ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-02 ... 7:16 p.m.

previous - next

A chilly day in the garden area

BBrrrr another chilly day here, this one without even the benefit of sun, so my house is cold when I get home.

I worked out in garden today, and i was glad to have the big heater, but it ran out of propane about 4ish. Good thing it was busy enough to keep me warm!

I had more customers today "forget" something and have me set their order aside so they could run and get it than I've ever had in one day. I think even in one week! I think a lot of the customers that came through garden today were just looking for a quicker way to check out their stuff. That worked until my partner left at 2:30, and I got pretty busy.

About four, this woman and man came up with a whole big cartload of stuff, landscaping wood, lumber, lots of pieces for doing eaves, and just a whole bunch of other stuff. They also had two kentia palms,
Photobucket
beautiful ones, about 8 feet tall. They were $20. I rang everything up, and when I got to some of the landscaping wood, it didn't have a tag, so I had to look for it in the computer. I had put their order on hold because they had to run and get something else in the store, and I rang up a bunch of other customers in the meantime.

I scanned their hold receipt when they came back, and my computer had a fatal error, and I had to reboot. GAAAAAAA!!! I let all the other customers know that it would be a minimum of 5 minutes, and they might want to go inside to check out. I used that time to find the number for the wood. And when they finally saw the total, they had me take the palms off of it. At least I could keep them up by me to break the wind a bit.

There are a lot of items being marked down because they are being discontinued, and they are being marked to one cent. But we are not supposed to let those go through, we have to find out how much it sold for the last time it sold, and price it that way, and then there is the POS (Piece Of ShitPoint Of Sale)paperwork to do, too. I had several of those today, along with the customers who didn't feel that the Christmas stuff was marked down far enough, so they just left it at my register. Sheesh!!

Plus I had the hardest time thinking it was FRIDAY today. It just seemed so much like Saturday. What a disappointment! Although I did manage to pick up two more days for next week, so I will have 40 hours. Hooray!! Hopefully I can keep that up all month.

And I missed garbage day today, for the second week in a row. It's probably a good thing it's not real warm outside. Hee!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

bluesleepy - 2009-01-03 04:02:18
I love those palms! I might have to go to our HD and see what they have in terms of trees. I'm thinking we might need some more greenery in this house...
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2009-01-03 06:23:36
I'm grateful for the cooler daytime temps but wish it were a little warmer in the mornings at the bus stop...
-------------------------------
cosmic - 2009-01-03 07:25:23
I would love to have some more plants in my house. They provide oxygen which would be good for me. I just can't afford them. Maybe someone will take up a collection and buy me a plant that can live through New Englean winters, (in the house, of course) and still survive. A fica tree would be my dream tree. I have always wanted one. Even a fake one would be nice.
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-01-03 14:37:04
Must be something in the air. We went to Sam's yesterday and it was like everybody had a bad case of the "DUHs". The walking brain dead. Bizarre. I'll send you some of our bright sunshine if you send some heat back. It's a glittery, sparkling 12 degrees here. Sun a'plenty but cold enough to freeze the nose off a brass monkey. ~LA
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-01-03 15:21:55
I spent most of the yesterday thinking it was Saturday too.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-01-03 15:22:44
I was absolutely freezing in my office yesterday - even with two space heaters going. It was only 50 degrees in there!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-03 17:35:24
Those one cent items are quite the bargain. I found some 50% off stuff yesterday but I was surprised at how much "Christmas" is left on the shelves. Bet they will be marked down to 75% next week or so.
-------------------------------
michele - 2009-01-03 21:25:24
computers: can't live wit 'em, can't live wit out 'em... oh wait. maybe that refers to men. HA! anyway, Happy New Year and glad to see you're doing well, etc.
-------------------------------
fairygodmum - 2009-01-04 01:37:24
When I was a manager at the Big Retailer... I would let the employee's buy those one cent items for a few to nothing dollars. I figer they work hard as it is and could use a bit of a discount. Manager's find out first whats marked down. Felt good doing something nice for others. Kinda like Santa Claus.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-01-04 04:21:42
You are an amazing and wonderful person, and you are much loved! *Hugs*
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group