ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-04-20 ... 6:33 p.m.

previous - next

Fall down go boom!

Well I mentioned yesterday that I was tired. I fell asleep about 7:30, and slept until 6:30 this morning! I felt a lot better, and my cough/cold was much improved, too. I sure needed that!

So I got my stuff together and went to work. I was supposed to be out in garden, but I started on the front end, because someone needed her break. My second customer paid off his Depot credit card, which was $2600! And he paid it in cash. Jeebus! 26 $100 bills. It took me a while just to make sure none were counterfeit. You can bet I sent them ALL to the back office IMMEDIATELY. No way I want that sitting in my drawer. Sheesh!

Then I went outside. I wasn't out there for long when the manager came out and asked us to water the plants that were outside. I got a hose ready, found a sprayer to water with, and went out to pull the hose out the door. I tripped on the cart corral and fell flat on my face. Sort of... my face didn't hit the ground, but the wind was knocked out of me. (Shades of Tombstone) I have bruises on my knees and sore ribs. Tylenol is my friend. And the ice packs I have in my freezer.

So I could feel my ribs getting sorer and stiffer throughout the day. Yes, I told Norma about it, and one of the ASMs. He suggested pain meds and ice, and that was my plan for when I got home anyway. Tomorrow I have to decide if I want to see a doctor, and the paperwork has to be filled out then, too.

Hey, it only hurts when I laugh, or cough. I am sure I will live, and I'm sure nothing is broken. I will just be sore for a week or so, and since I only have two days to work and then I have two off, I think I will tough it out until my days off.

After that, the rest of the day was, thankfully, pretty uneventful! Except for the fact that it was Monday, and things kept going wrong with no obvious reasons, but they went wrong for other people. I just got mine over with in one shot!

I can tell already that the Tylenol is helping, and it's time to refreeze the ice packs. I'm sure glad I got over the majority of my cold before today, cause coughing is not fun. Sure hope I don't have to sneeze!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

15 comments so far

Erianne - 2009-04-21 02:18:40
Mean old cart corral! I hope the pain and stiffness get gone quickly.
-------------------------------
DSis - 2009-04-21 02:21:32
So sorry to hear of your trip! Grab a big pillow and hug it when you have to cough�it really helps. Hope you are better soon.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-04-21 02:26:08
OUCH! You know, make sure you take the time off if you need to. Maybe they can switch days off for you, because you are probably gonna be a-hurtin' tomorrow. Hugs!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-04-21 03:37:39
Yup. Shades of Tombstone. I can see it all now.
-------------------------------
wordy - 2009-04-21 04:12:59
hon, as someone who spent 4 years in workers comp (and is also clumsy & prone to falling), whether you take any time off or not - go to the doctor asap, even if you feel fine. trust me, it can save you a lot of head- and otheraches later!
-------------------------------
Judith - 2009-04-21 05:06:34
I agree with wordy! I hurt myself at work several years ago but didn't do any workers comp and now I have an ankle that has never recovered correctly.
-------------------------------
Fifi - 2009-04-21 10:23:44
Oh, I do hope that you feel better, and soon! XOFifi
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2009-04-21 13:11:32
I think you should go to the doctor, especially if the company has a time limit on worker's comp. Some companies would MAKE you go. At least that way, even if you've just bruised something, you're covered in case you really did hurt something but don't realize it for a week. It would really suck to find out a week from now you've broken a rib or something, but the time limit for filing worker's comp has expired!
-------------------------------
margie - 2009-04-21 13:20:13
I agree with the others. Go to the Dr. If it hurts when you laugh or cough, you very well may have a cracked/broken rib. There's not much that can be done for that except a snug wrap (unless you smoke)and pain meds. But, please go.
-------------------------------
Ruth from SC - 2009-04-21 14:45:09
Yeah...definitely what they said.....doctor...ouchie...GO!!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-04-21 17:26:30
I have to agree...I worked WC for years and since the Depot of Home has the injury accident on record; they probably have a med. facility you can go to...they will pay for the visit and any meds you might need. Better to be checked out and ok than to be nursing a fx that caused problems later. Just my opinion.
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-04-21 18:36:50
Ow! Ow! OW!! Sorry about your tumble, hon. And yeah, add me to the Dr chorus. Hope you're feeling better already. ~LA
-------------------------------
Joan - 2009-04-21 21:10:57
You probably bruised your ribs. Thats nasty when you have to sneeze...ouch!
-------------------------------
requiel - 2009-04-21 21:17:20
Ouch! I'm so so sorry. Feel better.
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-04-21 22:12:34
Sorry to hear about your fall-it's too late, but the herbal arnica would have been good for all your ouiees--you will probalbly be stiff, but maybe a good hot bath will help tonight.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group