ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-10-26 ... 7:36 p.m.

previous - next

The hunt is over, and I'm back home

Yes, I'm back home safe and sound. Poolagirl drove the beginning and end of our nine-hour drive back, and trusted me to drive Sister Mary Zoom-Zoom while she napped. Heh. And she was amazed at how fast we made it back. Good thing she didn't watch the speedometer while I was driving. (Just kidding, Poolie!)

Now that everything is in the house and sort of put where it belongs, I can recap a bit of yesterday. After spending the afternoon discussing events in our lives that caused us to start diary-ing, Rosie disappeared and came out beautiful!

Photobucket

She was getting ready for her singing gig, which was awesome! I know I mentioned at last year's hunt what a great voice she has, and she sure wowed the crowd last night.

Photobucket

The shoes had the best spot at the table, sitting next to this gorgeous guy...

Photobucket

Then it was back to Rosie's so she could get her hunting clothes on, and we all got ready for the hunt... sashes, puffies and flashlights.

Photobucket

my5cents's hubby started us off with the first immolation of the night..

Photobucket

Photobucket

And we were off. Yankee Chick won the "I can fling my puffie the farthest" game. Her marshmallow went all the way to the corner from Rosie's gate.

Then we started off for "downtown" Tombstone, our puffies making streaks in the night..

Photobucket

Photobucket

While walking around downtown, we found some men interested in eating our puffies, which sent us into hysterics!

Photobucket

Photobucket

There are a lot of people who visit Tombstone who dress in somewhat authentic 1880s clothes...

It's tradition to have one of the Marshals light our puffies!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Poolie got hungry and had to eat hers. Yummie!!

Photobucket

and then we walk back out of town brandishing (neener) our giant flaming puffies to hunt the elusive javelina. And fortunately for us, we didn't FIND any of the javelina, since they are angry and smelly little piggies. Instead, we stood looking up at the stars, pointing out constellations and planets. You might all be surprised to know that we had very little alcohol to drink. Yes, we can act like complete idiots and be totally sober!

My5cents and her hubby left after we got back to casa-Rosie. There were hugs all around, and some tears. In the short time we had with my5cents, we all grew to love her quick wit and friendly, generous spirit. I know I will miss seeing her smile until the next get-together. Her hubby was just as sweet, following us on our hunt with his truck, just in case..... see you later, T!

By the time I uploaded all my photos, it was after 1AM. Poolie and Yankee Chick had long since been in bed, and I followed. Morning came all too early, as did our time to leave.

It was sad. None of us wanted to leave, but life and work must intrude. Poolie and I got our bags in the car, the shoes buckled safely into the back seat,

Photobucket

and off we went. As usual, there is always adventure when traveling with Poolie. We saw some interesting things!

The God Squad!

Photobucket

We stopped at a park in Gila Bend, AZ for a small picnic under this little shelter.

Photobucket

There were huge garbage cans there that were almost as big as Poolie's car!

Photobucket

We also stopped for gas at a place that had a zillion lawn ornaments and pots for sale. Sorry, no room in the car!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Then we stopped at Dateland for a date shake. Ewwwwww!! Yummie! Poolie had a date shake, I had a cactus shake. They were both a bit weird tasting.

These are the trees at Dateland

Photobucket

After that, it was pretty uneventful, except for all the border patrol stops once we got into California. The scenery once you get back to California is absolutely marvelous. Mountains, rocks, even an occasional deep blue lake just make me awestruck. I wish everyone could see the beauty I saw today on the drive back.

I also wish that everyone could have experienced the laughter, love and mutual respect that I did during this past week. Our small group of javelina hunters is actually quite large in some ways. It's something that needs to be experienced, and I am fortunate enough to have been there to feel it.

A big thank you goes out to my fellow hunters, for one of the best experiences of my life.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

8 comments so far

Carol - 2008-10-27 04:02:31
What a great trip. I would have had to buy some yard thingies but no date shakes for me! Glad you all had a good time.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-10-27 04:04:01
Welcome home. You're very lucky indeed to have attended such a prestigious event. I'm jealous - but also glad for you. I think back to a year ago and how you were feeling then, as compared to your entries now. HUGE difference...
-------------------------------
kim - 2008-10-27 08:03:24
What fun! Thanks for posting photos and sharing all about your trip. If I can't be there, at least I can enjoy it through your tales!
-------------------------------
Rebekah - 2008-10-27 14:40:38
Thanks for sharing your trip with us (and with the shoes - shoe's got their tongues, get it? groan)

It cracks me up that you take pictures of all the things I'd photograph, too :) I'm SO considering a road trip from San Diego to Santa Cruz. I'd want to do a photographic journey with you, perhaps through downtown.

xoxo
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-10-27 17:58:14
Thank YOU for your generous sense of spirit and willingness to play. You are awesome, lady!
-------------------------------
BrettJ - 2008-10-27 22:50:59
Hiya! Sounds like a nice trip, I've been treating myself to a few excursions lately, it lifts the spirits and makes life bearable! Good for you!
-------------------------------
Stephanie - 2008-10-27 22:56:42
Sounds like a blast! I'm so glad everyone had such a good time!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-10-28 01:12:22
What a wonderful get-together!! The lit puffies cracks me up. So glad you had an awesome time!!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group