ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-08-16 ... 6:38 p.m.

previous - next

My body was at work, where was my head?

I was awakened this morning about 5:30 by a screech of tires and a couple of loud thuds, so I knew that someone had been in an accident on the freeway behind my house. Yes, I sleep with the windows open, and I can hear everything. The traffic doesn't normally wake me up that early. All I could see were lights facing the wrong way, so I went back to bed.

Before I could get back to sleep, Dude texted me about his books for this coming semester. When are they coming? Sheesh! I only ordered them this week... I guess he didn't realize how early it was here. So then there was no going back to sleep. I was too awake.

I had plenty of time, so I played some Pogo, did my dishes, took a shower and had breakfast. I decided to leave early for work, because I wanted to look at some carpeting and have a couple of keys made. I was sure glad I did, since the entrance ramp to the freeway was closed. I had to go further on, and take a different ramp onto a different freeway, and then get to work that way.

See how my day started? It just continued on from there. My first customer came with some wire... all rolled up, in a loop, he didn't know how many feet it was, or what the number was I was supposed to use to ring it up. Customers are supposed to have employees cut wire for them, and then they send the information with the customer... well, there's about 100 different kinds of wire in the online book I can look in, so he said he would go back and find the six-digit SKU.

I took a couple different customers during that time, one of whom gave me a $100 bill and wiped out all my $5s. My first customer came back with an SKU that was for about two cents a foot, which I knew wasn't right. Sheesh! I finally got one of the head cashiers involved, and she went and looked for it, while I worked on a couple more customers.

One of them was a man who was making a payment on his credit card. I guess I never really looked at the check like I was supposed to, because it was from Nevada, and I didn't get a phone number, or driver's license number or anything. I'm reasonably certain I will be hearing about this check. I can only plead insanity. THAT they might believe.

Finally, things started going a bit smoother. The head cashier, May, told me to turn off my light and close my lane. It was time for the monthly accuracy check. I missed one thing.. a $9 item she had attached to a hose. I found one of them, but missed the second one, so I had to do it over until I found the item I'd missed. Sheesh. At least I got it on the second try.

My second-next customer had a special services invoice, and a discount coupon, but the coupon didn't work on that, so I had to have Jason (a head cashier) fix it for me, since that is out of the range of my responsibilities. THANK GOODNESS!!! Things kind of settled down after that, but with the two voids from the accuracy check, and the one from that lady, my paperwork was really messed up this morning. And the stupid check from Nevada. DUH!!

Oh well, what happens, happens. They won't fire me over it, so I'm just not letting it get to me. One of the other cashiers, Gene, was in a wicked (in a good way) mood and kept giving me a hard time, telling me I had to stay late, and just generally giving me shit. Wait until I'm in a better mood and I can give it back to him. He might be sorry he opened that can of worms.... heh.

And FINALLY it was time to leave. I was really glad! I'm glad too, that I have no plans for tonight, because I'm beat... and I work at 8 tomorrow, so that means getting up fairly early.

And the week after next, I have a 5:30-2 shift!! That's 5:30 AM! I really am not looking forward to it, but I would guess they just want me to work all the available shifts so I can see what it's like and what to do. At least I am in the garden earlier that week.. and hopefully a couple days next week, too. Well... it's a job. I'm not complaining... much. LOL!!

Time to just relax now.. It's nice and cool, and I can put my feet up and just go zen.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

Rebekah - 2008-08-17 02:29:00
you zen; you've earned it!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-08-17 02:54:31
I hate revolving shifts. They wreak havoc with your system because you never really get enough rest. If it's any consolation, remind yourself that in comparison to WI, you're not there until 7am - which is still later than you started at the grocery store!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-08-17 03:45:36
Yuck, days like that are never fun. But I am sure it'll work out okay. Hopefully next week will go far better!!!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-08-17 03:56:31
Zen Zen Zen....zthere, I've said it a-zen.
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-08-17 04:44:05
I swear the little gnomes see that we had no sleep and then throw days like this at us. They never do it when we're properly rested!
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-08-17 21:49:30
Making a few mistakes must still make you feel like this is your new reality and it's still good! Hope the rest of the week is great for you.
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-08-18 05:15:07
I was at the Depot of Home today, and I was thinking about you as I was checking out. I was at Contractor Services. I had a cute kid with red hair...he looked like an large elf. I noticed the couple ahead of me who had a large cart of stuff, were trying to engage him in conversation as he was scanning the material they had in their cart....I think they were trying to make him miss stuff...but I kept an eye on it...and he got it all. He was just a young kid.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group