ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-09-03 ... 6:12 p.m.

previous - next

Idiot lady and Homer

Sooo... since so many people want to hear the story of the idiot lady, here goes. This lady comes into the Depot of Home a lot. I've seen her there before, taken her checks and checked her ID. She is (was) blonde, and she's quite thin and wears these HUGE glasses. They are SO big that not only do the lenses cover her eyebrows and halfway down her cheeks, but the lenses also go way past the sides of her face. The glasses are way too big for her.

So yesterday, when I was out in garden, she and her husband and THREE dogs came in. She could not in any way control those dogs, and her husband just walked around alone, and left her to hold the three leashes. It was actually pretty humorous, because one dog would go one way, and one would go another, and the lady kept getting tangled in the three leashes. I thought she would fall over at one point.

Anyway, we have these retaining wall blocks on sale. She came up to the register and wanted to buy 225 of them, and have me set them aside for her so she could come and pick them up, 25 at a time. I told her she had to go inside to special services, because we can't just "hold" them for her inside garden. Then they couldn't decide just exactly which ones they wanted, and since I was busy, and one of the guys who works in garden was there, I just passed her off to him.

He gave her 25 blocks, had her pay for them, and told her by the time she got back, he would have the next pallet of them down and opened, and she could just come in and buy 25 more. Well, an hour or so goes by, the guy doesn't get them ready, and she comes back in to get more blocks. The dogs were snarling and barking at other dogs out in the parking lot, pulling the lady, and her glasses went flying!

She was complaining to me that 1/ the guy didn't have the blocks down like he said he would, 2/ she could only get 25 in her truck at once, and 3/ she couldn't get her husband to help her, and he kept disappearing in the store while she was standing there with the dogs. I almost suggested she put HIM on a leash, too, but I didn't. Not anything I could take care of for her!

Then another customer comes by, and bitches that she has 3 dogs in the store. I'm not going to agree with him, so I only said, "Lots of people bring dogs in" to try not to commit myself to anything. He told me that the dogs were "lifting their legs" on the plants, so I told him I would tell the garden department's manager, but that was about all I could do.

The lady was just a pain in the butt. I'm sure people didn't come into the garden area from the parking lot because she was standing in the entryway with these dogs, so I'm wondering if she came back tonight for more bricks. She picked up her last 25 last night about 7, so I'm sure she didn't come back for more after that. Her husband was NOT happy about it either, because he had to do all the lifting and moving of the bricks. I sure was glad to see them leave!!

I did tell the department head about it today, he said if he saw a dog doing that he would just hose them down! Hee!

Today I had to work at 7. Ugh. I really am not used to getting up before about 7:30, so this was really hard, beside the fact that I didn't get to bed until 11:30 last night.

I like to keep busy when I'm tired, because otherwise the day drags even more than usual. We have a large rack full of batteries, and when I work the register behind that rack, I try to keep the batteries faced and filled. I was doing that when one of the assistant managers came by, and asked to talk to me. My first response was: "Oh lord, what did I do NOW??" Nothing, he told me... nothing bad, anyway. He was there to give me a Homer Award, for doing my job the way I'm supposed to... not using the quantity key more than I have to, and keeping in line with the cashier policies. Woot! After you get enough awards, you start getting cash. Now they are talking!

Other people got awards too, it just happened to be the day they were passing them out. But that was pretty cool! Made my day much better!! Woot!

Within the first hour, I got two $100 bills, which I had to send to the back office for quick change, because the people only had bought $20 worth of stuff, and even though I had a couple of twenties in my drawer, I sent those back for more $5 bills and a roll of quarters.... and then, a man came to pay for a contract, and gave me 37 $100 bills. $3700!!!!! I almost took the money and ran, hee hee, but I wouldn't dare. I immediately sent it to the back office and told them it all came at once, because they don't want us waiting to send back so much money all at once. I just wanted to get it the heck out of my drawer!

The afternoon just kind of dragged. Jason showed me a bit about how to run the self-check-out area, which has FOUR registers.. so I was in charge of four of them at once! It's one of those things you have to do to learn, and it was kind of confusing, and really chaotic. Personally, I wouldn't care if I never worked there again, but I'm sure I will end up doing just that. I'm assuming that once I learn it a bit better, it won't be so hard to run that area. Sheesh!

Even though the day dragged, it was pretty busy. I sent cash to the back four times, but it just seemed like today was cash day, and not as many people using cards as usual. Whatever.. I'm off for the next two days and I'm just going to relax. I totally forgot it was Pogo day today!

I haven't done much since I've been home but read, play Pogo and eat.. I have to get the garbage out to the street early tomorrow, so I can get it ready tonight. I have a few other little projects to work on tonight and tomorrow, like cleaning the kitchen floor.. Mr Fix it left tile glue in various spots on the floor, and I thought I would be able to just mop it up. But no, I had to buy some "Goof Off" to rub it off the spots. I'm really not looking forward to that, especially since he still hasn't finished the floor and when he does, there will be more goo on the floor.

So.. off to work on some projects. Or maybe Pogo. I haven't decided which yet!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

15 comments so far

Poolie - 2008-09-04 02:02:04
Congratulations, Homer!
-------------------------------
princesscee - 2008-09-04 02:10:01
Dogs are allowed in the store??? This must be a California thing... Awesome job on the award! You done good!
-------------------------------
fifi - 2008-09-04 02:12:15
Wow, you are really rockin' out! Did I ever say how proud I was of you?! xoFifi
-------------------------------
ladybug-red - 2008-09-04 02:17:08
Way to go!
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-09-04 02:34:19
Around here, at least, dogs are not supposed to be in stores unless they are service dogs (or if it's a pet store, I guess). And we've all heard horror stories of stores that turned away service dogs -- which is illegal. So I wondered if that woman needed a seeing-eye dog (she did lose her glasses at one point?). And then I just got carried away; I figured she needed two more dogs for being brain-damaged...
-------------------------------
Miss Hiss - 2008-09-04 02:45:34
I'm amazed dogs are allowed in the store, too. Here it's service dogs only, too. I LOVE dogs, but I really would prefer to buy garden supplies that hadn't been peed on. Love, R xxx
-------------------------------
Mary - 2008-09-04 03:19:38
You need to do a customer of the day! I sometimes have a taxpayer of the day, and it's often very amusing. When you haven't had to live through it.
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-09-04 04:50:08
Can't believe dogs are allowed in the store. Never seen that except at Pet stores! Way to go on the Homer. Is the next award a Bart award??
-------------------------------
OrneryPest - 2008-09-04 10:09:55
I promise, from this day henceforth I'll try to be lots nicer to the cash register people at Home Depot, Lowes, Wal Mart, or wherever! Now that I know what ya'all hafta put up with!
-------------------------------
Shear - 2008-09-04 11:14:59
Woohoo! I'm glad they gave you the award. You deserve it for all the hard work you've been doing!
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2008-09-04 14:18:07
Okay, I have sat here for ten minutes wondering about the line, "not using the quantity key more than I have to" What does that mean? If someone buys 2 of something, I would think it would be 2 @ $.59 or whatever. How else would you do it?
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-09-04 17:25:41
Congrats on the award!! I knew it wouldn't be long till you were recognized for how awesome you are!! I think the dogs in stores thing is a West Coast phenomenon. People would bring their dogs into our local foo-foo grocery store, which totally grossed me out. I don't mind service dogs at all, but I'm sure these pets should be left behind at home. I haven't seen many dogs here in stores since moving to Rhode Island. You see them in PetSmart, of course, but that's about it.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-09-04 18:32:15
Congrats on the Homer award! Cool beans! I wonder if WM gives out 'Wally' awards, or 'Sammy' awards.....hmmmm......I have found that the 'quantity key' is a no-no at WM as well. First I was told we couldn't use it for under 6 items, then I was told that everything must be scanned. A lady had a fit yesterday when I had to scan her case of Top Ramon noodles (all 24 of them)as well as her 12 cans of cat food. Her receipt was a mile long! I tried to explain that it was an 'inventory thing' and she said she was "gonna write a letter!" I just smiled and said that would be a great idea! LMAO
-------------------------------
G - 2008-09-04 20:06:28
Ya, I was gonna say the same thing--they allow dogs in HD? It MUST be a Cali thing... in NJ only "service" animals are allowed in stores and such.(I often wonder if someone could justify bringing in their teeny dogs if they trained them to be guide dogs... like a chihuahua who yips when there's a curb or a wall in the way. hehe... Have you met my DEMENTED side? :)
-------------------------------
DSis - 2008-09-05 13:36:20
Congrats on the Homer award -- I'm not surprised you are one of their valued employees. A local motorcycle shop lets dogs in, and the other day they found a pile of poo in a corner. Yikes! I've tried the self-check at Wally-World mostly because they have only a few real-people cash registers. It must be me, but the self-checks are a pain in the arse. Something always goes wrong and I end up asking for help. Ugh!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group