ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-12-10 ... 7:15 p.m.

previous - next

A few weird customers!

I had an interesting day at work today. I worked out in the garden today, and it wasn't very busy. We did sell a lot of poinsettias, but not really much else. A lot of people come through our registers to avoid the lines of the ones inside.

We have been getting daily deliveries of poinsettias (they are everywhere in the store and garden areas, and in the tree lot!) and today they also brought the regular plants and flowers that we normally have. I started unwrapping them and putting them out because I was just too bored to stand around doing nothing. That was fun, and different, and something to do.

We had one young mother as a customer who had two small children with her. She had a boy who seemed to be about 3, and a girl who had to be about 15 months or so. The boy was whining the entire time they were in the store. I finally asked him what was wrong, and he started crying! Like really wailing! I apologized to his mother and just walked away. Dang!

He finally got interested in the puddles of water that are always around in the garden. When the plant people water, it tends to pool in places. I try to push it out the door so the wind and sun will dry it up, but no matter how much I pushed out the door, it kept coming back, so I just gave up. Well, the little boy finally had stomped in enough puddles that his pants were wet up to his knees. Heh.

This afternoon, Norma and one of the ASMs came out. Friday is a "walkthrough" by some of the bigwigs of the company, so the powers that be around the place want everything looking great. They told me to clean, and not be too picky about what I was throwing out. So I straightened things up and found a whole shopping bag of plant food samples. I asked Norma what she wanted me to do with them, and she told me to toss them out, since they had been there two weeks ago and obviously the customers weren't getting them.

So... OK. I had a customer and her husband around at the time, and they had been asking me about the poinsettia prices. I mentioned to her about the poinsettia "trees" we had in square pots that were marked $24.95 that were actually ringing up for $14.95. I told her I had asked management about the difference in price, and they told me it was supposed to be $14.95. But with the price tag on them that said $24.95 no one was buying them. She bought 4. She was so excited to get them, and kept thanking me for telling her about them. I asked her if she needed any plant food, and she said yes, so I dumped all the samples in a bag and put them in her cart. She was thrilled. It's nice to be able to make someone's day!

After they left, a guy came running into garden and started pushing another guy around, swearing and grabbing his shirt, telling us that he was a thief and we needed to call the police. I called security, my partner called security, and so did the head cashier who was out there. None of us realized any one else had called them, but it didn't take long for them to get there and end it. Phew! That was kind of scary, but there was no way any of us were willing to get involved. Phone calls I can do. Heh.

Then I had a man come through my line who was pretty scraggly looking. He had a huge unkempt beard, and one of the things he bought was a dozen red roses. I remarked that "someone will be getting a nice surprise" and he said "Yeah, and if I get lucky, they will be worth the price!" I tried not to laugh too hard, but the guy was just amazingly funny.

I also had the lady with the cartload of stuff 3 minutes before I was supposed to close who couldn't decide if she wanted things or not, and then lost her ID in her purse somewhere. Why does this always happen at the end of the day when I don't have a lot of time?? Didn't matter, I punched out on time anyway.

And I left the garden looking pretty good. I hope Norma goes back to check it before she leaves for the night.

I did a bit of shopping at the Depot before I left. I still had a $15 store credit that I won from the cashier olympics, so I bought a bunch of stuff that I wanted, and only had to pay 13 cents for it! Woot!!

Tonight I'm just relaxing. I need to spend some time getting things put away from Kid being here. She slept on the inflatable mattress I got this summer, and she said it was pretty comfortable. Unfortunately, I doubt that I will ever be able to fit it back in it's box, so I will need to figure out how and where I'm going to store it. Oh well.. that's tomorrow's problem.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

Diane - 2008-12-11 12:08:34
You make Home Depot sound fun. Maybe I'll get a job there too. Lord knows I need one.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-12-11 14:32:05
See you at the Fleet around noon for lunch today?
-------------------------------
onewetleg - 2008-12-11 16:41:07
it is fleet week?? I saw a real live sailor standing in Downtown KFalls on Monday. He was wearing the bell bottom pants, peacoat and white sailor hat. He wasn't handsome, though. Looked shady. Sort of ratlike. All right well, you ladies have fun and don't get in to any trouble. You know how soldiers can be, lol! Hugs, JJ
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-12-11 21:04:47
I wish you worked at my Depot of Home....so I could see you.... Hope you had a great day and good luck with Friday's walkaround.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group