ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-08-07 ... 11:12 p.m.

previous - next

Interesting people in returns

Today I had the pleasure of lunching with Poolagirl! We went to a little Mexican restaurant downtownish, and sat outside to eat. It was certainly lovely, and the high point of the day! Thanks, Poolie! Oh, and BTW, don't forget dessert!

After that, I went to work. We had been a little delayed by a meeting Poolie had before lunch, so I just went straight to work.

The people at work are loving the cookies I'm taking in. It's just one of the things about seeing Mr D... I am enjoying baking again, because it's not just for me. He loves my cookies! And I like cooking and baking for him. It's nice to have an appreciative audience.

I worked in returns today, and had two problem customers shortly after I got there. Three, actually, but one I kind of passed off to my partner, Molly.

The first guy brought in a faucet that was two years old, and leaking. He said it was an American Standard, our store brand. Well, American Standard is NOT our store brand, it's a national brand, sold at stores other than the Depot. He said they have a "lifetime guarantee" but I explained to him that American Standard guarantees them for life, the Depot only guarantees them for 90 days.

But he insisted, so I sent him to the faucet aisle to find one EXACTLY like that, if for no other reason than to see how much the faucet was worth. Meanwhile, May happened to be in returns stealing cookies, so I explained to her what I told the customer. She agreed with me, but called one of the plumbing guys over to talk to the customer.

In the meantime, a man and his teener son came in with a garbage disposal in a box, with a receipt from 8-1-09. He told me that it didn't rotate correctly. (Not sure how it can rotate INcorrectly, but whatever..) So I look inside the disposal, and it is FILLED with black junk on the bottom, leaves, and it honestly even had fruit flies coming out of it when I opened it up. Truly disgusting, and TOTALLY not 6 days old.

I told him it had been used, and that it didn't appear to be new, and he instantly got VERY angry, grabbed the disposal and LOUDLY informed me that he would NEVER come back to the Depot, and that he would shop at LOWE'S from now on. I can't say I was sorry about that.

Since my plumbing guy was still standing behind me, he had the presence of mind to say, as the guy was storming out the door, "Have a good day, sir" which just about made me fall on the floor laughing.

I looked at him, and we both just cracked up. It wasn't like I said anything to the guy to make him react the way he did, and (thankfully) I had a witness to that. What we both think happened was that he bought a new disposal on the 1st, put the old, non-working one in the box, and brought it in to try to pass it off as the new one. When I called his bluff on it, he grabbed it and took off to avoid embarrassment. Although, my plumbing guy said that he was a "stellar example for his child" on how not to behave.

I had to agree.

Then the faucet guy came back, with a "store brand" (Glacier Bay) faucet, that he even admitted wasn't EXACTLY the same. I didn't even say anything, and the plumbing guy told him that the Depot only guarantees it for three months, and he needed to call American Standard for anything else. The guy gave him NO trouble at all, and was quite meek and agreed to what the plumber told him. Like.... I'm female, so I obviously don't know what I'm talking about, or was it just that he didn't think he could push around a male plumber? Creep.

The other guy I had brought in a light fixture, no box, no receipt, no NOTHING. I sent him to electrical to get one like it, so I could figure out what to return. He brought back a different fixture, and I just really thought he was trying to scam us. I honestly thought he found that fixture somewhere and brought it in for money.

While I was trying to find the number, and working with one of the ASMs on it, he was working with Molly, trying to apply for a credit card so he could get $25 off his first purchase with it... and he kept saying, "or ten percent" because he was planning on buying something fairly expensive. I had to laugh when the computer rejected his application. Molly even said to me that she thought he was trying really hard to scam us... I had to agree to that!

The rest of the night was peaceful and fairly routine, other than the cake I found outside in a cart. Actually, it was lots of little cakes, about 4 inches across. It sat out by the front door most of the afternoon, and it was out there when I got there at 2, and I noticed it again about 6... and it made its way inside the store at 10. Not in any way edible by that time, although I was surprised none of the homeless who walked past wanted any. Or maybe I'm not surprised.

The other thing that got my attention was the fireworks. Sea World sets off fireworks on the weekends, and we can see them from the main door of the Depot. So I went and stood outside, making the appropriate oohing and ahhhing noises, and making all the guys laugh. I did have pretty much fun tonight at work, come to think of it!

And I left returns completely empty and clean, just like it should be. I work late again tomorrow, midday all next week, and early the week after that.

And OOOOO!!! I took vacation days for the HUNT!! Now it's really official! Woot! I am hoping lots of people will come... you know, the more, the merrier!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

2 comments so far

terri t - 2009-08-08 19:43:00
Once again, Americans at their finest, trying to scam a big company and causing prices to increase as a result to the rest of us honest people. I wonder what gene makes those people think it is ok to try to get something for nothing by cheating. You are right, though, that many men still don't think women know anything and will not take an answer from us unless it agrees with what they want.
-------------------------------
Char - 2009-08-09 00:02:50
I must say that you always encounter such interesting people or morons, whichever fits. I can just see those wonderfully, delicious chocolate cookies you used to make at Xmas time. Keep pleasing him. The way to a man's heart is through his stomach. I have proof of that.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group