ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-15 ... 4:07 p.m.

previous - next

Pictures today!

I had the day off today, and it was just beautiful again today. I hate to think that it will go back to being cold and rainy like it was around Christmas. Just a beautiful day to spend outside.

I spent some time in the front yard taking pictures of my cactus and Sam and Janet, my palm trees. I brought them outside when I noticed they were really really dry. That's why I do so well with cacti.. cause I don't have to water them weekly.

Since they've been out getting the rain, and the evening/morning moisture, they've been doing much better. Sam just opened up a new frond (Janet is working on one, too)...

Photobucket

And my cacti are doing so well! My jade plant has flowers on it!

Photobucket

This plant only had one little growth on it when I moved here... now it's got 3! Ummm it didn't have the spiderwebs either, those are new, too! Heh.

Photobucket

This was Mom's little barrel cactus..

Photobucket

Not only did this one grow in height, but it's head is splitting. Ouch!

Photobucket

This one is much bigger than it was six months ago. And no, it's not flowering, that's just some detritus (neener) on top from the tree above it.

Photobucket

More tree litter on this one..

Photobucket

This plant got a lot taller, too. It's almost as tall as the one that is planted in the ground.

Photobucket

This is Spike, my favorite:

Photobucket

And if you want to compare, here are last winter's pictures..

Photobucket
closer
Photobucket

I know, not the same setting, but it does give you an idea of how much they've changed. It just goes to show how a change can make plants (and people) grow.

And even after all that, I had lunch outside. It was good to feel the sun on me, and be able to enjoy it. And to realize that I need to be grateful for what I have, and not to be disappointed when little things don't go my way. And that's all I'm saying about that.

And don't forget, it's delurker week. If you are reading, and haven't yet left me a comment, please do so. It's free and easy!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

13 comments so far

Fifi - 2009-01-16 01:27:25
Is that Sam and Janet Devening? XOFifi
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-01-16 02:22:17
Dang! Them is some happy cactus! They are really thriving, just like their owner! And in reference to your vague comment about not getting everything you want...always remember that the universe knows what we NEED, and everything happens for a reason! HUGS!
-------------------------------
Janice - 2009-01-16 02:43:24
Delurking to say hi. Your cactus are beautiful. It is great to see them and you thriving!
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2009-01-16 02:52:24
Wow, do YOU have a green thumb!
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2009-01-16 03:01:06
Spike should put some clothes on. I think I just got aroused.
-------------------------------
Sis - 2009-01-16 04:13:46
Your plants look great! We had sun today too, only MUCH lower temps. Tonight it is at a minus 8 and I don't even want to think about the "wind-chill" factor. So enjoy your weather!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2009-01-16 04:22:29
I love your cactus garden - and yes, they all look MUCH happier in SoCal. Can't say I blame them ;)
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2009-01-16 04:24:14
Does the barrel cactus now have a splitting headache? =D Your babies look fantastic, all it took was a new climate and a chance to spread their fronds.
-------------------------------
Bornearly - 2009-01-16 04:43:51
Hi, this is me commenting. I'm cuckoo for cocoabean!
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2009-01-16 15:53:17
I comment sometimes! I'm not a lurker, i swear!
-------------------------------
words-4-less - 2009-01-16 17:39:22
That's only a 115 degree difference. LOL!!!!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-16 18:35:30
Obviously SD is the right place for you and your cacti......I can't imagine how good that sun must feel today. I am cozy in the house with a turtleneck and a sweatshirt on.... and your comment fits right in with my blog subject today.... Thanks for the pictures....
-------------------------------
mz. em - 2009-02-07 23:42:20
Another cactus lover after my own heart. When I lived in Tucson, I had a whole garden which was left behind when we moved back to Maine. Here in California I have one cactus and one jade plant. Seeing your plants I want to get outside and work with them and take better care of them. This me with the brown thumb.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group