ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-27 ... 5:28 p.m.

previous - next

Last day of summer camp

My day started out easy enough, just having laundry to do. I had everything together already, so I only had to grab the basket, and off I went. I grabbed a bunch of quarters, but still had to get more, because it took everything a long time to dry for some reason. Oh well, I took a book along, so I could just sit and read a bit longer.

On the subject of washers and dryers: I don't want an apartment-sized stackable washer and dryer. They need 220 hook-up, and a water hookup, and they are pretty much permanent. The ones I want are portable, like this. (click on the word 'this' to see what I mean) Not just smaller, but portable. I know there are some out there cheaper than the Thor models, but this shows my example the best. See?

I chatted a bit with Poolagirl this morning, and she said that today the kids at summer camp were making racing cars that were balloon powered. "Want some help?" I asked. Poolie jumped at the chance for help. So after my laundry was done, I went over to the museum.

First the kids put together some little wooden cars using kits. Some of the kids did great with them, some of the others just kind of messed around. They went out and played four-square while I cleaned up from that, and when they came back in, they started on their balloon-powered cars.

Quite an experience! It was NOT an easy project, although two of the kids did have cars that actually worked! The biggest problem with most of the cars was the wheels... they had brought CDs to use, but with only small little dowels, the holes in the CDs were too large, and no one brought anything to fix that. So a lot of the cars just didn't work at all. It was an interesting project!

The men in the museum were the judges, and they all conferred, and everyone won a prize certificate! Poolie had all sorts of categories, and everyone won something, so they were all happy. It was quite fun, but exhausting.

Then I came back home. I'm too pooped to make supper, and after a couple bottles of water, I'm not real hungry any more, either. I have plenty of food here though... I'll just eat later. Summer camp is over now, so I won't be having that much fun volunteering anymore. Bummer.

I need to get to bed early anyway. Orientation is in a town about a half hour from my house, and I need to be there by 8. I'm just thankful I'm getting paid for it, and reimbursed for gas. Woot! The Depot is not cheap, I'll give them that!

I think it's time for a little Pogo....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

8 comments so far

yankeechick - 2008-06-28 01:48:54
Friends of our had one of those washer/dryer combos like this one in their motorhome. It seemed to work great, although drying took quite a long time. Have a good day at orientation!
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-06-28 03:17:06
I'm really impressed that Home Depot gives orientation for 2 weeks and that they give money for gas besides! Have a great weekend!
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2008-06-28 04:15:41
Ah! You're wanting a washer and dryer like my dishwasher. It sits in the corner until time to do dishes, then I just wheel it to the sink, hook it up, plug it in and it's good to go. I didn't know they made washers like that as well...very cool!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-28 05:11:41
I knew you could get washing machines like that but that's the first washer-dryer combo I've seen that could operate on 110. I'd like one of those, myself!
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-06-28 11:36:03
We have one on those washer/dryer units in our 5th wheel. We've never done laundry in it, we use it as a dirty clothes hamper. The couple we bought our trailer from told us that it works, but we rarely camp for more than a weekend, so haven't needed it.
-------------------------------
sduckie - 2008-06-28 17:29:30
Talia had a washer like that, it was Korean-made and would play "Happy Birthday" when it was done! I suspect your model will not be so cheesy.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-29 02:16:20
Woooooo that looks like an awesome washer/dryer combo! It looks perfect for your needs. And getting reimbursed for gas to go to training?? Wow! You hit the jackpot with this job at HD!!
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-06-29 02:54:27
Careful with the w/d combo. That's darn near a spitting image of the unit the gal upstairs from us had at the old place and she hated it!! It doesn't take long to dry...it takes FOREVER!! She said one load alone would take over 6 hours to wash and dry. And we know it isn't an exaggeration cuz we could hear that thing thru the ceiling. It was only a year and a half old so it was a new and fancy model, so I don't know. Just do some looking!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group