ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-04-21 ... 6:52 p.m.

previous - next

A long hot day at work

I managed to find a comfortable way to sleep last night, but I can tell you, it wasn't on my left side! It didn't hurt while I was lying that way, but it sure did hurt once I rolled off my side. Not again, at least for a while.

The first thing I did this morning when I got to work was find an ASM and tell her that we needed to fill out the papers. She was NOT happy. She said that they should have been filled out yesterday, and I explained to her that another ASM said he wanted me to wait and see if I needed medical attention. Still, she was not happy. I'm kind of thinking that if it had been her, she would have insisted I go, in which case the ER would have done drug testing. Yeah, it would have been negative, but this particular ASM is not real well liked. The paperwork was almost as painful as falling. Heh.

So once I was done with that, I went out to garden. I felt ok, at least until the Tylenol wore off, so I just kept taking it every three hours so that it wouldn't ever completely wear off. And I survived.

No, I probably won't go to the doctor, unless I have severe problems breathing. There isn't much that can be done for ribs, broken or not, and as long as I made the report, I have that in case there are any long-term effects.

I guess this reluctance to seek medical care all stems from the way we were brought up. We didn't see the doctor for every little thing. Doctor Mom was just as good in most cases, and we all learned what to do for most minor illnesses. Plus add in the LARGE tolerance for pain that seems to be genetic in my family, and you have an entire family who just brushes things off. The only exception being broken ankles..... anyway....

One of our cashiers that used to work out in garden all the time was out there again today. She has been off work for the past 3 or 4 weeks due to pneumonia, and today was her first day back. She was glad to be back, and the customers were really excited to see her! I know that made her happy... She and I spent at least an hour catching up on the gossip. It's amazing how much she had, even being off for 3 weeks!

And we both are hearing little bits and pieces of things that make us think changes are in the works. The credits manager is *supposedly* transferring to a different store, which would leave her position open... for Blue. I'm not sure how that would work out, since Blue is not very competent on the computer, but I guess she will have to learn if she wants the job.

Also, one of the Head CAshiers *I think* has applied for a different position. Maybe it's the Credits Manager spot, maybe it's something I don't know about. Either way, if she moves to something else, that would leave a head cashier spot open.

We do have one person who is full time who is already trained as a head cashier. However, she is the one who works full time in returns. Even if SHE takes the HC spot, I would love to be the FULL TIME opener in returns.. granted, it would be 5:30AM until 2PM.. but I could live with that. For full time. Either way, I see it as a win-win for me. Woot. Stay tuned for further developments.

I wanted to run some errands after work, fill up my water bottles outside of Big Lots (20 cents a gallon), grab some fast food Mexican, and then just come home. But noooo... I left the water jugs in my house this morning, so I decided to pick up some Chinese food and go get the water after I ate.

I did that, and I got some bagels so I don't have to go to Von's tomorrow, but it was not a pleasant excursion. It's hot here, so my clothes were pretty clingy, and getting in and out of the car wasn't the most fun, since the Tylenol had by that time run out. I get achy then, but the worst thing is not the cough, but sniffing (my nose still runs a bit). It must put too much pressure on my bruised ribs, but that is what hurts the most.. that and hiccups. Oh man. Major ouch.

So once I got home with my water and bagels, I took a Vicodin (that I have left from my broken ankle from February of 2007) and I've just been relaxing in my chair, holding my pillow when I have to cough. The first day after is always the worst, so I expect to be much improved tomorrow, besides I work later in the day, so I can get more sleep.

I think my neighbor's girlfriend has moved out. She still comes over now and then, but they do nothing but argue. He has to come down and let her in the locked gate, but he wants to just toss her the keys so he doesn't have to go down the steps. So they argue all the way up the steps. Then they argue about each other's attitude once they get upstairs. And he loves to swear. He really needs an attitude adjustment... her arguments are pretty realistic, at least from a neighbor's point of view. You know, first impressions are often the most realistic. But I stay out of their arguments. That's the last thing I need.

Ooooo and I got my Wisconsin Tax refund in the mail yesterday, so I cashed that. I got three rolls of quarters, so I have plenty for laundry! Woot! I just hate loading the washer and realizing I have no quarters....

Off to play some games...

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

Fifi - 2009-04-22 02:54:13
Beanie, I went to the Home Despot today. I was in the garden center. I couldn't help but to think of you. And I was supernice to the cashier. She was apologetic about having to count the fence sections even though I had told her that there were ten. She counted nine so I re-counted with her. Ten. Anyway I told her to play by the company rules because I have been learning (from your diary) about the rude things that customers will do. Keep up the super work! And here is hoping that you heal quickly.XOFifi
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2009-04-22 03:03:26
I sure hope you are feeling better tomorrow. Would have been nice if you coulda stayed home today, but it sounds like the Tylenol kept you going pretty well. Hopefully the vicoden helps you sleep better tonight. For some reason that stuff doesn't do a thing for me. My dentist gave it to me after some extractions once and it didn't help at all. Glad it works for you, tho! Sleep well and get healed up, my friend. {{Gentle hugs}}
-------------------------------
sduckie - 2009-04-22 03:43:34
Sorry to hear about your accident... hope you are feeling better!!
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2009-04-22 04:13:59
Eesh girl! Hope you feel better soon!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2009-04-22 04:51:39
You might be more comfortable if you wrap your ribs with an ace bandage. It acts kind of like the pillow does when you cough, the pressure helps.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-04-22 12:10:04
To cover everybody's butt, you need to see the doctor.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-04-22 19:49:37
I know you will do what you think is best but I do wish you would see a doctor to confirm there are not cracked ribs.....sure hope you get some good sleep so you heal. Sounds like it will be interesting at the Depot of Home for the next few weeks. Good luck with getting a full time job offer.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-04-22 21:07:31
Since the company has to pay for the doctor visit, I would go see one. I held off seeing one when I injured my shoulder at Orange Julius until the pain became unbearable two weeks later, and it almost messed up my claim. Better safe than sorry!
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-04-22 22:15:39
Yes, it is a big no-no not to document on paper an incident like that on the day it happens and yes you would probably have had to go to a drug testing place--we do that sort of specimen collection where I work and even our employees have to go through testing if something happens to them--what a weird world we live in--I'm glad to hear you are getting better and that work is so interesting!
-------------------------------
Paula - 2009-04-23 02:59:20
I echo the advice of Poolie, Rosie and psis but I'm like you....I'd rather put up with the pain than go see a doctor when most of the time it's something you just need to get over...just in case though, perhaps you should go on the company dime.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group