ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-04 ... 8:13 p.m.

previous - next

Floating at work

Well. I normally have a bottle of water on my nightstand so I can take a drink during the night if my throat is too dry, or if I just need a drink. I was really tired, since I only had two hours of sleep, and I thought I put the bottle back on my nightstand, but what I really did was drop it in my bed. That woke me up in a hurry!

I finally got back to sleep, and much to my surprise, the sun was out this morning! Woot!! It stayed out all day, too, so it was actually warm in my apartment when I got home.

Work was ok, I was the floater who relieved everyone for breaks and lunches. I was on several different computers today. I managed to get out to garden once, and found that my "partner" Blue, and another girl were busy, and the head cashiers sent an employee out the door with a bunch of unpaid merchandise to see if they would catch him. They didn't.

Words were said, and when I got out to garden, Blue was being "talked to" by Norma, and was kind of crying once Norma went back inside. I feel bad, they busted me on that too, a couple of months ago. I told her to just let it go, and try to not let them catch her again. I don't think it's right to trap someone like that, but there's not much I can do about it.

I also overheard Jason (one of the head cashiers) tell someone that he is joining the Air Force. His ultimate goal is to work in Homeland Security with a degree in Criminal Justice. He would do well in that field, because he doesn't have a temper, and keeps quiet about things, and thinks before he speaks and acts. He's planning on enlisting this summer. I sure will miss him, he's one of the better head cashiers.

Other than that, not much else happened today. No one got fired for stealing, or anything else. Gee, I want some excitement here!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

9 comments so far

Paula G from Indiana - 2009-01-05 04:56:22
Yes Cocoabean, I am the one and only chickenfist! I can't imagine anyone else using that name, LOL!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2009-01-05 05:05:15
No you DON'T want excitement. Don't ask for it - you'll get it, lol. Seriously, boring is better, trust me.
-------------------------------
fightn4life - 2009-01-05 13:09:05
Sometimes a peaceful day is better than excitment. So glad you had a good day and a sunny one. Sandyz
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2009-01-05 13:22:14
That's a pretty lousy way they have of doing things! They need to have people at the doors if they expect someone to constantly watch for folks walking out with mdse. We all joke about the W*M Greeters, but that is part of their job, to check the receipts of suspicious customers carrying out unbagged mdse & such. Glad you had a quite day. In 'our line of work' it is a blessing sometimes!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-01-05 15:19:24
In my estimation, busy cashiers should not be expected to catch thieves. That makes me angry!
-------------------------------
zucchini breath - 2009-01-05 16:26:30
Really! Busy cashiers should not be expected to catch thieves. Was she with another customer? It's a hard situation to deal with but a cashier, who is working on a reg should be alert, but not responsible for shoplifters. She or he should be minding the cash and dealing with custy service. Aren't there any floor people? Home of Depot maybe cant afford a person standing at the door at all times like WM can but there should be people on the floor looking out for manager set ups. Sheesh. I am SOOOOOOO glad I don't work in a frikin store anymore. Blech. I remember seeing suspicious persons and being "set upon" them. Just stand next to them, make conversation, clean the area they are in. I had one lady tell me to leave her alone and I said, "sorry, my manager said I have to stand next to you." She left. hehe.
-------------------------------
cosmic - 2009-01-05 18:00:31
Really. With my luck, I would be busy catching someone with $10.00 worth of stolen goods and make a $20.00 mistake in my drawer. I bet they would forget how I caught the shoplifter real quick.
-------------------------------
Paula - 2009-01-05 18:32:32
Bet it's not as cold there as it is here.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-05 19:48:35
I can understand the need to be alert to customers walking out but what if the cashier had recognized the "employee" as one of your own....they might not be as alert to expect the "employee" to be doing something wrong. Whatever the case, it was kind of mean but I guess security and control have to carry on. Hope you had another warm day so your apt. is cozy when you get back home.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group