ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-26 ... 4:37 p.m.

previous - next

First day of "work"

So Mr Fix-It did get the A/C in last night, but it's been so nice today that I never even turned it on. It will be a last resort for those days when it's over 90 in the house... my house cools off really quick once the sun goes down. It was a very lovely 70 in here this morning when I got up.

I changed my phone number yesterday, and I knew it would get messed up at the Depot of Home. I left it on someone's voice mail, and that same someone called me this morning to tell me that I needed to come in today. I was kind of surprised, because I was not sure at all that the voice mail had been heard.

Turns out I was right. Poolagirl called me this morning to tell me that someone from the Depot had called her because my phone number didn't work. It was the same person who's voice mail I'd left the message on. She called me right after 9; I was prepared to call them at 10 if they hadn't called me. Heh.

I had to be at the Depot at 1. I left here at 12:34, just a few minutes behind schedule. I'm not ever sure what traffic is going to be like, since the Depot is right across the street from a sports arena. I made it in plenty of time; I got there with about 8 minutes to spare. Phew! I do want to find a different route just in case there are events at the arena the same day I work. I'm sure that will make a big difference!

So I signed all my tax forms, and the forms to say I got the forms, and a few more forms, and then I was good to go. She gave me information about orientation, which is Saturday and Sunday in Escondido. They will pay me 40 some cents per mile to get there and back, and my regular hourly rate for the two days, plus two hours for the time I was there today (which in reality was only 36 minutes, but I GET two hours!) so I will have a decent first check.

Plus, she asked if there were any departments I would like to work in other than being a cashier, and I told her I like to work with plants, so they will kind of ease me into that training schedule, too. Woot! My next two weeks I will be working 20 hours per week in training, and once I'm done with that, I will (supposedly) know everything. HAH!! But talking with the person today, I was quite pleased with the way the Depot seems to treat their employees, and I'm really excited about starting work. Plus, I'm getting bored sitting around the house, although it's been a nice break.

And I forgot to ask if I get a discount. Sheesh!

So since I was still being paid once I left there, I did what any normal person would do.. I went shopping. The Depot is in a fairly big mall, so I went to Ross and bought some shirts (since I can't wear T-shirts for work any more) and then I went to Target and got some stuff for the kitchen, like ice cube trays. Nice to have ice in my water now and then! I left the mall just when I should have been leaving, so I figured I actually didn't spend that much, since I had been getting paid that whole time.

While I was there, Carol called and said she has a tax auditor coming in next week and she is busy with him next week, so we will have to delay me working for her for a while. That's fine, I'm not so sure I want to start two new jobs the same week. Plus I'm only working half days at the Depot for two weeks, so I still have my afternoons free.

Really, I do need to check on my discount. I need to get some bookshelves so I can get my "office" in order here. I suppose I will find out all about that in orientation this weekend. I feel silly getting so excited about a job, but I am excited. I get to learn something new! Woot!!

Even my bossman from the museum called today, to tell me that he's waiting for someone to get back to him before he can call me to come in, but the real reason he called was to thank me. The cord that connects his handset to the base of his phone was broken. There wasn't a new cord to be found, and I had to tape it to his phone when I was using it for calls. I picked one up at a hardware store for about $3, and he was thrilled that I had thought to do it. Purely selfish reasons, I can tell you.

So I had a busy phone day, but quite enjoyable. And I was glad to hear I have tomorrow off, because I really need to do some laundry. The laundromat is only a few blocks away, but not nearly as convenient as it used to be, having it in my kitchen. The first major purchase I am making is for an apartment-sized washer and dryer. I had them in the 70s, and I'm not sure if they make them anymore, but I'm going to look around. Much more convenient!! And they pay for themselves fairly quickly, too!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

16 comments so far

requiel - 2008-06-27 00:32:10
Sweet! I hear it's a great place to work, I hope you enjoy it. The garden area would be a great place to work!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-06-27 00:41:54
they still make the washer and dryer dealie for the apt. its one on top of the other, usually the washer on top and the dryer on the bottom. they are pretty small tho. congrats on the job stuff!!
-------------------------------
Rebekah - 2008-06-27 00:47:56
my friend's husband worked at the depot for homes... he got stock options, too.

you're going to do better than anyone else transplanted to CA this year!
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-27 01:04:21
That sounds great! I had no idea the Depot of Home was such a great place to work. It is pretty neat to be learning and doing something new. Woot!
-------------------------------
Ing - 2008-06-27 01:25:22
Will you be sharing this discount for the DoH? I'd like to wild in the flower department! ;) I'm glad you got a job and your afternoons will be free for the next 2 weeks.
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-06-27 02:45:50
Congrats on your job! I knew you would get it with the with your store management background. Sounds like fun for you to work with the plants-- Does San Diego have any scratch and dent places to get a washer and dryer like you'd want??
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-06-27 02:51:26
Congratulations on your new HD job. That's pretty good for part time...bennies and sick days?
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-06-27 03:36:44
They DO make apt size w/d's! Check them out at HD!! They have quite a few styles there to pick from. So happy your job is going forward- that's so exciting! As poolie says, WOOTNESS!
-------------------------------
poolie - 2008-06-27 05:10:23
We also call Depot of Home the Hundred Dollar Store.
-------------------------------
momonroof - 2008-06-27 10:43:47
Oooo, I hope you get the Gardening Dept! So much better than being stuck inside handling... nuts. (I was trying to think of something filthy. Nuts is all I got this morning.) My Dad has one of those stacked washer-dryer dealios at the cottage, fairly new, so they're still makin' 'em. Good luck on your new job!
-------------------------------
For-Tart - 2008-06-27 13:29:56
Sounds like your new life is off to a great start. I like stories with happy beginings. And endings. Beats grinding meat in the frozen north any day. (I used to work in the meat dept. of a small store when I was in high school. I know all about cleaning the grinder and the cutting tables. Hated it.)
-------------------------------
Kathy - 2008-06-27 13:35:16
From zero to way too many jobs! You go Nance!
-------------------------------
Aristoccraic Red - 2008-06-27 15:23:56
I've seen those combo washer things when Husband and I were shopping for ours. I believe I seen them at...Home Depot! HA!
-------------------------------
capitolady - 2008-06-27 18:06:02
Wow! Plant lady, may have to ask advice. My sister works for Home Depot out of GA. She is a plumbing supervisor or something like that. Too many jobs! They know a good thing when they see it.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-27 19:32:19
That would be such a great fit, if they put you in the gardening department. It sounds like this new job at HD is going to work out well for you!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-28 00:14:30
You can definitely still get the apartment-sized washer and dryer. If you have hookups at your place you can get the stacked laundry centers - but if not, you can get a washer that hooks up to your sink. I don't think you can get a dryer that uses a regular power outlet, though. They're all 220 connections, far as I know. They're not cheap, either, but they do save you money in the long run.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group