ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-12 ... 7:39 p.m.

previous - next

Crabby customer day?

It was such a beautiful day today when I left for work that I was sorry I had to work. It was warm and sunny, and already 69 at 9AM. I was not looking forward to spending the whole day inside.

So I was really happy to be sent out to work in the outside garden! Woot!! I could enjoy the sunshine and the breeze and the 70s degree day. And most of the customers were loving the weather, too.

But I think it was crabby customer day today. It was busy inside the store, since there were very few cashiers there, and someone was a no-call no-show, but I haven't figured out who.. yet. Anyway, there were several customers who were in a hurry and came out to garden to avoid the lines inside, and found.. LINES in garden. So of course they had to be pissy to us.

The one particular man who stands out from today was the guy who had a $17 bag of Versabond, a mortar for tile, and a slip of paper that said "markdown $5". Now.. was it being marked down by $5, or was it being marked down TO $5?

The man said that the guy in flooring told him it was only $5, but that's a pretty big markdown for a bag with a rip in it, since the bag was still almost full. I called flooring to find out, and the guy started bitching. He asked if I thought he had a bunch of markdown forms and was forging them. I told him no, but that the instructions on the paper weren't clear, and I needed to know what was the final price. Sheesh! I'm just trying to do my job here, and you are getting something cheap, so SHUT UP.

I know if one of the ASMs had heard him they would have stepped in, but where is your boss when you need him? Anyway.. I finally got a call back, and it was marked down TO $5, so I charged him that and sent him on his way. THANK GOD.

I made a duplicate of the receipt and stapled it to the markdown form to cover my own butt, and then took it to the head cashiers. I suggested that maybe they could talk to the flooring people and ask them to be a bit more specific when they were sending papers through like that, and told them about the angry man who came through my line. I know they will say something, as that's really not an "approved" way of marking something down.

But since I was outside the rest of the day, I just forgot about him and enjoyed the beautiful weather. Plus days like this are good for sales, as garden sold a whole ton of plants!

So at 4:15 they brought me inside, since there were no cashiers. Ahem. I think they are cutting things a bit too close for comfort, and that's not good for customer service. I worked until 6, and on the way out I thought I might just check my schedule.

I'm so glad I did. I wasn't scheduled at all for tomorrow on the schedule the head cashiers have, but I was scheduled for 6 hours on the one that's posted in the break room. So I asked one of the HCs who happened to be eating lunch, and she said to just work 1-9:30 tomorrow, and she would take care of getting it approved. Woot! And May gave me one of her days for the following week. Cool.

So I got home a bit later than I should have, but for extra hours, it's worth it. Now... time to relax.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

psis - 2009-01-13 04:15:28
Congrats on your great eval!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2009-01-13 04:32:12
Good deal on being outside. It figgers. I just get a warm coat and it's starting to warm up already LOL.
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2009-01-13 13:51:01
I wish it were warm enough to even STEP outside! As it is, I open my door and grab my mail from my neighbor with a quick "thank you" and close the door. I am starting to act like one of those recluses you see in the movies that only shows one eyeball looking out.
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-01-13 14:20:04
So often it's the folks getting a great deal who the least gracious about it. Happened all the time in the car biz. ~LA
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-01-13 14:49:11
Congrats on the extra hours!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-13 21:09:55
That was a good point about the markdown slip....it doesn't help the cashier to have questions...and if you can't get the answer in a short amount of time; the customer gets mad anyway. Congrats on getting extra hours...sound like there is a problem with the scheduling being posted as well. Cutting back so much is probably putting everyone on edge with extra duties and mistakes being made. The day sounded beautiful...it's about 20 degrees here...we had more snow, wind has picked up and there are predictions for a blizzard tomorrow. We shall see.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group