a slip for people to sign.. I had a HUGE pile of them by the end of the day.

Plus I'd stripped my register of about $2500 before 5PM... quite the busy day!

I stopped to get some cotton balls for my ears after work. I went to Walgreens, and found that their Halloween candy was 75% off! Woot!! The majority of what they had left was M & Ms in 14 oz bags.. the peanut ones were 82 CENTS!! The regulars were $1.62. I thought that was weird, and asked if the bags were different sizes, and the cashier said, "Well, the candy inside this one (holding up a peanut M & M bag) is bigger, and smaller in the other one, so you get more." Ummm maybe more if you are counting pieces, but still the same weight. I didn't even bother trying to explain that to her. I just took my change and left.

Then I went across the street to put gas in my car. Woot!! $2.53 a gallon! My car was below a quarter tank, so I wouldn't go anywhere without filling it, and I could only get $25 in it. That was just about a half tank when I first moved here. Awesome!

Now it's time to relax for the day.. well, after I do the dishes. I have a very full sink, and MUST do them tonight, so I have something to use tomorrow! Heh. I gotta at least have one clean coffee cup!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Poolie - 2008-11-06 06:10:44
I do SO get you on the filling the car thing!
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2008-11-06 11:45:51
Thankfully, the price of gas here is now down to $1.87 per gallon!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-11-06 12:31:54
1) i completely agree with the gay rights thing and 2) gas is about $2.40 here
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-11-06 17:25:50
I missed your birthday. HAPPY BELATED!!! Big hugs to you sweetie! And gas finally went down to 89 cents a litre...ummm...can't think what that is per gallon at the moment as my brain is mush. Tis goin down at least!
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2008-11-06 20:01:22
I was amazed by the Prop 8 thing too. I figured of all places, California could do that!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group