ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-09-10 ... 5:02 p.m.

previous - next

The good and the bad and the in between

The last day of work before two days off is always a long one. And so it was with today. It wasn't very busy, so the time kind of crept along. I chipped a tooth during my morning break, and that didn't help the day along at all. It isn't a bad chip, and it only hurts when I think about it. I'm just glad my dental benefits start at the end of the month. Just in time.

There was one bright spot during the day today, when Bob was down at one end of the register area, and was shouting to customers that he was open and there was no waiting there. One customer was trying to get there fast, and he shoved his cart and it went sailing... careening along past all the registers, until it hit a table full of carpenter's pencils. I giggled over that for the next ten minutes!

It was while I was waiting to be sent on my last break of the day that happened. Finally I just asked to go, because I really needed to sit down for a bit. Funny how you get used to having a break every two hours, and when it goes over for an hour, you really can feel it.

One of the head cashiers asked why I was on my break so early. ?? I started at 8, was off at 4:30, I didn't think 3:30 was that early for a break. I went back when I felt better, and finished out my shift, counted my drawer, walked to the back and punched out. On my way out, Jason asked why I was leaving, since I was supposed to work until 6:30. I said no, I started at 4:30.

Norma had TOLD me to work 8-4:30... so I assumed that's what I was working. They had me written on the schedule today for 8-6:30, which would be 2 hours of overtime. While I wouldn't mind getting the extra pay for those 2 hours, it would have been nice if someone mentioned to me that I was supposed to stay.... besides, I was under the impression that there was NO OT to be taken, mostly because of the big sign on the schedule board that says, NO OVERTIME!!

So I don't know if I was supposed to stay or not. I offered to, but one of the head cashiers said that I should just go, and not to worry about it, because we are NOT supposed to be working overtime... and that's also besides the fact that I'm still listed as PART TIME. I will work OT as long as I can be full-time, but to schedule me for overtime, but pay me part time benefits? No thanks.

Now that I'm home, I decided it's such a nice day that I'm going to wash my car (which is filthy) as long as the sun is shining and it's such a nice day out. Supper can wait.

In other news, Dude texted me today that he feels like he's going to flunk out of school unless he quits work, because he's either working or in school. He apparently needs the money, and isn't saving anything, but spending everything he earns, and doesn't want to dip into his savings just for living expenses. I'm not sure what he needs, since he's not paying rent, and he gets food at home for free, too. He is so totally different from Kid, who by the end of the first semester of school had blown most of her money.. by taking it out of the bank and spending it, and he won't take anything out. I suggested he just cut back on work a bit and not worry about money. He can build up his savings again during the breaks and during summer.

But I remember at the beginning of the last two school years, he complained that having AP classes and having to work was too much, and he made it through that. I think he just needs to cut his hours until he can get into the swing of juggling class time, work time and study time. I suggested he eat at home and get money from his friends for gas. I think he wants me to send him money weekly, which I just can't do for several reasons. Life sure can be tough.

Now... my feet are rested, it's time to go out and scrub the car...

previous - next

Kiss Me!

8 comments so far

Terri T. - 2008-09-11 19:55:38
I echo the other comments. Dude needs to figure out how to live on what he has...it isn't your job to pay for his "standard of living". Just keep reminding yourself how hard you are working to pay your own bills on your own. This is part of learning to grow up....
-------------------------------
art - 2008-09-11 01:00:22
dude needs to learn how to handle money, and seems like hes been thru this before. he will make it ok.
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-09-11 01:49:56
Tell dude he should apply for a grant for next semester--it is free money--no repaying it back!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-09-11 02:49:06
I've heard the dude's story at my end too - from each of my girls in turn. They still take turns. But there's a limit to how far mom can and will go to help them. Yee-haw.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-09-11 03:18:47
It's one thing to help your kids meet NEEDS. It's quite another thing to help them with WANTS. I'd personally tell him that the First National Bank of Mom is closed. He'll survive.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-09-11 04:20:29
He needs to give it a full semester before he decides something.
-------------------------------
Mary - 2008-09-11 05:18:17
Michael is in sort of the same spot as Dude, only Michael doesn't have an actual job. He is wailing about the money going out, but is always too busy to go apply for any of the jobs we know are available on campus. Sucks to be him, is my attitude. I work my tail off to pay his tuition. He can put in a little effort to buy his pizza. Hmph.
-------------------------------
DSis - 2008-09-14 00:48:14
Tell Dude to take it one semester at a time. The time/managing money thing can be tough. He should TALK WITH HIS ADVISOR! Step-son never would do that, and says now he wishes he had. Advisors do not want to see kids drop out, they won�t want to lose his talents, and at the very least, can offer empathy, strategies, resources, etc. The best thing Dude can do is develop a good relationship with his advisor, and if he doesn't like him/her, then ask for someone different. Advisors are the "hunting guides" on the diploma safari.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group