ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-15 ... 8:37 p.m.

previous - next

Good and bad... but mostly good!

What a day! This morning, Mr Fix-It and I went for a ride in his truck to pick up this:

Photobucket

The ends are recliners, and they vibrate! Unfortunately, I left all the plugs and stuff at im2qt2kr's house, so I will go back and get them at some later date. But it's so comfy! And so heavy!! I don't move it around much. Heh. Mr Fix-It and I managed to get in in my house by ourselves, but it's a heavy thing. I didn't hurt my back, but smashed one of my fingers on the gate. Oh well, it's not broken. But hooray! It makes my living room look less like I just moved in. The picture is actually hanging straight, but it looks crooked because of the angle I took the picture at.

Then I went to work. I got quite a surprise when I found out I was cashiering in the garden department today! Woot!! It was hot in my house, but there was a wonderful breeze blowing through the garden area and it was quite pleasant. It was kind of slow, but I was next to one of my favorite cashiers, Steve. Steve is about my age, and just past his 90 days at the Depot of Home. He also used to own his own business, so we have things in common.

The trouble started when Steve went home, and they left me all alone in the garden area. I really don't like the idea of being out there with no one else around, but ok, whatever. The thing that made it bad was a mistake I made when I came back from lunch.

I stripped my register, which means I got rid of the big bills by sending them in to the office. Actually, by that time it was late, so I just handed it to one of the head cashiers. The problem was that I gave her all my 20s so that it would be an even amount. One of the next customers came in and spent $27 and gave me a $100 bill. I had only 5s and ones, which she didn't want, but by that time I'd tendered her order and opened the register so I couldn't do anything else but give her the change.

I called the head cashier and told her that I had customers waiting, and what had happened, and that I needed 20s desperately. It took her about 10 minutes (and 3 more phone calls) to bring them to me, during which time I had one customer leave, and another one stand and bitch. Trust me, it's a mistake I will never make again. And I realize it was MY mistake, although waiting that long for 20s was, I thought, outrageous, since she knew I had customers waiting in line.

Then my favorite head cashier, Jason, had to "audit" me because I sent my till to the office yesterday in the wrong color bag. Honestly. I mean, I can see how it would confuse the office stuff, but it was obvious it wasn't a strip when it had checks, gift cards and all the daily paperwork. So OK, I won't do that again either.

I know I made another mistake tonight when I closed my till. Since I had to get an "increase" instead of just changing my $100 bill for 5 $20 ones, I got $500 in 20s. I still had $480 left at the end of the night, and I put that in my end of the night bag. That's way too much for an end of the night bag, so I will probably be talked to about that too.... but that's not a biggie, just a technicality. I'm sure not going to lose any sleep over anything that happened today... and that's the nice thing about this job!

Otherwise, my biggest issue at work is not knowing where things are in the store. I really need to rectify that ASAP. But there are so many items, I may just need to go on my day off and cruise the aisles, writing things down... we aren't supposed to work on our days off, but they can't stop me from shopping!

Now though, it's time to relax. I have diaries to read before I hit the sack!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

12 comments so far

Anne - 2008-07-16 04:31:37
New jobs...good and bad are the norm! Gotta love it! And I'm right with you on the whole 'work stays at work' feeling. It took a long time for me to find a job like that! You sound so good...happy, mellow...I'm so pleased for you!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2008-07-16 04:50:36
Sorry I didn't notice you left without the plugs. They're in a bag at the office. We'll find some way to connect this weekend so you can enjoy the "good vibrations" haaaa. Will feel good after a long day at work. I'm so happy you're happy with it, and it was especially nice to finally meet face to face, even if it was rushed. Big Hug Ms. Cocoa Q.T. P.S. The link to my diary is spelled wrong.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-07-16 05:17:17
Congratulations on the new sofa! It looks comfy, and can't beat that :)
-------------------------------
Miss Hiss - 2008-07-16 05:21:00
What a fabulously decadent sofa! (Even if it doesn't "vibrate".) The kindness of fellow bloggers in reaching out never fails to move me -- and I'm so glad you got the chance to meet Miss Qutiecakes face-to-face. Love, R xxx
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-07-16 10:55:24
That couch looks mighty comfy! You're really moving forward in your new life. How awesome is that??
-------------------------------
art - 2008-07-16 12:09:46
that is a loverly couch!!! nice and comfy!!! good score!!
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-07-16 13:30:41
Hey, except for the color, that looks like my couch! Does the middle part open into a table with cup holders? It's so comfortable, I often sleep there instead of in a bed. ***** Isn't it nice, to be able to make a mistake or two without the weight of the world falling on you? 8)
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2008-07-16 13:57:20
Ooh! The new couch is pretty! And it virbates? I love it!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-07-16 14:03:33
Great couch, Beanie!
-------------------------------
scotvalkyrie - 2008-07-16 14:25:19
Wow, you're really getting into the swing of things at HD -- and you're probably the most CONSCIENTIOUS new hire they've had in a while! BTW, have you received a little parcel from me yet? Just checking!
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-07-16 17:31:39
The couch looks beautiful and it really looks great with that picture. Sounds like you had another day of learning lots of stuff!
-------------------------------
Starkitten01 - 2008-07-16 22:01:28
Aw, hang in there! It's always a little tricky at first on a new job! And in customer service you'll *always* have the good AND the bad with customers, of course. You just have to take it as lightly as possible and not let it get to ya :) And I LOVE the couch, by the way! PRETTY and I LOVE the color! <3
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group