ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-09-19 ... 8:25 p.m.

previous - next

A nice day out in garden

Got my errands run this morning before work. That's probably the only thing I like about working the later shifts... I can do things before work, instead of after.

I worked all day out in the garden area. It was pretty quiet, but there were some things that made the day worthwhile. I sold a palm tree.. not just any one, one that was $600! Woot! And I sold two more lightsticks! Heh. I keep asking people if they want them, and so far I've found that it's the young people who are buying them. I really don't even bother with the older people.

It was a beautiful weather day here in San Diego.. not too warm, not too cool, with a great breeze that whipped through the garden doors and blew the money off the counters, and kept us cool through the warmer parts of the day. I heard from other cashiers that it was fairly humid inside the store, so I really was glad to be outside.

Plus us cashiers are closer together (physically) and we have more opportunity to chat while we are waiting for customers. It leads to some interesting conversation! Mostly today was people complaining about the cuts in hours, so I did a lot of listening and not much complaining, since I am getting the hours I want, at least for this week and next.

Once it quieted down, and I was the only one left outside, I did a major sweeping job because no one swept the aisles all day long. At least one of the garden associates came by and thanked me for sweeping, so that helps motivate me to keep doing it. I straightened up a lot of the flowers while I was doing that. All in all, quite a pleasant day.

I am scheduled to be out there again tomorrow, and I'm pretty happy about that. Sometimes, though, they will keep me inside until someone need to leave for lunch, and then switch me out there to cover lunches and breaks. I only work until 6:30 tomorrow, and I like those hours the best.

Time to find something to eat...

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

Blue Opa - 2008-09-20 07:01:26
Here's to more days outside in gorgeous weather! :D
-------------------------------
deb - 2008-09-20 13:35:24
I don't know how the Halloween celebrations are out there, but remember that light sticks are the perfect thing for trick-or-treaters. One selling point for families.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-09-20 16:25:33
It sounds like another beautiful day in your neighborhood. congratulations on selling a $600 palm tree! Just think what your two palms at home will be worth some day.
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-09-20 17:49:12
did you know that there are varieties of palms that can cost up to $10k? we have a lot of different gorgeous palms here in south florida... i may not be privy to the changing colors of the leaves in autumn, but at least i have beautiful beaches and palm trees to make up for it!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group