ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-05-22 ... 8:57 p.m.

previous - next

A frustrating day at work

I like having late work days because I can get so much done in the mornings before I go to work. It's just the actual work day that causes issues for me.

But first, this morning. I FINALLY finished my Yahtzee Pogo challenge this morning. It was actually a challenge, to keep me working on it this long. I did the dishes, packed my lunch, and went to the post office. I had to mail Kid the keys to my apartment, in case she gets here when I'm at work.

I came close to being in three accidents, and none of them my fault. Two were people who were backing up without bothering to look behind their car. Had I not been watching both times, and backed up, they would have hit me. I was thinking I'd better drive extra careful, and on my way home from the post office, when I was in the right hand lane, waiting to turn right (no turn on red there) someone in the lane NEXT to me turned in front of my car on red. He almost hit me when he turned. Was it my day, or what?

Then I went to work. It was ok until about 3... people started going home, and when that happens, it also decreases our support from the head cashiers. I'm not sure why that happens, but I did a cash strip, and waited 45 minutes for someone to come out and pick it up... and she only came out because one of the people who was leaving ALSO had a cash strip, and she couldn't wait.

I had a bad feeling about the rest of the night, and I was right. I never got a break, and I had a cash strip that I called for about 6:30, and it didn't get picked up until I had one of the managers come out at 8. I was supposed to have someone walk me in with my till, but there was no one to do that, either.

I plan on discussing this with Norma tomorrow, and telling her that I don't want to work closing in garden any more because of the non-support from the head cashiers. I'm not going to take my break at the end of my shift. That defeats the purpose of a break. So we will see what happens.

Besides, I am supposed to be scheduled for opening returns, at least a couple days a week, and on the new schedule I don't have ANY returns hours. That's not Norma's fault, but I want her to know about it. I want her to know that I WANT to work in returns, and self checkout too, since I don't have much experience there. I need that to be a head cashier.

The one good thing to come out of today was that I was talking to one of the younger cashiers out in garden. She mentioned that she was really glad Missy will be gone for six weeks, and that Missy doesn't like her. She said she thinks it's because she is also young and female, and competition for Missy, who loves all the male attention. I tend to believe she's right.

She also told me that one of the lot attendants has a huge crush on Missy, and will do her favors... like punch her in on the time clock when she is late. If they would ever be found out, both of them would be fired. That is totally illegal!

I don't plan on using that information, because I don't know it first hand, and even if I did, I'm not sure what I would do. I'm glad I don't have to make that decision. As my little informer says, they will get busted some day.. and then they will both get what's coming. It just is somehow satisfying to know that little tidbit. Heh.

And now that I've vented out my day's frustrations, I feel a lot better. I will be working on another Yahtzee challenge for someone else... who will owe me BIG for this one! You know who you are.......

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

Judith - 2009-05-23 05:53:16
I hate days when it seems like your car has a bullseye painted on it. Glad you didn't get in an accident!
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-05-23 12:50:05
Unfortunately people don't need much of a brain to get a driver's license it seems.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-05-23 14:16:02
Moi?
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-05-23 19:14:30
Rut Roh.....sounds like a couple of people have been taking advantage at work....hope you get the breaks and non-support straightened out...that isn't right at all. glad you got through the day and made it back home. Hope you had a better time today
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-05-24 03:23:38
I JUST finished that Yahtzee challenge. It doesn't take me long to finish a round, but it's the waiting for a new game that kills me. Ugh. Glad you were alert and didn't get in any accidents!!
-------------------------------
Kitty - 2009-05-24 04:28:19
You get the punching in and out for each other everywhere. I've only had a handful of jobs, but everyone does it. I'm not condoning (sp?) it, I'm just saying. I never did it cuz if someone punched it for me and I never came in at all, I'd get caught. Well, that and I was never late cuz I WAS RESPONSIBLE. It's not that difficult!!! People asked me to do it for them, but I always told them to just be on time and then they could do it themselves. *grin*
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group