ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-08 ... 6:16 p.m.

previous - next

Going to work early

I didn't forget to set my clock ahead an hour, but I did read the time wrong on my schedule, and as a result, I was two hours early for work. Well, better early than late. I just came back home and had some more coffee and a chat with bluesleepy before I went back to work.

And when I got back, I was told that, had I hung around a few more minutes, that I could have stayed and worked early because FOUR people called in sick. FOUR. On a Sunday. Everywhere I've ever worked, you had better be on death's door if you called in sick on a Sunday.

So it was busy for us cashiers because there were so few of us. That was ok, it just made the time go faster, and I was out in garden all day, so it was even nicer.

The big push lately at the Depot is to get customers to sign up for a credit card, usable only at the Depot. I understand it's a way for the corporation to make some money, but in these scary economic times, another credit card is NOT what people need. I ask a few of them if they are interested, but I don't push anyone at all. Most of the responses I get are that people don't need or want another card. I can't say I blame them.

So now I'm pretty tired. This is probably a good way to beat the effects of losing an hour's sleep.. to get up early, after going to bed late the night before, and then sleeping well tonight. By tomorrow I should be feeling great! I hope.

It seems my accountant was working late on my taxes last night. I was hoping for a bounteous refund, but I think I will be lucky to get enough to cover his fee. Bummer. Still better than having to pay in, I suppose. Not much I can do about it anyway!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

orgami - 2009-03-09 01:53:16
wow working in a garden and a cool store!! its just warming up in North Bay had a week off poor no food kid coming on March break food bank here I come again we have a soup kitchen and Sally Supper if need be on Sunday at the Salvation Army Things are okay well not Loris dad has cancer going for chemo hes a gruff but loveable guy and Loris mom tells her she loves her now when she calls which she never ever did Cats are wonderful fat and fun still at the same apartment we are Im still making plaster stuff and listening to CBC intelligent nerd station Snow banks this year were seven feet high and Lake Superior was frozen over mostly most is had happened in decades and decades all that damned minus weather for a month or two straight almost But its melting fast all of it God summer come along spring you too glad to read you are doing very well my freind Chloe my teen daughter works Returns at Zellers in her town Im sure that must be interesting also
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-03-09 03:20:20
Good thing you live close enough to just run home, but I wish you could have gotten those extra hours. Funny how people just don't understand how many folks are out of work and will happily take their job if they screw up too many times!
-------------------------------
Mary - 2009-03-09 05:27:48
I think I've had more people sick in my office this year than I ever have before. When they're out sick they don't get paid, so they're highly motivated to work, and even then they're calling in sick. Which I encourage. I do not want to catch their illnesses. Your accountant should be able to talk to you about how to get a refund next year, if that's what you're wanting. If he/she doesn't, look for somebody else who will.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-03-09 17:12:29
Wow, that's surprising that four people called in sick! But I much prefer busy days to slow ones; it makes the time fly by. Hopefully you're having better weather than we are right now -- it's cold and gloomy and rainy. But maybe it means that my bulbs will bloom soon!
-------------------------------
Mary - 2009-03-09 23:52:46
If you ever want somebody to take a second look and explain it to you and help with planning, you know where to find me!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group