ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-07-20 ... 11:06 p.m.

previous - next

A hot and busy day in returns

Today was my last night of closing for a while, and I am glad. Jeebus, it was busy! The people just never stopped coming in! And in the down time, I would agree to take payments on the credit cards just for "customer service" you know. I took in $12,000 in card payments today! However, I gave out about $2,200 in cash refunds, too, but I still came out ahead!

The one incident that stands out in my mind today was the young guy (about 25) who INSISTED that he should get cash for his return, even though he had no receipt, didn't want to give up his driver's license number, and when told that his demands weren't going to be met, loudly demanded a manager. Because, you know, he spends thousands of dollars in the Depot of Home every year. Like we've never heard that before.

He wasn't my customer, so I ended up going to break before the manager got there. He took his good natured time getting there, too, which made the customer even angrier. And when the manager got there, and looked at the guy's account, he realized that the guy had bounced a check at the Depot, and there was NO WAY the computer system would let anyone give him his money. HAHAHAHAAH!! Some people just get what they deserve.

It was pretty warm here today, and just a bit humid. Nothing like Wisconsin is, but a little sticky, and hot if you were inside, out of the breeze. Plus working so fast and constant, the sweat was just running down my face. *Ahem* Part of that is the natural insulation I have....

Then I cooled off, and was fine, until I pushed a huge cartload of concrete block, and 270 pounds of bagged cement across the store over to the building aisle, and the sweat started dripping again. I had a water bottle, but my partner in returns bought us both a big bottle of Gatorade type stuff. I drank the entire thing in about a half hour. It sure tasted good, although anything cold and wet would have been good at that point.

It stayed busy right up until closing. One of the reasons I gave so much money out was because people have been buying air conditioners, and then bringing them back because they are either too small or too big. People! They do say on the box how big a room it will cool. Don't expect it to cool off your entire house in a half hour!

It took me three trips to get all the junk back to the back room at the end of the night. The sweeping I usually have time for by about 8 wasn't done until after 9. I was quite glad to leave there tonight.

Then, since I was so hot and thirsty, I thought I would get a shake from McD's. Their shake machine wasn't working. I went on to Burger King, and theirs wasn't working either. Cripes. I guess I was not meant to have a shake, so I stopped at Taco Bell and got a Frutista Freeze, which was cold, wet, and really sweet.

Time to get to bed, I have to be at work at 5:30 again tomorrow. I'm glad I don't have this shift very often, either!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

3 comments so far

Moosehunter - 2009-07-21 09:01:19
People who make unreasonable demands deserve unreasonable treatment. If it'd been me I might have accidentally dropped a bag of cement on his foot on the way to break...
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-07-21 13:55:37
I'm surprised you folks take back A/Cs. We bought ours from the NEX last year, and they said straight up there was no return policy on the A/Cs unless it was defective. I guess they want to prevent people from buying them and returning them when no longer needed. Here in housing, we're only supposed to have something like 8,000 BTUs per A/C, but we're limited to two for the entire unit. An 8,000 BTU A/C would never cool the main part of the house, not in a million years. So we have a 12,000 BTU A/C for the living room/dining room/kitchen, and one for our master bedroom. Shhh don't tell our housing company! ;o)
-------------------------------
Terri t - 2009-07-21 22:39:01
I am surprised that the Depot of Home has not tightened up the return policy....I expect it won't be much longer before they have to change being so lenient about taking back some items. Hope you got a lighter work load today...
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group