ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-24 ... 10:45 p.m.

previous - next

Packing and a late night at work

It was kind of overcast this morning, and since the sun wasn't shining in onto my face, I slept until after 8! I think that's the longest I've slept in months!

I just lounged around in my jammies while I had my coffee and bagel, and until the bug got to me to get a few more boxes packed.. which I did. I'm still not sure what to do with my bookshelf.. how to move the bricks and the wall blocks. I have some smaller boxes I might put a couple bricks in, just so I don't have to make so many trips. Oh well...

I got a couple of other areas cleaned out/off, so now there is only about a box's worth of stuff in the living room, NOTHING on the computer desk but the necessities (printer, router, speakers and monitor) and nothing else but the bookshelves in this room. I also packed up the extra junk in my bedroom, so there are only the clothes that are hanging and my dresser and night table. And everything in the kitchen cupboards.

So I do believe I have enough boxes for everything, I just need to get the stuff in it. Just packing a little bit every day will help, since I have almost two weeks yet before the movers come, I'm not really behind... yet.

I worked in returns all night tonight, and it was kind of dead. One somewhat intoxicated man came in with a whole bunch of plumbing department stuff... little things to fit pipes together, caps for the ends of pipes... probably over 100 pieces in all. I left all the same kinds together in bags, and when the plumbing guy in the store had to put them away, he was very happy I did that! Heh. I was thinking ahead!

Then there was one man who had a bunch of stuff that he claimed his boss told him to bring back, so he wanted cash instead of having it put back on the credit card. The computer only gave me two options, back on the card, or a store credit. The guy was really unhappy, because he claimed his boss told him we would give him cash. I almost said, "But your boss doesn't work here, so how would he know?" but I thought that might be a bit too snotty. I pointed to the computer screen and said, "You can see I only have two options, Visa, or a store credit." He was very unhappy.

Other customers were weird too. Like the girl who brought back a tile cutter and claimed it didn't work, and she bought it two days ago, but it looked like hell and she LOST her receipt. In two days?? One of the other girls told me she was on the "free rent" program.. buy the tool, use it till you're done, and bring it back for a refund.

And while I was on break, someone brought in 6 spools of solid copper wire, that are about $45 a spool, with no receipt or any information about the purchase, and wanted cash for them. She threatened to call the corporate office, and so the ASM gave her his card with corporate's number on it. Heh.

It almost seemed like everyone wanted money to party with tonight. And since the banks were closed... go to the Depot of Home. Too bad they won't take store credit anywhere else! Heh.

I had a whole hour between closing and when I was supposed to leave. We always have the option of leaving early, but I don't like to, since they won't pay me if I'm not there. How dare they?! So I found things to do, and got returns cleaned up nice and filled other things, and pretty soon it was 10, and time to leave. There's no overnight crew working lately, so it was really quiet between 9 and 10.

Now... time for bed.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

terri t - 2009-01-25 18:58:31
Methinks the employee was "borrowing" the stuff his boss had purchased and wanted cash....Tee Hee And the girl with the 6 copper spools @$45 each....hmmm. sounds fishy. Aren't you planning on the movers taking the bricks and boards for the bookcases? Sounds like a heavy load to me and they must have a cart they can put it on....
-------------------------------
art - 2009-01-25 19:06:20
ive come to the conclusion that the majority of your customers are chiselers! if i worked there, i wouldnt last cause i would say to each one, "whatta ya trying to pull here?" and snotty things like that! you have the patience of a saint!
-------------------------------
Holly - 2009-01-25 23:26:01
sounds as bad as mail order, where custs get upset because you won't refund them for a missing item, from an order 2 months ago, or worse a guy who got pissed at me when I wouldn't honor an expired price, from a catalog that was 10 MONTHS OLD!!. I tell you, the economy has people so tight it's cutting off the blood supply to their brains if they don't think businesses know what's up. sheesh
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-01-25 23:56:50
For your bricks, I would put a couple into the back of your vehicle every day for the next couple of weeks. You'll lose a little gas mileage for the next couple of weeks but carrying two out a day is a lot simpler than hauling all of 'em out at once!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-01-26 00:56:23
I'm with Terri, I'd have the movers move them for you! Otherwise, The Rat Queen has offered to help you move stuff too, so there is another answer too!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group