ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-11-01 ... 10:03 p.m.

previous - next

Saturday at work, and a demanding customer

The worst thing about today was forgetting my phone at home. I hate being at work without it, since I do occasionally NEED my phone when I'm there. It's the only clock I have during the day, and when you want to call your best bud to plan something for the afternoon, and have to go HOME to get your phone, then back... well, it sucks!

But I survived. Barely.

I spent the entire day in returns. I was supposed to work the self-checkout area, which can get quite busy and confusing during the busy parts of the day, so I wasn't looking forward to it. Fortunately for me, the person who was supposed to open returns didn't show up for work (and didn't call, either!) so I spent the day over there. It was fine, except for one customer who was a complete jerk.

I rang up the stuff he plopped on the counter, told him his total, and said that I would put most of it back on his credit card, but he said, "You forgot my lumber." Well, for one thing, it was all on a cart behind the desk, so I didn't see it. I apologized, and said I would just do another transaction, but then he informed me that he didn't WANT any of the money on his credit card, because he was going through an identity theft thing, and he wanted CASH.

Well, once I'm at the point of having put some money on his credit card, I can't go back. The computer won't allow it, so I have to have a head cashier come and void out the transaction. Which I did. Then, I rang up everything INCLUDING his lumber, which he loudly told me I forgot again, even though I hadn't had time to get to it, and then I told him he could have store credit for the refund.

I DON'T WANT THAT, I WANT CASH!!! The head cashier was still next to me, so she told him he couldn't have cash, only store credit, because he paid for things with store credit and credit card, so that was all he could get. Then he said, "Then I want to talk to a manager!!" By this time, he was getting pretty obnoxiously rude, and I really wasn't liking his tone of voice. I gladly will push this off on someone higher up than me, so I called the ASM and asked her to come over.

Now my computer is stuck. I can't take care of another customer while he is waiting. The head cashier was busy with other customers, and it took the ASM at least 2 minutes to get there, which seems like 20 when you have someone like this guy in your line.

The ASM gets there, and they just happened to know each other, from outside of the store. Cripes! Then of course, he was sweet as could be, and "Oh, I understand I can't get cash, just put it back on my credit card!" which is why he had such a fit in the beginning. I just rolled my eyes, and let the ASM fix things so he could get the credit back on his card. What a creep!

After work, I went up to Poolagirl's house to relax and chat. After some great Dunkin Donuts coffee, we decided a pizza was in order, so we went out for that. We chatted a bit more, and finally I came home. Geeze, I'm beat. But since I'm off tomorrow, I can stay up for a little while longer. PLUS I have an extra hour due to the time change. Bonus!!

And there will be a surprise tomorrow! Woot!! Stay tuned, same bat time, same bat channel!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

Rattus Regina - 2008-11-02 06:36:36
Eesh..that guy sounds like a complete nightmare! I know what you mean about not having your phone on you...I never feel comfortable without mine. I know it wasn't that long ago when we didn't have cell phones, but they're a completely necessary part of everyday life now.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-11-02 15:01:01
Happy almost birthday! WOOT!
-------------------------------
Mary - 2008-11-02 20:47:03
People like that are such jerks. I am the manager who gets called when people aren't happy. They will be so incredibly rude to the people that try to help them, then nice as can be when I get there. There's just no excuse for being an ass, no matter who you're dealing with. We're all people who deserve to be treated well.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-11-03 00:19:50
Oh I had so many of those jerks come through when I worked at the computer store in the returns department. I would have wanted to bash that guy upside the head with his lumber!! Ha!!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group