ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-06 ... 3:54 p.m.

previous - next

Project started!

Unfortunately, my pretty flower from yesterday didn't even last all day. I was glad I took pictures of it when I did. The other flowerbud is getting bigger though, so maybe it will open up soon.

Photobucket

Photobucket

What's really interesting is the length of the stalk on the flowers. I pinched it (eek!) and it was hollow, not at all like the cactus, so the whole stalk must be part of the flower.

**********************************************

I spent all morning at work shadowing another cashier (Kim). Well, not all morning, at first I was shadowing in the returns area, which was quite busy for a Sunday morning! Then they put me with Kim who was working in the "Contractor Cashier" spot. He can take anyone, but it's very wide in that area, and good for people with large carts full of wood. I learned quite a bit.

And he told me I did a good job when I was done! Yay! He said he could tell I'd run a register before, so I took that as a good sign. I'm hoping to maybe convince my manager to increase my hours for this week, at least on Saturday and Sunday, although the four hours I spent this morning were surprising in how much it tired me out. I also need another pair of shoes, since Crocs are not quite what I need there.

After work, I picked up the wood and a paintbrush and a can of polyurethane for the wood. I put the first coat on, and will do the second coat later tonight, the third coat tomorrow. Then it needs to dry for a few days before I plan on putting my books on it.... and I still need to get the bricks for the ends and the corner.

But once I can get the books taken care of, there won't be much left to organize in the house. Just hanging pictures, and arranging the lighting. Finally!

Other than my little shelving project, I did my dishes and bagged up the rest of the caramel corn so I could wash that container too. How thrilling.... But I sure don't mind having this much down time, because it seems like I will be working plenty of hours after Kid has come and gone. Then I will be hoping for a day with nothing to do! So for now, I just take what I can get, and enjoy the flowers and the sunshine.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

3 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-07-06 23:39:47
There's a lot to be said for ingenuity - but it's also pretty simple to build your own bookcases from wood. You already have the shelving materials, just need one wood strip for each side, and I recommend metal brackets to keep things square. Easy peasy lemon squeasy ;)
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-07-07 02:10:26
You will take pictures of the bookcase won't you?
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2008-07-07 06:05:25
I've always loved those flowers...too bad they don't stick around for very long! At least the other bud should bloom within a day or two. New pretties to enjoy!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group