ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-04-05 ... 6:33 p.m.

previous - next

A day outside, and a contest

This was the first day I worked with Blue out in garden since she was "talked to". Needless to say, not much had changed with her. I overheard her telling someone that she had been talked to, but that we "needed a boss" out in garden. But that's her opinion. I really don't think we need a boss out there. I think the head cashiers can keep control of it.

Anyway, on the weekends a HC is scheduled out there, just to make sure that any things that we need a HC for (voids, change, strips, etc) we have one out there, and don't have to wait for someone. The HC out there today was Mary, and Mary is someone I wouldn't mess with. She has a strong personality and really knows what's going on, so I do what she says and keep my mouth shut. I don't know what was said, but I heard Mary say "I am the boss out here!". I just had to laugh, because like I said, Blue hadn't changed much, so she must have stepped on Mary's toes. Oops!

Blue is taking some medication that makes her have to take frequent "potty breaks" even though we get either a break or lunch every TWO hours, there are still times she needs to leave to "tinkle". It gets old, especially when sometimes it takes her 20 minutes to take her potty break. Apparently today one of the ASMs kind of yelled at her about leaving when it's busy like it was today, and that she needs to clear it with the HC or her when she needs to leave. Yeah, I can only see this as a problem for Blue. I kind of feel sorry for her, because no matter how many credits or customer comments she gets, this issue might just cost her in ways she doesn't realize.

Plus Norma came out to hang up a schedule board, and Blue tried to tell her where to put it, and how to hang it up, even though Norma already had it all figured out. Way to stick your nose into something that doesn't concern you!

And yes, it was busy today. I did manage to get a couple of people signed up for credit cards, and I almost got one lady signed up but she blanked when it came to her Social Security number. Oh well. I got a few more, so the management will know that I actually am asking people.

It was a beautiful day, too, over 70 and sunny with just about the right amount of a breeze. People were buying plants like mad!

One of the fill-in cashiers out there is a guy who makes brownies from scratch. So next Saturday we are having a contest, just him and me, with Mary as the judge, of who makes the better brownie. Now my problem is which one I want to make! His brownies are cakey, and I've never actually had any of them, so I don't know what I'm up against. I don't know if I should do cakey or fudgy. Decisions, decisions.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

20 comments so far

Sis - 2009-04-06 02:48:59
I know your "killer" brownies, and my bet is on you!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2009-04-06 03:15:39
I vote for a cakey brownie with a fudgy frosting. Why? Some people find a fudgy brownie too sweet. Someone can always scrap off some of the frosting if it's too sweet.
-------------------------------
DSis - 2009-04-06 03:32:01
Fudgy always trumps cakey, IMHO. I agree with Sis -- I'd bet on you, too.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-04-06 03:57:11
Your "Best thing to do with a cake mix" brownie is out of this world. Please make a batch, and I will assist you in disposing of said brownies, raw diet or no raw diet!
-------------------------------
Mary - 2009-04-06 04:05:49
Mmm. I vote for fudgy every time.
-------------------------------
wordy - 2009-04-06 04:30:24
hm, it seems you are getting extreme opinions, so how about double-decker brownies with cakey on the bottom, fudgey on the top and layer of icing between them? i think i just gained 5 lbs thinking about it...-shrug- totally worth it =D
-------------------------------
sduckie - 2009-04-06 05:00:00
What's the point of making a brownie cakey? That's what cakes are for. Brownies should be fudgey.
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-04-06 05:24:37
I like cakey ones that are just slightly underdone the best. And they MUST be female. (No nuts.) In either case, my money's on you too! Can't wait for the results of the brownie throwdown. ~LA
-------------------------------
Judith - 2009-04-06 06:21:32
Fudgy brownies! Hmm. Now I feel the need to make my own killer brownies...
-------------------------------
art - 2009-04-06 09:35:01
fudgey always trumps cakey!! thats a no brainer!!! especially double fudge!!!
-------------------------------
OrneryPest - 2009-04-06 10:29:03
Oh by all means triple-fudge fudgy! It's so gluttonous!!!
-------------------------------
deb - 2009-04-06 10:50:46
Absolutely fudgy - cakey brownies are imposters!
-------------------------------
Princesscee - 2009-04-06 12:55:21
Fudgy! With nuts! And fudgy icing is good too. Dude, I could so use some chocolate right now, just thinking about it. Good luck, though I think you'll win, either way.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-04-06 14:10:46
Fudge! Fudge! Call the judge!
-------------------------------
requiel - 2009-04-06 16:40:38
Fudgy is ALWAYS better. We polished off a pan yesterday. They were so good I even nibbled at the sides and corners which usually never get eaten.
-------------------------------
cosmic - 2009-04-06 16:49:05
Not that I am an expert but IMHO cakey browines are just that, chocolate cake. Brownies have to be fudgie. In my house that is the rule. But since I have never tried any of your culinary delights, I suggest you send me both and I will give you my unbiased opinion, hehe.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-04-06 17:28:35
they have to be female (no nuts...I love that one...LA!) fudgey with white frosting.....ummm. Think I am heading to the cupboard to find that box of brownie mix I have in there.
-------------------------------
cosmic - 2009-04-07 02:21:07
Oh, and the mix should probably be less than 3 years old.
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-04-07 02:59:02
If the mix is 3 years old, just add some baking powder. Good luck--lots of chocolate and nuts beats anything--does the judge like nuts??
-------------------------------
Patty - 2009-04-07 17:04:09
OMG I need to eat a brownie really badly right now.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group