ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-09-05 ... 4:39 p.m.

previous - next

Hospital cafeterias.. who knew?

Well. I met our own Poolagirl last night at the hospital, because one of her co-workers had surgery, and she had gone there to try to visit with her, and cheer her up a bit. I waited in the lobby for Poolie, since the co-worker didn't feel up to other visitors. That was ok with me, it gave me a chance to read my book, and people watch. Poolie wasn't gone long anyway.

So we decided to get something to eat, and Poolie suggested.... the hospital barfeteria. Well, I'm usually game for Poolie's ideas, so down to the basement we went. It was almost 6:30 and it closed at 7, so there wasn't a whole lot of food left, and what was left wasn't very appealing. I had a small salad and Poolie had a bag of chips.

It wasn't the food or the atmosphere that made the cafeteria so much fun, it was Poolie. People kept looking at us to see if we were howling with laughter or sadness, but the two of us were laughing until we cried. Poolie was telling me about the book she is writing about Lydia and the Giant Squid (don't really know the title, I'm just guessing here).

I was glad I finished eating before we started talking about it, or I would have choked on my food. I could barely sit, I was laughing so hard. I almost fell out of my chair at one point.

We also discussed Poolie losing her Zen. It hasn't happened yet, but when it does, look out, world! Just the thought of the road trip that would ensue was almost enough to bring on laughter-induced wheezing.. and actually, I think it did. However, we need a certain someone *coff*hissandtell*coff* to round out the traveling companions, just to make it entirely perfect. In fact, Poolie and I promised each other to take a month off of work should this certain someone decide to come along. It will be the adventure of a lifetime...

But we did finally have to come back to reality, since the cafeteria was closed by this time, and we both needed to go home and get some sleep. I think I laughed all the way home.

Y'all don't know what you are missing. Times like these will be had in Tombstone, and with the addition of a little Tequila and some giant puffies .... welll.... it will be a memorable weekend!

It was down this street the giant puffies were charred..

downtown tombstone

Today I got all my chores finished by 10:00! Woot! So I decided to play a little Pogo, and just relax until I went to meet Poolie for lunch. Today's lunch wasn't quite as hilarious as last night, since we stuck to a few more serious subjects. But trust me, the giggles are usually right under the surface.

Poolie went back to work, and I came back home to work on a little project I had going. I even watched a little TV while I worked on it. I hardly ever watch TV anymore, since it isn't in the computer room, and that's where I watched the most TV at my old house... rather I listened to it while I was surfing the 'net. Now I don't even bother. If I'm not online, I'm reading.. and if I'm not reading, I'm generally not home.

Now my salmon and baked potato are in the oven, and I'm just waiting for them to finish. I have to finish up a few things before leaving for the weekend for my dog sitting job... I'm really looking forward to this one, since I don't actually have to WALK the dogs, just let them out into the yard. Woot! Plus they have an awesome big screen tv..... but I might just spend most of my time out on their deck gazing at the ocean... I promise, I'll take pictures...

previous - next

Kiss Me!

11 comments so far

art - 2008-09-06 00:26:26
hallo thar!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-09-06 01:47:51
Hey! I've been down that street!! I should scan in my Tombstone photos. You can see what I looked like as a child of 20. Hahaha. I so wish I could go, Nancy. I want to laugh till I cried with you and Poolie and the other hunters!!!
-------------------------------
beanie - 2008-09-06 01:57:45
Bluesleepy, I am truly sorry you can't come this time... There will be next year.....
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-09-06 02:27:56
I think Bluesleepy would be amazed by all the changes in Tombstone. I'd love to see the old photos!
-------------------------------
BrettJ - 2008-09-06 05:39:40
Thanks for the kind / recent note. I think we ALL change lives, but I am glad I was able to change yours. I hope your NEW life is going well. As for Hospital "Cafs" the one in which I used to work had FULL COURSE meals for next-to-nothing and the food was great. Sue is recovering from major surgery and I will post a long update soon.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-09-06 06:43:23
I keep holding out hopes for a miracle. Just can't see it happening any time soon enough to let me traipse to Tombstone next month :(
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-09-06 13:13:47
Why do I always choke on my own air when I am with you????
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-09-06 15:33:21
I am all about the unusual dining venues, thanks for the tip! Our Lady of Nip-n-Tuck cafeteria here I come! ~LA
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-09-06 17:39:51
it becomes more and more obvious that your choices to change your life and move to SD was the best thing you could have done. You sound so happy and have so many fun things to discuss. I am looking forward to meeting you in Tombstone...I'll be the quiet one who listens and then inserts a sarcastic remark on occasion.
-------------------------------
Miss Hiss - 2008-09-06 22:03:16
Ooooh, you know how much I adore road trips! But after the mammoth emailfests of late and all the snappy comebacks flying between us all, I'm damned sure I wouldn't only be howling and wheezing and choking after a month with you fellow supergrrls: I'd be in intensive care! Love, R xxx
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-09-07 01:03:10
I actually loved the cafe food at the hospital I worked at. Had like 8 different sections with different types of food. Sooo nummmy. If you were a patient in that hospital however???? ugh. Different story altogether. So wish I could partake in the wheezefest at tombstone. Sigh.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group