ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-05-30 ... 7:53 a.m.

previous - next

First day in San Diego

We got into San Diego so late last night (well, late for us!) and it was way too late to do anything but go to bed. Tucker and Sophie were really glad to see Poolie!

I have to tell you here about "pulling a Poolie". When we were in Tombstone, we were going out to listen to Rosie sing karaoke. Tombstone is a bit rugged, and some of the sidewalks are ... well.. rough. This particular patch was non-existent, and it had a big rock in the middle of it. Since it was dark and I couldn't see the rock, I stubbed my foot on it and went sprawling. I was glad I was wearing my jean jacket and jeans, because even through the material I scraped my elbow and knee, cut my hand and landed on my side, bruising a few ribs. Ouch!

None of the injuries are serious, and I was sober... and I wasn't even wearing crocs! (Some of you will get that reference) I washed off my cut hand, and was good to go, although my ribs are a bit sore when I try to move a certain way. But as Art said, I did indeed say that I "pulled a Poolie"!

So this morning, poolagirl and I got in my new car (yay) and drove around for a while, finally ending up at Cream City for coffee and breakfast bagels. And wireless internet.. heh.

Today we will be calling my landlord, and moving everything from the truck into my apartment. We aren't sure if they are finished renovating but I can at least pile things in the kitchen or wherever they are finished. I will need to sleep at Poolie's until I can have a bed delivered. That's the only necessary thing I don't have.

The drive from Tombstone to San Diego was kind of bittersweet. It was the end of vacation for both of us. I would love to not have to work, and just drive around meeting internet friends, but at some point I have to stop and get a job! It's exciting to have the chance to start over again in this fascinating city, but I think the first several months might be a challenge. That's ok though, I'm up for it!

So here's to the end, and the beginning.


previous - next

Kiss Me!

26 comments so far

Poolie - 2008-05-30 12:07:59
To great beginnings, my friend!
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2008-05-30 12:10:38
I'm so excited you're there! I hope you eventually have time for more details about your trip, but for now, just get some sleep!! And revel in the fact you don't have to work in the store in Cowtown today!!!!!
-------------------------------
nicim - 2008-05-30 12:12:32
may this be the bestest beginning ever.
-------------------------------
sduckie - 2008-05-30 12:15:29
Hooray! Congrats and enjoy sunny California!
-------------------------------
wordwhore - 2008-05-30 12:17:37
i'm so glad you made it safely. i can't wait for you to start telling us all about your new life!!
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-05-30 12:18:26
Just coming out of lurkdom to say Congratulations, and I wish you well.
-------------------------------
FairyGodMum - 2008-05-30 12:19:55
Yippieeeee.... CalEEfornEE is the place for ThEE! So glad that you finally make it... Take that rock as your last stumbling block. Cheer's to a New Life! Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum
-------------------------------
DSis - 2008-05-30 12:22:46
No doubt in my mind that you are up to the challenge of beginning this new chapter (book section?) of your life. You have the intelligence and perseverance (neener) to do whatever it takes to be successful! So glad you two (and the traveling shoes) had such a good time. Thanks for sharing all the adventures and pictures.
-------------------------------
l-empress - 2008-05-30 12:35:01
Congratulations! First step completed. And here you go: May your house be safe from tigers.
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-05-30 12:36:15
Oh dear beanie! I wasn't saying there was a challenge or race to see who could Pull a Poolie the quickest...but you get the prize!! You poor thing! That sounds like it hurt BAD. And so glad you made it safe and sound. The next few months will be a challenge but you've got all the support you want and need sweetie!! So, instead of a beach bunny are you now a Beach-Beanie??
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2008-05-30 12:58:55
Yay! Welcome to S.D! You're gonna love it here.
-------------------------------
Ingrid - 2008-05-30 13:03:11
YAY!
-------------------------------
Carol - 2008-05-30 13:43:59
Maybe you could save the delivery fee on the new bed if you went and picked it up while you still have the truck. So happy for you.
-------------------------------
mz. em - 2008-05-30 14:20:56
Welcome to California. I live on the Central Coast near San Luis Obispo and love it.
-------------------------------
Bindyree - 2008-05-30 14:23:03
Yes! Welcome to California, and have fun sending pictures of our gas prices to your friends back east! Yeeg!
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2008-05-30 15:30:22
Alpha and Omega! OH! I'm so happy for you. When you have a moment and are feeling settled-in, let me know your new snail mail address.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-05-30 15:52:53
So glad you arrived safely!! *gasp* You fell while wearing something OTHER than Crocs?? But I thought it was the Crocs that made you fall!! ;o)
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-05-30 16:03:12
Wow, that seems like a fast trip to San Diego. I can't wait to see pictures of your new apt. and your area. Good luck with the job hunt. I bet you will find a great job in no time at all.
-------------------------------
capitolady - 2008-05-30 16:23:51
Congrats! San Diego is the perfect spot for new beginings! That was sure a quick trip :)
-------------------------------
art - 2008-05-30 17:37:29
aw cmon! you been to tombstone! be rugged! sleep on the floor! you dont need a bed!! haw haw!! hope your ribs and all get better quick, and congrats to a new beginning!!! you will be mighty sucessful!
-------------------------------
deb - 2008-05-30 17:49:20
All the best! I'm sure you'll do great!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-05-30 22:16:22
Craigslist. Free. San Diego. Chances are pretty good you can anything you need there if you watch, and free is a VERY good price ;)
-------------------------------
patti - 2008-05-31 00:35:46
welcome to your new home and new beginnings! I was wondering if you had on your crocs :)
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-05-31 08:39:08
How exciting! I'm so glad you both arrived safe and sound. I can't believe how organized you been through all of this. Good luck on your job hunt. I'm sure any employer will be very lucky to have you!
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-05-31 10:20:27
Well congratulations on getting to SD in one piece. I'm wishing you all the best and hope your life will be all it should be.
-------------------------------
mpeacockl - 2008-05-31 12:25:10
Bon chance mon amie.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group