ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-10 ... 4:54 p.m.

previous - next

Hanging around

I slept pretty well last night. I had opened the bedroom window to get some cool air in, and the traffic woke me up about 5:30. It was nice to be able to close the window and go back to sleep.

When I woke up for good, I brushed my teeth, and tried to make coffee. First, the coffee I have is in cans. No can opener, except the one on my KitchenAid mixer. So I had to drag the mixer out and open the box, haul it out of there, and get it set up on the counter. OK.

Next, I pulled out my new coffee maker, and when I was getting it out of the box, the carafe slipped out, and broke. Bummer. Thank god I have my coffee press, or I would have been making an emergency trip to Rebecca's. But of course, I have no shoes on, no broom, and broken glass all over the floor.

I figured that out. Mr Fix-It left his little hand broom, so I used that, after I put some shoes on.

So I sat with my coffee and read diaries, filled out a couple Costco applications, then thought I would go looking for those few things I need for the house... like a broom.. a new coffee carafe... but after putting gas in the car, I decided to just go and meet Poolie for lunch.

That was fun. One of her co-workers came along with us, and we talked about our road trip. We had quite a few laughs talking about Roswell and the trip to the dig site.

I tried again to volunteer at the art museum, but the parking was so bad, and the traffic so congested in that part of the park, that I gave up. I think tomorrow I will go volunteer at a museum with better parking... obviously I'm not meant to be at the art museum.

I drove around for a while, got lost, and found my way back home. That's the best way to learn the city. I decided to forgo shopping for today, and just come back home and get some of my clothes on hangers and in drawers. I need to take a day to relax, although there are several more places I want to do online applications for. One of these days someone will see one of them!

I'm just hanging around, waiting for Mr Fix-It to come. Apparently he stays up rather late, then doesn't get up and in gear until afternoon. I would guess he would be here relatively soon, and then I will haul my laptop off to Rebecca's so I'm not here to distract him. He tends to stand and talk if I'm here, and not work. He and my landlord both seem to love to talk, and it's hard to gracefully bow out.

Back to hanging up clothes.....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

Poolie - 2008-06-10 22:43:44
It is FREE TUESDAY in the park, kiddo! I believe the Art Museum is on for that today. That's why parking was so bad.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-10 23:12:50
Oh blah. Not a good start to the morning, but it seems like the rest of the day went off without a hitch!! You reminded me I need to clean out my closet. Bleeccch. ;o)
-------------------------------
wordwhore - 2008-06-11 00:07:24
nice to read about your day and find the most stressful parts to be some traffic and a little broken glass - big improvement, eh? Yay for you!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-06-11 01:08:12
drive around some more! its the best way to get to know the city!! just think of yourself as a californian in training!!! wheeeeeee!!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-11 03:08:57
I'm with wordwhore. How cool is it when your most stressful moments are a broken carafe and the lack of parking, after what you've endured for so many years???
-------------------------------
Terri - 2008-06-11 08:54:49
How nice to be able to close the window and get back to sleep. Indeed. Sounds like that's a great new beginning and could almost be your tagline! I'm so glad the worst thing you started out your day with was a broken carafe. It used to be a lot worse, hunh? *HUGS* Although for some that would be a 9-1-1 emergency! Thank goodness for french press! You're inspiring!
-------------------------------
fightn4life - 2008-06-11 09:36:22
That is how I learned my way around here, lost-lost-lost. Thank goodness the price of gas wasn't a weeks wages when I got here. I found some pretty cool places "getting lost." Sometimes I am so focused on heading to work and back I don't get out of the rut and stop to see all the wonderful places around. Have fun finding yourself and getting to know your new world. Sandyz
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-11 10:41:06
It sounds to me like your day started out rather "Poolie-ish". Mayhaps (neener) you got into your own place just in the nick of time!! lolololol
-------------------------------
Marna - 2008-06-11 15:20:49
I gotta say - if you are on the ground floor and living in San Diego you do not leave your window open for cool air. You either buy a fan or have an air conditioner. You are no longer in the midwest anymore where things are safe and crime is low. Becareful!
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-06-11 17:49:46
You are making progress...and slowly but surely you are getting adjusted to the new place. Hopefully the job will show up before long. I have to agree with Marna...be careful about leaving your window open.....there are mean people out there.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group