ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-02-27 ... 5:27 p.m.

previous - next

An early day at work

I worked this morning at 5:30, opening returns. I just love this shift when I work in returns. The first 90 minutes or so are pretty slow, and then it picks up enough that before you know it, it's time for lunch and your day is over half gone. Unfortunately, that shift has been taken by someone who really doesn't want to give it up! I would even work early every day just to do it.

And yes, today I had the few people who I thought were cheating, although not as many as the last time I worked there. One man really just did not get his way. He purchased a $250+ item through special services at another Depot, and brought it in to return it. The rule is, anything from SS needs to be returned to the store that sold it. I told him he could get store credit, but he wanted cash. He didn't want to go back to the other store, he wanted CASH from US. Makes me wonder why. But I sent him on his way, and he was really unhappy. Oh BOO HOO!

It got really busy at one point before my lunch relief came in, and I had the DH from garden do a few suspends for me. He really had no clue, but I advised him, and I am confident I did what the head cashiers would have. Heh. Maybe I would take an HC job if it came up. Something to think about.....

Anyway, I asked the guy in garden who I'm replacing on Sunday to leave me a list of what he wants me to do. He said if he was there, he would be moving stones with the fork lift, which I'm not trained to use. So my VERY IMPORTANT job on Sunday is to water the plants. Heh. I think I can handle that. Secondary to that is customer service, which I'm sure I will be doing more than watering. It sounds like a fun day to me. If it rains, I won't have any work to do!

The afternoon in returns was equally as busy, but mostly it was spent cleaning up all the junk that came in during the morning. We must have taken 6 or 7 huge carts of wood over to lumber, and there were at least 4 packed carts of plumbing stuff. Usually returns are paint and flooring.... I wonder what it is that makes everyone return lumber and plumbing on the same day.

It was nice to be able to leave work at 2, and not have to go over to the DMV for an hour or two. I came home and immediately started my laundry, which was finished 2 hours later. I just sat at the computer and listened for the machines to stop running. MUCH easier than the laundromat!

And another early day tomorrow morning. Not quite as early; I start tomorrow at 7. It will be nice to get out early. I would like to pick up some coffee on my way to work, but I was told today that we can't have any coffee at our registers, due to someone spilling hot chocolate all over one of the keyboards. Moron. So I am faced with the choice of putting my coffee in a water bottle, or getting up early enough to drink it at home before I leave. I'll see what time I get up in the morning! I'm pretty tired, and I might just be in bed by 7:30... I don't know how they expect people to work early in the morning with NO coffee!

OOHHHH!! I have it! When I was in Tombstone, I bought a bunch of chocolate covered coffee beans. That would surely be a fair tradeoff for hot coffee! Heh. Where there's a will.....

Now I can't wait for work tomorrow. Ha!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

3 comments so far

DSis - 2009-02-28 12:45:25
My favorite candy -- chocolate covered coffee beans -- which you introduced me to many years ago!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-02-28 16:17:39
I always drank my coffee on my way to work in the car, but I don't know how long your commute is. The chocolate-covered coffee beans sound like an excellent substitute!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-02-28 18:10:00
Guess you figured out how to get the coffee craving taken care of without spilling the.....BEANS....LOL....Oh I kill myself!!!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group