ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-01 ... 5:35 p.m.

previous - next

My day as a garden associate!

Well my day working as a garden associate went pretty well. My duties were watering plants and customer service. I was really tired this morning, so it was a good thing that I could have some coffee with me!

The first thing I had to do was attend a short meeting in the front of the store before opening. It's a daily meeting, where the openers get a pep talk for the day, and hear the sales numbers, and what they need to do for the rest of the week. Our week ends on Sunday, so there were departments that had some hefty sales needed to make their sales quota. Garden made the weekly sales plan YESTERDAY so we were already in the black. Yay!

Then I went to garden and got a till so I could be the back-up cashier. That's a good customer service to have! Once that was done, I started my watering things. I had to fill up a couple of the fountains on display at the main door, so I figured I would just start outside. It took me almost two hours to water the palm trees and large plants that we had outside the main door. I did get a hose outside for some of the smaller plants near garden, which made it a LOT easier.

There is a man who works in garden (Fred) who's only job is to water the plants. He is disabled somewhat, and has little use of one arm, and has some difficulty walking, but he can get around pretty well. He was not happy that I was there to water the plants, since that's HIS job. However, it's well known that he normally doesn't do his job, but stands around gabbing and putting in his time instead of working, which is why my job was to water.

It took me almost another two hours to water a quarter of the inside plants, and he wasn't happy with the way I was doing it because I was REALLY watering them, although that's what I was told to do. It took him two hours to water the entire other side of inside garden.

I couldn't tell him he didn't do the job he was supposed to, and I didn't want to go behind him and re-water, since I was already getting sight daggers aimed at me, so I just decided to take my lunch and get out of the whole thing.

After lunch, I ended up cashiering for a while, because it was really busy, at least as busy as yesterday. It's the beautiful clear skies, and near eighty-degree weather that makes people buy tons of plants and want to put them in the ground. Can't say I blame them.

I did do a little more watering of the herbs and veggies that we sell, at one point pulling a hose outside and not only soaking the plants, but myself in the process. My jeans were totally wet and dirty, and even my feet got a bit damp inside my boots. I was smart enough not to wear boots, because I knew my shoes would be wet by 9AM.

I did take a quick afternoon break, just because I could, and then went back to garden and faced up the plants. A couple of the vendors had come in this morning and filled up their plants, which now were about half gone.. so I brought the ones from the floor up and put them on the table. One of the ASMs came by and told me that instead of doing that, I should be greeting the customers. So OK, I stood and greeted, although no one needed help, so it was kind of useless. I only had ten minutes left at that point, so that was ok with me. Heh.

One odd thing was that all the head cashiers who came on later in the day were really confused by the fact that I was there, but not working as a cashier, even to the point of asking me why I had the garden associate's phone! OK, I've explained this 15 times, let's pay attention now! Hee!

Finally it was time to leave. When I got to my car, I realized that I was tired enough that if I'd forgotten something inside the store, in no way would I have walked all the way back in to get it. That's the most physical day I've had there yet, and I'm hoping this will be a good way for me to get a full-time slot in garden. Well, I can hope.

On the way home, I had to stop at a red light, and it's a spot where I usually have to stop. There's a homeless man there who stands on the median with a sign asking for money, food or a motel room, and a little threat on the bottom of the sign that if you don't give, evil things will happen to you. This man accosts people in their cars, and I am reasonably certain he knows my car, and that I won't even LOOK at him when he comes to my window and yells at me.

I watched him do this to the first three cars in line today. I was in the middle. The car in front of me had the window closed, as did mine, and the guy in back of me had his arm out the window. I was watching in my mirror, and he never talked to the homeless man, or even looked at him, from what I could tell. The homeless man got really angry that none of us would say anything to him. I'm waiting for him to go off one day. I keep my window closed and my door locked in anticipation.

It sure was nice to get home and sit down for a while. I took out all the things to the dumpster that piled up after moving, and soaked my dishes in hot water while I read diaries and played some Pogo. I don't work tomorrow until 7, and I'm sure I will be getting up early enough to have some coffee here. I am really pretty beat from the day.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

Rosie - 2009-03-02 02:51:30
Hasn't the homeless man figured out that you catch more flies with honey that with vinegar? I believe that I would do something like make up a bag of fruit or something, and include a note that says something like that. Then I'd give it to him next time he approaches me.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-03-02 05:24:21
Oh I love that you're outside in the sunshine and fresh air! Plus I can't wait till I can plant some things in the ground. Spring is coming, even to New England!
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2009-03-02 06:16:09
Wasn't today absolutely gorgeous? Even the evening was perfect, I took a walk tonight and didn't need a light jacket or anything. Yay for being in SoCal!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-03-02 14:27:11
It sounds like that homeless man could have some other issues. I think keeping your door locked and window up and not making eye contact is a great idea. I was surprised that you got so tired...maybe just having a different routine and walking around made the difference. Hope you have a good day today.
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-03-02 14:58:33
Outside amongst the plants sounds heavenly right now. The snow gods came by to hit us one last time before giving up for the season. Just when I started to get tulip and daff tips showing through the mulch too! Stay safe during your commute. ~LA
-------------------------------
art - 2009-03-02 18:44:54
agressive panhandlers have a special place in society, its called JAIL! thats where the idiot needs to be!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group