ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-05 ... 3:33 p.m.

previous - next

Poolie's party and a flower

I went to Poolie's party yesterday, and had a great time. There was enough food for probably 10 people, but there were just five of us. Sometimes the smaller parties are much more fun. We sat and talked, and laughed, and ate. What more could one ask for?

Yesterday I noticed that my flower bud on the tall cactus was getting bigger, so I took a couple pictures....

Photobucket

Photobucket

Today, I was greeted by this:

Photobucket

Photobucket

How totally beautiful, and what a pretty (and fragrant) start to my day!

I also have this potted plant in my front yard...

Photobucket

I can't move the heavy pot, so I guess it will stay there. Some day when it's not quite so sunny I will try to pull all the dead stuff off and see what I can do with it.

I finally finished all the training things I had to do at work. My last program was two and a half hours long. It's hard to sit still on a folding chair for that long. I even got up and stood while I listened to it. Sheesh!

But then I had about 45 minutes left, and nothing to do. None of the managers were in the office, so I figured I would amuse myself. The Depot of Home has a page called "My Apron" that is an informative type employee page. I log onto that page to get my training applications, so I thought I would see what else was on there.

OK, so there were a lot of things I don't know what to do with. But I managed to find the insurance part of it, and signed up for my insurance! Woot! It won't be effective until September 28th or something like that, but I found all the plans, and compared them, and decided which one I liked best. Hopefully I can stay healthy until then!

After fooling around with that, and taking my time writing down my schedule, it was just about time to leave. I read all the notices by the time clock to use up a few minutes, and then punched out and went out to the store to look around for some bookshelf things.

It seems the wood I really liked was not the price I thought it was, so I looked at something else that was a bit more reasonable, and a bit sturdier. I checked out the cement blocks this morning, so I got an idea of what I want to use in the corners and on the ends. Woot! I will probably end up spending half my check on it, but I do need something to get rid of all these boxes.

Room by room, I will get it done. I will probably wait until Kid is here for her visit, and then have a little dinner party. She will be here in just over two weeks! I'm sure I can get things done by then. I hope. Heh.

And I have my schedule for the week before Kid comes down. I work one night until 8, and one until 9, but I work midday the rest of the times. That's ok with me, at least I'm working. I requested a lot of time off or early, short shifts for the week Kid is here, so I guess we'll see what I get. I should know by late next week, so I have a week to plan things to do with Kid and Winnie. I really want to take them to the Zoo for a day! They also want to go to Mexico as long as they are this close, and that would be fun too. And there are plenty of other things to do around here that I'm sure they will enjoy.... like this:

Photobucket

I just hung around the house today, worked on a few things and even watched a little TV. I sure don't watch much any more, since the TV is in another room from the computer, not that that's a bad thing. I never really did watch much, so it's not like I really miss it.

Besides, there's too much other stuff to do to sit and watch TV. There is another website associated with the Depot that has all the other benefits, like money off certain products or services and I haven't even gotten to that yet. Maybe I'll check that out this afternoon!

I need to hit the sack early tonight. By the time I got to sleep last night, it was pretty late.... But definitely a fun party!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Rebekah - 2008-07-06 01:35:47
I'm so glad the Depot Abode is working out.

my friend meem did boards and cinder blocks and it really looked good. i think she did that with a row of records, too... and i think she had blocks with holes big enough for cds.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-07-06 03:16:02
That is one happy cactus! Holy moley!
-------------------------------
momonroof - 2008-07-06 13:02:27
I thought that was John Stamos with a surf board for a minute there... drool...
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-07-06 16:39:26
Hope you got to the coupon section of Home Depot so you can take advantage of specials. I expect this next week will be busy and you will be a pro at cashiering by the end of the week. Good luck...
-------------------------------
wilberteets - 2008-07-06 20:20:49
What a beautiful flower!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group