ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-29 ... 3:50 p.m.

previous - next

An exciting day

Well, I had some excitement here on my day off today. I went into the museum this morning, to see if Bossman had some work for me. I sure thought he did, but he didn't. Bummer. That was ok though, I had to go anyway and drop off my bill from the week before.

And when I came home I used my extra time to empty the cooler out from our excursion to the beach, do the dishes and empty the garbage, all the fun things that I didn't do last week when the kids were here.

I was sitting at my computer, and poolagirl messaged me, "we just had an earthquake" and by the time she sent that to me, I started feeling it. DANG!!! The epicenter was in LA, about 120 miles away. It felt like there were rollers under my house that were moving. Weird!!

Poolie also suggested I move some things in my apartment to a safer spot, which I did as soon as I could, just in case there were more tremors. I didn't feel anything else... but... wow.

Then, The Depot of Home called me, and asked if I would like to have another day of work this week! Woot!!! Of course I said yes! One of the younger cashiers found a new job, so I think those are probably his hours that are open. I can handle working 40 hours a week! I wouldn't even mind overtime, but there is kind of a ban on that....

So I just spent the rest of my day relaxing. I am planning on continuing the post-children clean-up around here... not that they made that big of a mess, but things got rearranged and moved around to accommodate them, and they need to be put back. It won't take long, I just don't like to push too hard on my days off! And I'm sure glad I did my laundry on Sunday!

Well.. back to chores....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

14 comments so far

Sis - 2008-07-29 23:38:29
I was thinking about you today when I heard that there was an earthquake in LA, glad B & C and the kids aren't living there anymore. 120 miles is close enough! Sounds like you will be full time in short order at the Depot! Keep up the good work!
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-07-29 23:49:52
Yep! I remember those! The rollers are much more 'fun' than the shakers. They kinda make you woozy, eh? You finally got your welcome card to california!
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-07-30 01:45:50
Congrats on your first earthquake--I thought of you right away--and congrats on your extra day--obviously they like your work or you wouldn't have been called--I hope it's an easy kind of day.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-07-30 02:17:27
That was definitely a roller. And they do make you queasy. Welcome aboard the HMS California!
-------------------------------
onewetleg - 2008-07-30 02:52:14
Ya gotta love earthquakes. I send myself an email every time I feel one at home.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-07-30 03:11:12
Wow, I can't even imagine what an earthquake feels like! I have friends near LA; one girl lives just 6 miles from the epicenter, but her house sustained no damage. She just had a few open drawers when she got home from work. Glad you and all of your stuff is okay!!!
-------------------------------
Brin aka Bindyree - 2008-07-30 03:37:09
You are officially a citizen of the state now! Yay!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-07-30 04:17:57
Can't say I've ever felt an earthquake, nor do I have any particular desire to experience one up close and personal. Here's hoping that was the "big one" of the bunch and no nasty surprises are waiting around the proverbial corner.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-07-30 06:03:00
I've been through some of the bigger ones; the funny thing is that I have almost like a built in Richter Scale! If I am in an earthquake, I can tell you the magnitude to within .1 ! Yes, I'm odd! Welcome to California! I enjoy the rollers, but the shakers can be a bit alarming!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-07-30 10:41:31
THANK You for passing along the message. You're very sweet to do so. And I'm sorry to hear about his unhappiness. I hope things pick up for him soon. And for you, just a hug because. Just because. That's all. *grin*
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-07-30 11:29:17
Thanks again for your help with the photos. I don't know if I'll get them posted today, because I have to go into work early. Your first earthquake! It's official...you're now a true Californian!
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2008-07-30 13:20:44
I was thinking of you and poolie when i heard about the earthquake. Glad it didn't really affect you!!
-------------------------------
margie - 2008-07-30 13:56:39
I wondered about you when I heard about the earthquake. Glad all is well.
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-07-31 01:05:54
I was thinking about you when I heard the news...your first California earthquake. WOW!!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group