ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-26 ... 6:15 p.m.

previous - next

Closing stores!

I'm sure by now everyone has heard that the Depot of Home is closing stores. They are closing the Expo stores, which are more of a "design" type, higher end store. We have HD tv at work, and the HD does NOT stand for High Density. Frank, our fearless leader, was on HD TV today, telling us all about the closings.

Expo had a projected $80 MILLION dollar loss for this year, which is why they closed the stores. Frank said, instead of flailing around, trying to keep them open, and picking up the slack somewhere else, it made more sense just to close them.

I have to admit, he is right. Why hold on to stores that are losing money? The corporate officers also have had their salaries frozen, so they will not be receiving any raises, in order that the Depot of Home hourly personnel can still get raises. I am grateful to have a job, and since the store I work at is one of the largest and biggest and busiest in Southern California, I pretty much am assured I won't be laid off. Well, at least if I behave myself at work! Heh.

Today I had to work out in the garden and I was glad I had my jacket along. It was only about 60 degrees (yeah, I know, ONLY 60) and I had the added task of babysitting. The guy I worked with yesterday (We'll call him Pete) was out in garden with me, and I was to report to the head cashiers if he left the register when he wasn't supposed to, or if he took overly long for his break or lunch. I KNEW they noticed!

There is also one female who does this, and instead of scheduling her at returns, where she can "disappear" at will, they are keeping her on the front end. Heh. She has wondered why she isn't scheduled in returns any more, and I figured it out.

I took my new way home tonight at 5:30, and hit the downtown traffic. It was not fun. The traffic actually goes faster on the other freeway, but that is just a bad time of night. I won't have to deal with that much more, which makes me grateful, too.

Time to eat. I work early tomorrow, off on Wednesday, and then late on Thursday, so it's like I'll have two days off! And I have Sunday off, which is a rare occurence. I can pick up my key and do my walkthrough in my new place! Woot!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

9 comments so far

psis - 2009-01-27 03:02:23
I'm relieved to hear your store won't be affected by layoffs!
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-01-27 04:11:39
I was concerned when I heard the news about the Depot of Home. Glad to hear you're not in imminent danger of becoming unemployed!
-------------------------------
Katherine - 2009-01-27 04:14:18
I'm glad your store is safe--I thought of you the minute I heard HD was closing stores. Congrats on the new digs, it sounds ideal. Yay for jobs and new apartments!!! K.
-------------------------------
starkitten01 - 2009-01-27 06:07:41
I saw the news today about the closings and lay-off's, and instantly thought of you with concern. I am very glad and relieved to hear that your job is safe! And thank you for your note as well, it was much appreciated at the moment! <3
-------------------------------
Ingrid - 2009-01-27 15:07:20
I, too, thought of you as soon as I heard HD was closing stores and having massive lay-offs. I am relieved to hear you are 'safe'!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-27 20:14:44
I thought of you too in reference to the HD stores but I thought they would probably keep you since you have been so helpful in all areas of the store and caught the bad guys...nice that your move is coming up so quickly and good luck if you can get your friend hooked up with your old apt....wouldn't that be great? Sounds like a win-win all the way around for you, your friend and the landlord.
-------------------------------
Joan - 2009-01-27 20:44:34
You wonder why people who go to extreme lengths to slack off, I guess they don't think anyone will notice. Oh by the way I'm commenting from work LOL...better get my butt moving!
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2009-01-27 23:04:57
And it's the slackers that cry the loudest when they get layed off.
-------------------------------
mz. em - 2009-02-19 01:11:56
Don't you hate complaining about the weather when where you came from is a whole lot colder?
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group