ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-05-20 ... 7:32 p.m.

previous - next

I shook Frank's hand today!

I worked this morning at 10. I was glad it wasn't a whole lot earlier, since I was kind of tired yet this morning. It takes a while to catch up from vacation. Heh.

Everyone was pretty busy today. I worked in returns, and it was like a madhouse. Not so much returns, but everyone around me. Finally I discovered that the CEO of the Depot of Home was visiting the store today!

All the managers and department heads were waiting for him at the front door. There were district and regional people there too, so the store had A LOT of extra orange aprons in it. Yes, they all wear them too.

And of course, they all stood around waiting for him for about an hour (right around noon-time) until it was determined that he'd gone to another store instead. Ha!! All the regional and district people flew out the door to try to catch him at another store.

Finally, about 4:15, he came to our store! I have seen him on HDTV, so I knew what he looked like. (His name is Frank) He came in the front, and shook everyone's hand, and while he was just standing there, I went out of returns and shook his hand! He is a friendly man, and came into returns to shake everyone else's hand, too.

He walked around the store with this huge mob of people (who all shook my hand, too) and was there for about an hour. When he was leaving, he saw me again, and came over to shake my hand! I thanked him for giving me a job, and he said that because of people like me, he also has a job. Woot!!

Now... do I wash my hand or not? Too late, I already did.

That was definitely the most exciting part of the day... although all us peons agreed that we thought Frank would rather come in and see the managers and department heads WORKING rather than standing around at the door. I think he should just appear unannounced, so he could get a true feeling of what the store is really like. That would be hard, since everyone knows what he looks like!

Bummer that I didn't have my camera.... oh well.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

Poolie - 2009-05-21 03:07:25
YOU didn't have a camera? You?
-------------------------------
Mary - 2009-05-21 04:21:38
I had the CEO and the Chairman and a bunch of other high ups in my office this year, and frankly it was more distraction than it was worth. Especially when they all went over and peeked in the window of my competitor, and swarmed all over the customers. Whatever. They like to feel important.
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-05-21 10:38:18
Nifty! Glad he was nice. You're right about him visiting on the sly, not as a GOTHCA! sort of thing, but to see the store as it works in real life. ~LA
-------------------------------
For-Tart - 2009-05-21 13:12:42
Just another sep up the ladder. You have carved out a cool life in your fair city.
-------------------------------
Joan - 2009-05-21 16:35:15
Never hurts to schmooze with the big guy!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-05-21 19:03:42
I remember the days when the big shots for the company I worked for would show up....OMG...the posturing of the manager was "to laugh". Anyhow, glad you got to see him upfront and thank him for your job. Loved the pictures in the previous blog....they were beautiful. Husband and I wanted to retire in Kanab, Utah but don't think we can afford it...it's still a fantasy in the back of our minds though
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group