ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-27 ... 6:46 p.m.

previous - next

Drama and intrigue at the Depot!

I was talking to one of my neighbors last night and he asked if I'd seen any possums around lately!! I assured him that I had. He said he saw a family within the courtyard.. actually he said they were in the laundry room! They totally freaked him out! We had a good laugh over that!!

Today I worked in returns. It's been a while since I was there, and I wasn't scheduled there, but I switched with Blue so she could work in garden. I sure am glad I did this, because there have been some interesting scuttlebutt going around.

Blue was out there with an older cashier, Maria, who likes to "advise" us younger (not in years, but in time at the Depot) cashiers on how to do things. Blue told her today that she didn't need to be told what to do. So not only did Blue come and complain to me about Maria, but Maria came and complained to me about Blue! Even Bob, one of the other cashiers, was complaining about Blue... nothing specific, and he never really complains, but he lets you know when he thinks people aren't doing what they should.

The really interesting thing about it is that one of the head cashiers was eating lunch when a lot of this complaining was going on, and she made a comment about people who are "too bossy when they have no right to be" and so I know that the HCs know what's up. I know I am ok, and the head cashiers like me (at least from what I know) and I'm not in a position to be bossy to anyone. I even try not to complain, and try to stay quiet when I'm getting it from both sides like I was today.

Blue had had enough by the end of the day, and told me that she wants to get full time so that she can transfer to another store. She is SURE she will be the first one to be given full time, because she was hired before I was. But from what I heard (from someone who knows), that's not necessarily true. BUT we will just have to wait and see. A cashier's personality and willingness to work anywhere can make all the difference for the people who have to work with said cashier.

I had a few customers today who just tried my patience. One man INSISTED I give him cash, which is a big red flag for me. He had an expensive drill that he was returning, even though he bought it on a special order basis. I could only give him store credit, but he had to have cash, so he went to special services for his refund. Guess what? The drill that was on his receipt had already been returned (computers are great!) and the manager in SS refused to refund him anything. She was sure that he stole the drill and was trying to return it for cash. Plus he was drunk, and I was more than happy to turn him over to SS. Why do people get that drunk at noon?? Sheesh!

Plus there was the guy and his dad who drove up with a van full of insulation and insisted that we come out and unload it for them. Ummm no. We do have other customers. I suggested they get a flat cart and load things up on it, since we have to have the product INSIDE the store to return it. The dad was not happy about that, but the son was OK with it. That falls into the "not my job" category.

Another man had made a purchase online and insisted we return it for him. No. I asked about that one, because it's the first time I've run into that. He said that it should be up to us to send it back, and that he called and someone told him we would... even though he had a pre-paid UPS shipping label. So he left with his purchase and was headed for the UPS store. Heh.

But there were a lot of pleasant customers today, and most of them were happy that their return went so smoothly. I'm hoping a couple of them will go online and mention my name so I can keep up with Blue on the Homer award front. But I still have my "cashier of the month" pin from cashier olympics and she doesn't. Heh. At least there's something I did better than her!

No, there's no competing there at all!

OK, so now it's time to get my work clothes off and relax. My freaked out neighbor said he might just come over and have some tequila with me tonight. Yes, there is still some left, more than the two of us can drink in one night. Well.. if we want to survive tomorrow, that is.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

2 comments so far

bluesleepy - 2009-03-28 04:05:44
Wooo!!! I sure hope you make full-time before Blue does. You're such a hard worker, and you are willing to go anywhere. I'm with you about people getting drunk early in the day. I just cannot FATHOM that.
-------------------------------
zucchini breath - 2009-03-28 13:48:30
Getting drunk in the morning makes the rest of the day go by SOOO fast! Or Maybe he was up all night? :) Cheers
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group