ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-08-28 ... 1:54 p.m.

previous - next

Meeting new dogs and cats!

I did not get to work out in the garden department last night like I was scheduled. It was really busy inside the main store, so they kept me in there "for a while" which ended up being all day. Oh well. I like being out in Garden, but being out there until 8 isn't all it's cracked up to be. If I'm stripping cash out of my register, it's hard to get someone to come and pick it up, and if I need change or anything else, it's hard to get that, too. I don't mind all that much, at least I have a job!

There are quite a few new cashiers there, too. Most of them are kids who need a part time job while they go to school. They have to be at least 18, so they really aren't KIDS, but they are kids to me if I'm old enough to be their parent, which for the most part, I am. I would have to guess I'm likely the oldest cashier they have. Doesn't bother me... and I don't mind my bosses being younger than me, either. Just give me a few years.....

Today I went to meet some creatures. Two dogs, and two cats I will be sitting for next weekend. The dogs are both German Shepherds, and the cats are both calicos, one long haired and one short haired. I must admit it's a pretty hairy house, with 4 animals in it!

The dogs immediately glommed their noses all over me, which kind of embarrassed the owner, but was quite OK with me. After all, this way they will know me when I walk in their house next time, and the owners aren't home. I don't believe I will have trouble with that, but I have numbers to call just in case. The dogs have an outdoor run where they will go when I'm at work, and crates for if I just need to leave for an hour or so.

The house is GORGEOUS!! The kitchen is huge and open, and there is an awesome outdoor deck on the upper level where I can sit and have my morning coffee (as per the owner's suggestion). I definitely will do that, because from that deck, I can see the ocean. Definitely I will be out there a good amount of the time, especially if I can pick up wireless internet out there! Hee!!

I work early enough in the day to be able to enjoy the sunset out there, too. I really am looking forward to this one! Plus I don't believe the dogs get up at the crack of dawn, either. THAT will be a welcome change!

I went from there to the museum, but before I went inside I had to get all the hair off my clothes. Man, there was a lot of it! I went in and got Poolagirl and we had our weekly lunch meeting, which today was inside. We cured half the world's ills, and managed to have a few good giggles along with it. Thanks, Poolie!

I got an email today from a freecycler, who had responded to a want-ad I put in for some picture frames. She had three of them, all brand new, and all I had to do was pick them up! Woot! They were pretty close to me, too. On the way home, I decided to stop at the Farmer's Market that is on 32nd and University every Thursday afternoon.

I found a bale of turtles.. just stone ones, with little polished stones embedded in them:

a bale of turtles

There was food to eat, and sample. I sampled some litchies, that look kind of like eyeballs, all white and kind of slimy, but are incredibly sweet and sticky. There were tables of produce, like these tomatoes:

farmers market tomatoes

and two stands of flowers:

Photobucket

There were also booths with cheese, fresh fish, jewelry, clothes.. I'm sure there was more, because some of the people were just getting there to set up their stands. But I didn't want to hang around that long because it was getting pretty warm. It wasn't a big market, but was set up in one of the local drugstore pharmacies parking lot.

I will probably spend tonight finishing my Pogo challenges for the week, and reading another of Jodi Picoult's books, Vanishing Acts. The days here are definitely getting shorter, which means they are cooling off a bit more, and earlier. And I can see the mountains behind my house a little bit more clearly a bit earlier in the day. I am really looking forward to fall and winter, and the changes that will come with the change of season. Something new to experience!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

15 comments so far

Poolie - 2008-08-29 00:12:11
Thanks for having lunch, Beanie. And the market is wonderful, eh?
-------------------------------
princesscee - 2008-08-29 00:46:58
The turtles are adorable! I love your second jobish of petsitting. I need to find one of those for my psycho cat. Jodi Picoult is good. I've read most of hers, and the one about the sisters was really good, along with Plain Truth, I think its called.
-------------------------------
art - 2008-08-29 01:17:17
how many turtles in a bale of turtles?
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-08-29 01:28:19
FreeCycle is HUGE and AWESOME here too! Love it love it love it! I've gotten rid of a lot of stuff, and picked up a few deals too.
-------------------------------
Diane - 2008-08-29 02:00:43
You sound so happy lately. I'm happy for you.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-08-29 02:40:05
Uh, I hate to be the bearer of bad tidings, but ummmm...there are no changes of season in San Diego. It just gets warmer or colder, but otherwise, it's mostly the same every day. But if you really do need some Fall weather, you can go for a drive up to Julian. Grab Poolie and the Rat Queen, M.Rose can show you the bestest places up there. Make sure you stop at Dudley's bakery, and take some butter and honey to put on your bread when you stop to picnic! http://www.dudleysbakery.com/
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2008-08-29 02:44:55
well slap me silly and send me home to my momma with a note pinned to me! I kept reading all this stuff about you in Poolie's diary and kept wondering when you were ever going to post again. I knew you were busy getting your place and getting a job, but come on already. Then all of a sudden I saw your name highlighted in someone elses diary and clicked on it and you had an entry up. HUH??? Guess who never changed your name on her buddy list? Umm, would that be the same dummy that came up with the name in the first place? Yup.
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-08-29 02:55:04
I hope you can pet sit at that house for a week some time--sounds lovely! Have fun
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-08-29 03:46:13
Oy, my MIL would go crazy for those turtles! Turtles are her 'thing'. I adore Poolie's writing crown, I shall have to add one to my writing hat collection. Got a lot of cool writing hats but no crown! Thanks for the inspiration! ~LA
-------------------------------
sduckie - 2008-08-29 04:01:16
How do you get the pet-sitting jobs? Sounds like a nice house! You definitely won't be having a Wisconsin winter there!!!!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-08-29 04:06:35
YAY for another awesome pet-sitting job!! And that farmer's market looks awesome. Lychees are Kurt's favorite -- he eats tons of them when he goes to the Chinese buffet.
-------------------------------
margie - 2008-08-29 16:09:04
Did you get some of those green tomatoes and have fried green tomatoes? Oh, how I would love some right now. And pictures, please, from the deck as you are having your coffee.
-------------------------------
stepfordtart - 2008-08-29 16:18:59
When I was pregnant with Jooj, I craved lychees like crazy. We had a 24 hour supermarket near where we lived and I would lumber round there in the wee small hours for my eyeball fix! s x
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-08-29 19:05:25
I loved all the pictures. Petsitting sounds like a great job to have on occasion. Hope you get to do it often. The house sounds gorgeous and what a view you will have to enjoy. Hope you have a good weekend. Look for more of Jodi's books. One of my favorites is called Saving Grace...I think.... can't quite recall the name now but the book is wonderful
-------------------------------
For-Tart - 2008-08-29 21:03:51
Who is your football team this year?
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group