ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-17 ... 3:31 p.m.

previous - next

More repairs on my day off

So FINALLY I have some pictures from Saturday night. Theratqueen and I went to one of the local coffee houses and saw a band called The Strange Woods. They are an Irish band, and they sang a lot of traditional Irish songs, most of which I had never heard before.

This is one of the few pictures I have of the lady in the middle. I was sitting at a bad angle for pictures, and I wasn't comfortable using a flash, so I just waited until I could see her to take a pic.
Photobucket

And pretty much all I could see of the violinist was her face.

This is a better shot of the man in the group..
Photobucket

Last week I posted a picture of a sago palm, and I mentioned how picky they were. Outside the coffee house there were a couple of sagos, so I got a closeup of one just to show you all...
Photobucket

I was off today, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I got up and had a leisurely breakfast, and managed to take my shower before the water was turned off again for some repairs in another apartment. Phew! That was lucky!

Then the stove repairman came. I explained to him what the problem was, and when he looked inside the oven, he realized that there was NO thermostat.. that it looked like someone had broken it off or cut it off. I kind of think it was a casualty of a vigorous cleaning..

So instead of replacing it, which is about $250, I am probably going to get a different stove. Woot! My repair guy refurbishes gas stoves, and will give me a newer stove (with no pilot lights) and it won't be much more than repairing this old one. Doesn't matter to me though, all I want is an oven that works. I don't have to pay for it, so whatever they want to do is fine with me! He's coming back in about 2 hours. Yay!

I had lunch with Poolie, which is always fun. I can see the changes in the museum already, and they are all for the better. Wait till you guys see the cool car that's going in there in April!!

I also got all my tax stuff back. I don't have to pay in, for which I'm grateful. But my accountant's fee is taking up all but $5 of my refund. I am SO going to party with that. I can maybe buy a beer. HAHA. If it hadn't been for moving expenses, I would have had to pay in, so I'm just glad I got something back. And he didn't charge that much, either.

As for my apartment, I'm not sure if they will give me any money off on the rent for all this hassle. I'll wait and see how long it takes to get the work completed, and use that as a bargaining point if I need to. I was only without hot water for about 12 hours, so that's not really that bad.

And to answer PSis, there are very few basements in San Diego. I am on the ground floor so the pipes are running inside the slab the building is on. It's a good thing the pipes don't run through my ceiling!

That's about it for today. It's nice to have a quiet, peaceful day off. No drama (at least not much) and no stress. Plus I freecycled away a big bag of old shoes, and sorry to say, I am freecycling Sam and Janet, my palm trees. They are not getting the care they need from me, and will be planted in the ground at their new home. I'm sure they will be better off. Besides, I have no room for them in the house, and they just don't fit into the landscaping outside. I think they will enjoy their new home!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Sis - 2009-03-18 00:06:49
You could have a green beer today with your tax refund! We had 73 degrees here today, a new record high! Are you going to get new kitchen flooring? Looks like you should! Glad you are getting everything fixed that needs to be, then you can relax and enjoy your new place!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-03-18 01:20:39
Yeah, you can't really put basements in a desert environment, not if the ground isn't solid enough.
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-03-18 02:19:06
You'd have the perfect setup for a water bed, being that you have a concrete floor beneath you! But it is a hassle if you move often- Your palms will be happy in their new home.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-03-18 07:34:14
You lucky duck, you got to listen to Jim and Theresa! The violinist is Rachel. I think Theresa made a pact with the devil, she is still so beautiful!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-03-18 15:59:40
Even though you were not without hot water for very long, you were inconvenienced by having all those workers in your place AND this is the third problem you have had in just a couple of months....I still think you should ask for some type of compensation....you know that oven could have blown up or something without the thermostat. Anyway, I know it's easy for ME to say ask for a break but if you don't try, you won't know..... I hope the new stove/oven is clean and works better than this one did.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group